We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria's Hostel

Save Saved
You added Alegria's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alegria's Hostel
Calle 9 # 2- 13, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Araraquara, SP
1 review
“Felt like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed for a week on the dorm with 9 other beds and I felt really confortable. The blankets are simply great, really hot showers and all the hostel is cleaned up all the time. Great staff as well!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
46
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My first stay at this hostel was very disappointing, because the private room I had booked and which had been confirmed was not available. In fact I arrived one day later than booked due to a flight delay, but I had immediately informed the hostel both by phone and e-mail and asked them kindly to keep up my reservation.

After an exhausting journey of 34 hours the fact that they didn't have the room booked was a very bad news and the alternative to sleep in a dorm was not very appealing to me. Because I was very tired and because the girl at the reception promised me improvement for my next stay three weeks later I accepted the bed in the dorm instead of looking for a new hostel.

The dorm was very small and bad smelling because of humidity and I didn't feel at my ease.
The next day when I checked out I encountered some difficulties, because the receptionist initially didn't want to take into account the prepayment I had done for the private room, but only did so after some discussion.

So, I was supposed to stay in this hostel three weeks later and I decided to give them a second chance, but it didn't come so far. As soon as I arrived at the hostel I was informed by the night clerk that there was no room for me. I was quite irritated about this statement and just shortly after Alegria, the owner, appeared starting insulting, screaming and attacking me verbally. She accused me of not having paid the bill after my first stay and how I had dared to write a bad review about her hostel. Further she told me she didn't want to see my face in her hostel and she literally threw me out of the hostal. A businesslike and constructive dialogue was not possible with her since she didn't let me speak.

Being myself a tourism professional I was really shocked about such a behaviour towards a guest. Instead of analizing what went wrong the first time and see it as a chance of improvement, she acted like wanting revenge. A behaviour that in my opinion has nothing to do with a professional attitude.

It's really sad, because the hostal had been recommended to me by some friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We felt more than a little duped by some of the reviews of Alegria's in the Candelaria district of Bogota (an amazing city!), which said that this hostel was charming and beautiful, with a hands-on owner who could show you around the area. And it is indeed a beautifully decorated pension style building - almost like an Alpine cottage in appearance - but it's TINY. I mean, really small - you have to squeeze through really narrow doors and clamber up an Alice in Wonderland spiral staircase to reach the upstairs bedrooms. The kitchen / lounge area downstairs is similarly cosy, allowing max six people to cook / dine / chill at one time. This would be fine if it only offered three private rooms or so, but it also contains a huge 10 bunk dorm upstairs and another 4 bunk dorm downstairs, plus double bedrooms. There's literally nowhere to move some nights. The beds in the dorm were incredibly uncomfortable: instead of buying half decent mattresses they piled really cheap ones on top of each other, with the result that they kept moving around, all the bedsheets kept falling off and you were on a constant slope - I nearly slid out of the bunks altogether at one point. The bathroom bin didn't get changed for days - never a nice experience in this part of the world - so we had to ask someone to do it. The showers though were hot and powerful. Finally, in terms of the owner being around to signpost us to cool places to go out, it's not like we needed anyone to hold our hands, but we didn't see her the whole time we we there. There was a board in reception listing some good places to go for an affordable night, but when we were there there wasn't much of a sociable atmosphere and certainly no sign of arranged nights out, so if you're looking for that sort of place you might want to check out Musicology or another party hostel in the area. We checked out after a couple of nights' terrible sleep, and found much better value dorms at Bella Vista down the road.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at Alegria and really enjoyed the stay. I particularly appreciated the staff taking the time to give me some itineraries and suggestions over a coffee when we arrived, It was very easy to walk to many local restaurants, being only a few blocks from central Bogotà and the 24 hour manned desk meant that you didn't have to worry about taking keys with you which was great and very friendly staff welcoming you back every time. Bogotà was very cold!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It is a very cute hostel and very welcoming. Staff are really nice and makes you feel welcome and helps u out in everything you ask for.
Rooms are clean and even the shared bathrooms are very well kept.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Amazingly nice owner, made us feel right at home and was incredibly helpful in getting around Bogota and finding the great spots and hang-outs. Our private rooms were clean and the employees were always friendly with juice, coffee, croissants and fresh fruit every morning! I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The private upstairs, overlooking the garden is super nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

After a year and a half of traveling and staying in hostels I feel knowledgable enough to say this is a superior hostel. Right from the beginning the staff will make you feel like your at home and apart of the family. Set in la candelaria the location is excellent and has some of the best views of the city. The rooms are clean and not over crowded. They also provided activities throughout the week that keep you entertained and it's a great way to socialize with the other people. The hostel not only made me feel like part of the family but provided excellent info on bogota and Colombia and went far out of their way to make sure I had one of the best stays and experiences of my life. I feel lucky to have spent the time I did there and would recommend it to anyone and everyone looking to stay on bogota.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegria's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria's Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 2- 13, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New B&B located in La Candelaria. In the hostel you will find a comfortable house with a fusion between colonial and modern styles. It has two patios and one backyard with tables and hammocks, barbecue, free coffee, salt, sugar, oil... and a full equipped kitchen with all the electronic elements you need and space enough for your stuff. Also, you will have laundry service, free local calls, free access to internet, WiFi, games room and different toppings for fun and entertainment as TV, DVD, movies, library and music instruments. Alegria, the owner of the hostel, is also a backpacker and live in the hostel, reason why this hotel is made in order to cover all the needs you have as a cool traveler and to satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Alegria's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria`s Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.