We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall, but courtyard rooms can get cold and loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cranky Croc Hostel

Save Saved
You added The Cranky Croc Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 137 Specialty lodging in Bogota
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great overall, but courtyard rooms can get cold and loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here in 2 different private rooms and liked one more than the other. Rooms in the courtyard can get quite cold at night. Although the blankets provided kept us warm while asleep, anything else in the room like packing or changing was at times unpleasant because of the cold.

A lot of good stuff to say about this place though: The staff were very nice and helpful; wi-fi quite reliable; snacks and beverages available for purchase. There are a few newly renovated, really nice bathrooms; food (breakfast & dinner) is good although breakfast is only served starting at 9am. I had to make a few changes to my reservation and each time I received a reply to my e-mail within 3 hours or so.

I saw renovations of a small part of the hostel but never before 8-9 am. The work wasn't particularly loud while I was there, either. There is a resident dog (Mono) and cat (Tinto), both of whom are very friendly and well-behaved. They're very calm and don't go beyond the common areas, so you shouldn't be discouraged if you're not crazy about pets. Importantly, the owners and staff take great care of their animals. Both are former strays who are now fixed and receive good veterinary care; the owners seem to be genuinely kind people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
42
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Cranky Croc has rooms at an agreeable price and hot showers (!!!) that make your stay a pleasant one. Location is ideal in La Candelaria, but be smart at night. Bring an extra sweatshirt or blanket, because it gets chilly at night. Skip the transfer service they offer from the airport, as they may jack up the price on checkout (as they did with us – not cool).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hostel for a week, there were building works the entire time, we were overcharged for the airport pickup (more than double what a taxi charges), bottles of water are more than treble, and the rooms are expensive for what they are (can get a hotel with breakfast for not much more). The receptionists are very friendly though ;-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocoa, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at the Cranky Croc couldn't be better they're friendly, knowledgeable and informative. The rooms are comfortable and clean with lockers big enough to get a full size backpack in! The showers are good and hot, when the new shower block comes online (very soon) they'll be even better!! The food from the kitchen is tasty and the guests kitchen is well appointed. It's also in a great location to explore Bogotá. Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's a nice hostel with kitchen, hot showers and it's right in the middle of everything. It was being renovated when we was there so if you are staying there in the future I'm sure it's gonna be even nicer. For me it was a bit chilly there coming from Central America and we had problems getting our iPhones on the wifi. It's a great place to meet other travelers and it was clean too! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

These guys are super friendly and have a great hostel. the food from the cafe is awesome, and you can also cook in the guests kitchen. The rooms are quiet and beds are comfy. The hostel is well placed and safe. Good hot water too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

About the conditions : the rooms are cold and very small, but there is hot water .
There is no way to sleep, it was a constant noise at any time !
The receptionist speak english wery well, andthis is rare in colombia.

The scam was with The gringo party at Andre carnederes ! We pay 60000 pesos (30 usd) per peson (group of 8) for trip to this party, with entrance and cuba libre on the bus included.
The cuba libre on the bus was a cola buttle with some cheap rom inside for all of us.

After a long trip, we arrived at disco - restaurant, outside the city, the driver left us there and run, we have to pay the entrance who should be included. The prices was high for colombia (20 usd a cocktail), there was no special party, just a usual disco night, and in the end they supracharged us adding a 16% fee on top of the bill.
That was definitly not a place to send hostel tourists !

Room Tip: Probably higher is better, warmer and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cranky Croc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranky Croc Hostel

Address: Calle 15 No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 Specialty lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Cranky Croc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranky Croc Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cranky Croc Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.