We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiwanaku

Tiwanaku
Tiwanaku, La Paz, Bolivia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$65*
and up
Private Tour: Tiwanaku Archeological Site from La...
Ranked #8 of 41 Attractions in La Paz
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the most mysterious ancient ruins in South America.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent site to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited this site whilst staying in La Paz and found despite the long journey, it was worth the effort. The site has only been partially restored but thanks to an extremely knowledgeable guide, we gained the maximum from our visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    196
    89
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One activity: Archaeological Site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Tiwanaku is famous for its Archaelogical Site. Better to visit the site with a guide because not much information is given if you are visiting by yourself.

Tiwanaku is a very small village: almost like a ghost town. The only thing to visit in the village is the Plaza.

One night stay is more than enough.

If you are looking to do absolutely nothing and just rest: this is the place to stay.

Please see my review of Hotel Akapana in Tiwanaku.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The oldest civilization in Andean area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing history with many of the ruins rebuilt. Demonstrating the ancient civilization with their buildings and history. UNESCO site. Easy one day trip and very affordable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting (especially for folks who like this sort of thing)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very interesting archeological site. Museum is sub-par, and a lot depends on the guide you have. A good guide will make Tiwanaku a good experience, but without a guide is is almost pointless.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting but keep your expectations low”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I should probably preface all of this by saying that i am history nerd and studied Pre-Columbian America at Uni. We went for a day trip organised by Kanoo tours in La Paz which was well organised and exactly as sold. The ruins are exactly that, ruins. Around 60% has been lost so if you go expecting to see Macchu Picchu or Chichen Itza you will be dissapointed. I would also say that a guide is essential, the secrets of this place are still buried and very unclear and without one i think you would be very underwhelmed. Our guide managed to bring this civilisation to life though and even my partner (who refers to me as the most boring person of all time) thought it was interesting too. There are cool ruins to look at and when you hear how advanced some of the sciences were, you will be impressed. This place is high up on the Altiplano and surrounded by beautiful scenary, a very reasonable 3 course lunch for 35Bs was also availible which was good too.

On the way back to La Paz, we had a crash with another minibus (not our drivers fault at all, blame La Paz´s ridiculous roadworks), the driver and the guide acted promptly, calmly and made sure everyone was ok and got home safe. I would recommed Kanoo tours for this tour.

In summary, they won´t film the next Lara Croft movie there but it´s interesting and definitly better than buying your 400th Alpaca jumper on Sagarnaga.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiwanaku also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Tiwanaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiwanaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.