We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm atmosphere in this beautiful hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alegria's Hostel to your Saves list
Alegria's Hostel
Calle 9 # 2- 13, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm atmosphere in this beautiful hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nicely situated in the Candelaria, the area of artists, the hostel adapted pretty well to ist surroundings. it has a beautiful kitchen, a comfortable yard with hammocks and colourful walls.. the dorms are quite cheap and they have everything you need. the staff is friendly and the included breakfast is surprisingly good. Croissants, good coffee and fresh juice are the perfect beginning for a day in lovely bogotá.. i would definitely recommend the hostel for ist warm atmosphere, but it is definitely not a party hostel, at night it gets extremely quiet!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    16
    15
    13
See reviews for
4
54
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We arrived in Bogota after a long day of travel from San Gil and were looking forward to our private room. We were warmly welcomed and asked to sit down and offered hot beverages and to put down our bags. About 15-20 minutes later while waiting to get checked in we were informed that our room was not available and there was nowhere for us to stay as they were fully booked. This was frustrating as we were tired and had now wasted time just sitting there ( and paid for a cab all the way there). We were told that Alegria's would pay for a cab to another hostel and would pay the difference if the other hostel cost more for a private room. So off we went in another cab a few blocks away. The hostel we arrived at had horrible service, dirty bathrooms and was overall exactly the opposite of what we had hoped for at Alegrias. We went back to Alegrias the next day to stay 2 nights. The hostel was very crowded at times and there was often a line for bathrooms. The quaintness of the property however didn't make up for its shortcomings and we probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a private room here and it was fantastic for the price paid. I didn't actually arrange the booking so I cannot comment on that experience, but once we arrived we had no issues checking in at all. After dealing with crappy showers the entire trip, I am also giving Alegria 5 stars for an excellent shower! The hot water and good water pressure after a long hike was just what I needed. The room had a little fireplace (although not working) and the beds were very comfortable. Blankets very warm. Also, the two "guard dogs" are very sweet and were a pleasure to have around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed 8-nights! I thought about changing hostels because there are so many around but I really liked Alegria. The place was just a few blocks (10-15 min walk) from downtown. It's small so it did fill up on some nights - reservations are a good idea. It wasn't a party hostel (thank goodness) but it did always have some music playing! The staff is very helpful...Alegria the owner basically planned my itinerary for me! And they can help you book anything you need from cabs to tours out of Bogota.

Note:
-Some of the staff didn't speak english very well BUT there are always hostel-mates around to help translate if needs be. I liked being able to practice my spanish with them!
-The breakfast was good! Nice bread, jams, butter, fresh juice, fruits and amazing coffee!

Room Tip: The 10-bed dorm is on the top (second) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I sent an email to this hostel asking if they had any private rooms available for 3 nights and to confirm the price. They confirmed to have private rooms available for the dates we will be in Bogota and confirmed the price of 60,000 for a private room. We sent a follow up email to book it and went to Tayrona National Park for 2 nights without any internet. Once we got back and checked our email, we have recieved an email stating they booked us in a 10 dorm bedroom. We contacted them again asking for a private room but then they were already booked out. It is a terrible management who is incapable of making bookings. I would not trust them! We ended up booking at another hostel in Candeleria.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here less than a week ago in a private room with my boyfriend. I was a little fearful that we may have had troubles with our booking (as per other reviews) especially because we were checking in at 10pm at night. But alas! When we arrived our booking was there and we were checked into our room just fine. The room was beautiful and spacious and the bed and warm blankets were perfect.

Overall it's a really great hostel, the style and layout of the hostel makes it quite cosy and comfortable inside - which is just what you need after a long day walking the streets of la candeleria. It isn't a huge party hostel but there is definitely a social atmosphere - you can sit in the courtyard and drink whilst listening to your own music. Alegria also took us out one night to play tejhoe (not sure how to spell it) and it was really fun! She even drove us there and back in her car!

The hostel also had good security, and even though you had to ring a bell to get inside each time, it ensured that no unwanted outsiders could enter the place. We even felt comfortable enough to leave our room open during the day.

The staff were also super helpful, and even though they didn't speak spanish they tried to help out whenever possible! Alegria is really nice.

All in all, I Had my favorite stay in Colombia at this hostel, it is highly recommended... but book ahead!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araraquara, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed for a week on the dorm with 9 other beds and I felt really confortable. The blankets are simply great, really hot showers and all the hostel is cleaned up all the time. Great staff as well!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegria's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria's Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 2- 13, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New B&B located in La Candelaria. In the hostel you will find a comfortable house with a fusion between colonial and modern styles. It has two patios and one backyard with tables and hammocks, barbecue, free coffee, salt, sugar, oil... and a full equipped kitchen with all the electronic elements you need and space enough for your stuff. Also, you will have laundry service, free local calls, free access to internet, WiFi, games room and different toppings for fun and entertainment as TV, DVD, movies, library and music instruments. Alegria, the owner of the hostel, is also a backpacker and live in the hostel, reason why this hotel is made in order to cover all the needs you have as a cool traveler and to satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Alegria's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria`s Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.