We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Paulina, Dorris and her staff !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Paulina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Paulina to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Paulina
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 63 #17-18 | Calle 63 # 17-18, Bogota 4665684, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 245 Hotels in Bogota
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you Paulina, Dorris and her staff !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This review is long dew but it would be a sin not to thank such wonderful hospitality. LIke many others visiting Bogota, i was skeptical about hotels and since I was not looking for hostel type accommodation or expensive hotels in Parque 93 area, i chose Casa Paulina based on tripadvisor reviews. I stayed there for almost 1.5 months !! And was offered great care and made to feel at home, even though I did not pay all the money upfront and barely spoke Spanish.

Some key merits -
1. Airport pickup - Dorris arragend for airport pick up beforehand via email and even though because of a small misunderstanding I took a taxi on my own to the hotel. She did not penalize me or ask for money for sending the other cab to pick me up,

2. Cleanliness - Every day the hotel maids would politely come and knock the door and even put up with my schedule ( i would be on calls for business etc) and they would come later to work . They did a spotless job and NEVER expected any tips etc., though i ended tip them at the end of my stay.

3. Helper guy - I wish i could recall his name , he comes to work on bicycle and does all house keeping errands. This cheerful guy was so helpful that he went out of his way to help me get a gym membership at a gym next door (he helped me translate). believe me no 5 star hotel has such staff. Again no expectation of reward, sheer goodwill.

4. Dorris and Paulina - They would go great length, even use google translate service to understand what I was asking for -- whether it was salsa class, the number of days i was saying etc..anything.

5. Laundry service - they would be willing to wash my clothes in the hotel laundry at short notice. again very handy

6. Taxi - Every time I stepped out to catch a taxi, the hotel staff would take down the taxi number, as a precaution in case am missing or kidnapped. Who does that these days ? Once i was way too late to come back to the hotel, the next day Dorris got worried and like a guardian she asked me if I was ok and everything is fine.

All in all, wonderful hospitality and personal care, affordable and clean. Given all this I kept extending my stay by a week 5 times !! So what if the rooms are small, the walls a little thin or there is no cafeteria in the hotel.

Thanks
Veer
Boston, USA

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
38
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel subscribes to the theory that if you are a solo traveler, you do not deserve be be accorded the respect of a full human being. Rather, treated like a sack of potatoes, I was put in a ground floor room which was both dark and EXTREMELY noisy. I was nicely situated between reception, a kitchen, the maid's cleaning / washing room, and the room of a staff member with an awful shrieking / whining / crying child. Therefore all day and night every day and night I was subjected to loud and never ending conversations between staff members that I could hear word for word, and was disturbed constantly by the horrid child.
I will never ever understand how hotel owners can provide such an environment for guests and expect them to do anything but suffer through the ordeal.
I would not wish this place on an enemy. Oh, and the "shuttle" they claim to be able to provide to the airport is more expensive than taking a taxi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I spent 12 nights here at the beginning of November. If I hadn't been pleased I would have moved somewhere else. The hotel is clean and secure and everyone is very friendly. Also nicely decorated. There was always plenty of hot water except one morning when the place was almost full and I got up late. Just bad timing, I guess. Internet worked great except for the two Saturday nights I was there when it was very intermittent. Maybe the provider gets overloaded then?

My room had a double bed, large clothes cabinet with drawers and hangers, desk and chair, nightstand, TV, and mini-refrigerator. The rooms are small, but if you're mostly there just to sleep that shouldn't matter. The cable TV includes several English channels. I watched the U.S. election returns on CNN.

As others point out, the neighborhood doesn't immediately appear as nice as you would want. That's mostly because there a few nearby businesses (like a tire place) that naturally tend to run things down. I always felt safe there.

If you're planning on spending all your time in La Candelaria, this location doesn't make sense, but overall the hotel is very central for all the things a visitor might do. Short walk to the national soccer stadium. A quick bus or taxi ride to the Botanical gardens or Zona Rosa. About ten blocks to Zona G restaurants. The TransMilenio is nearby for getting downtown. Or have the front desk call you a taxi - it's about $6 to get to the Museo de Oro area.

Olimpica supermarket across the street, but much better Exitos and Carulla within ten blocks. Several little snack bar places nearby that are good for getting some pastries and hot chocolate for breakfast. There are some nicer restaurants and shopping about four blocks east around Lourdes Park (including a great gelato place). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I specifically asked for a room upstairs and in the back to avoid street noise. I had room 22 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stay from 7-11 November 2012 , Doris is a wondeful lady very helpfull
rooms very clean and good space , I recomend to any one is very central location
in Chapinero area , is locate in the middle of Bogota , very close to the transmilenio
Thank you Doris and staff will come back again.

Room Tip: room in the back are better not noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was doing overnight in Bogota Colombia. the options were a small crowded expensive hotel close to the airport or an expensive hotel in the north of Bogota...

I choose Hotel Casa Paulina, an inexpensive hotel well located, not too far away from the airport. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable... The group of people at the reception's desk makes the difference, friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile make a huge difference.

Room Tip: I selected the first floor... the hotel doesn't have an elevator... But if traveling light... I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Managed by the owner, a basic and safe place good for a short stay in Bogota. Its environs are not necessarily the best places in Bogota but just poor, not crime ridden. If you want to visit the d city and Candeleria , you don't even need a cab, just spend some time and learn to use the metrobuses. Not many food options around, I suggest using the places around Plaza Bolivar. Oner Ayan

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Casa Paulina is cheap and adequate, and that's what makes it good. The manager Doris, is very nice, and the rest of the staff are pleasant. They sincerely try to help you. The location is very convenient, being just 2 or 3 blocks from the transmilenio. Some might describe the neighborhood as sketchy. I can see why they would say that, but it is not a bad part of town. I felt perfectly safe there, though would probably not recommend a single girl to walk there alone at night. If I were to rank all the areas of Bogota, I would definitely put it in the top half in terms of safety.
The hotel itself is nothing to write home about, but it has everything you really need. Each floor has a little kitchen, and each room has a fridge. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, and there are no bad smells. There are no frills. The pillows are bricks. The beds are too short for me (6'3"). The biggest downside is that the walls and doors are paper thin, so you can hear everything that happens outside of your room and in the room next to you. One guy wrote that when someone on your floor gets up, everybody gets up. That's pretty accurate. It's certainly not a place for a honeymooning couple. But for about $45 a room, you wouldn't expect that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#44 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Hotel Casa Sarita
#157 of 245 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Hotel Casona del Patio
#30 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bogota Museo
#104 of 245 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Hotel Santa Cruz Corferias
#42 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Paulina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Paulina

Address: Calle 63 #17-18 | Calle 63 # 17-18, Bogota 4665684, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 245 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Paulina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Paulina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Paulina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.