We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, but out of the way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata

Save Saved
You added Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 56 Numero 37 A-08 | Barrio Nicolas de Federman, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Vermont
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quaint, but out of the way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This cute little hostel is snug in a residential area with apartment buildings and quiet, safe streets. It's a strange juxtaposition, but offers a taste of classic Colombian architecture. This place is more like a B & B. The lobby has stone, wood and some natural lighting above. Rooms are spartan and antiquated in a somewhat charming way. Walls are paper thin. Bathrooms have basics at best (this place does have hot water, but some other 'quaint' hostels we stayed at did not - and this is typical). The owner was very accommodating, despite our late arrival. Also, they moved the timing of home-made breakfast to accommodate our early departure. We stayed there just for the night. Not sure how easy it would have been to see the sights from that location, so you might want to check it out to be sure. Took a great photo of the exterior the morning we left. Airport landing strip must be close by, due to the occasional sound of jets landing, but the taxi ride was about 20 minutes, I think, and affordable. We booked this hotel on-line, and I think we ended up paying more for it than otherwise, but not sure how I would have found a hotel in Bogota without doing it that way.

Room Tip: This place is about charm, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a small and friendly hotel in a quiet and safe neighbourhood.10 min walk to the buss and 20 min walk to a big shopping mall. The staff is very helpful and in particular Paulina is doing the outmost to help you. Room and breakfast is fine. If you want to be near bars and restaurants this is not your hotel though. Since it does not have a sign you need a correct and full address to find it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2011. The location of the hotel is good, in a quiet neighborhood, not too close to downtown but close enough to the main means of transportation (but it was difficult to find, since it seems the address has been changed recently in the area and taxi drivers are lost). The hotel is a big house adequated to the purpose, clean and well decorated. The rooms are a bit narrow but they have a big comfortable bed, table, closet and good tv channels selection; rooms are also well isolated from the outer noise. The bathroom is also a bit small but good for a short stay, although the towels offered smelled bad (I asked for a change but the new ones also smelled bad). The breakfast is offered in a small dining room, food is tasty and from a good quality but there is not many choices to choose (eggs, arepa -a kind of corn pastry-, bread and drinks). The staff is very helpful, I was gladly surprised of their frienliness and helpfulness with everything I needed. It is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: A room not facing the reception of the hotel, if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nice,clean and good location. The staff are very helpful. Safe place and good price. It made my first time in Colombia very worthwhile. Breakfast is basic but flexible with time. Nice decoration in a Spanish style house..

Room Tip: there is a big room with same price. always ask for that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urubamba, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I chose this place to stay at for an overnight layover and I wish I could have stayed longer. I was concerned about some things beforehand, so I emailed them and got a prompt, helpful reply. On their website they tell you how to get a reputable taxi so that you can arrive safely and this, along with the low cost and the lovely look of the place was the final thing that helped my decision to book.

Even more gorgeous than the pictures, and the desk attendant was very helpful and friendly. Another reviewer mentioned that they prefer cash and I can see why - I'm not sure I saw any machine that could take cards, just a phone and a guest book on the desk. I was happy I decided to bring cash along to pay.

The room was lovely and clean and after a day's worth of sweat thanks to travel the air conditioning was blissfully cool. I would come back here for a longer stay if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very reasonably priced, clean and cozy.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hostel is not near to the "touristy" Bogota but you have the transmilenio. If you learn to use transmilenio, you will go anywhere in Bogota with no problems and fast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The people who own this hotel were most accommodating. They cooked us breakfast whatever time we got up and it was home cooked and all you could eat. The service was excellent. The décor was quaint and typical Colombian style. Internet 24hrs. Per day with your computer or theirs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata

Address: Calle 56 Numero 37 A-08 | Barrio Nicolas de Federman, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata)
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marqués de la Plata, Colonial architecture with a touch of modernity. El Marqués is the best choice for those who are looking for Relax and a peaceful stay with best service. You will feel at home. We also welcome large groups and sport teams from all around the world. Friendly English-speaking staff ready to help you any time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Hotel Marques de la Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.