We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find right off the main drag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mongo's Bar and Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mongo's Bar and Restaurant
Hermanos Manchego 2444 | Sopocachi, La Paz, Bolivia
+591 2 2440714
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 231 Restaurants in La Paz
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
whittier, ca
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great little find right off the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good drinks and food (get the chili), with a great atmosphere. They have a big screen for sports and it can get crowded on weekends. Oh and they speak very good English.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A must place for tourists looking for fun in La Paz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

Mongos has good food when it is not crowded. However, when crowded it is a fun vibrant place with good music, lots of gringos and plenty of locals chasing them seven nights a week!!!
Must see

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Can't make a cocktail to save their lives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

When is a cubre Libre not a cubre libre? When you ask for one at Mongos. We had to send back the most basic of cocktails 3 times before changing the drink order. How hard is it to put some rum and coke in a glass. They got the coke bit but forgot the rum. we finally asked for ashot of rum and a coke, the difference wasnit actually then tasted like a cocktail. Even when we showed the waiter the difference he agreed it was crap. their Martini's have very little gin in them, and basicaly its just safer to order a beer or wine so you get what you asked for.
The food is average, atmosphere is good, fireplaces to keep the place warm, although sport on every tv in the place seems wierd with the dance music playing all night.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I used to like Mongo's- they have fireplaces that heat the place up wonderfully on cold nights, the ambiance is nice and the service and food were fairly good. The last few times I have been there to eat (mostly on weeknights, because after about 10 on weekends it is definitely more bar and less restaurant) I have found the service to be abysmal and the food portions have gotten smaller until one can barely justify eating there when there is a good deal of good and fairly inexpensive food in the neighborhood. Of course a meal is still only going to cost about 7.50 USD but in my opinion you can do much better elsewhere in Sopocachi. It is a popular place for a fairly young and foreign crowd to dance on Saturdays.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
“Mongo's -- Great place but terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Mongo's can be a GREAT place.... great atmosphere, lively music, and the food is good... but it takes freaking FOREVER to get there. Arrive early if you want a table... and FOOD... at 9ish the place is not shoulder-to-shoulder packed and you can actually flag down a waitress... and she can FIND you. Even at 9, the food took an hour to arrive. (How long can soup take?)

At 11ish, I ordered some fries... and they never came. Better said, they took SO LONG my group decided to leave, so it was either stay for my order or go with my friends. I couldn't even find the waitress to null my order. So I left feeling ripped off..... but really, buyer beware. DON'T order food unless you are patient and have tons of time to spare!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongo's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Mongo's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mongo's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.