We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice day out of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiwanaku

Tiwanaku
Tiwanaku, La Paz, Bolivia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$65*
and up
Private Tour: Tiwanaku Archeological Site from La...
Ranked #8 of 41 Attractions in La Paz
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the most mysterious ancient ruins in South America.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice day out of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Again, I wish TripAdvisor had a "good" rating between "average" and "very good."

I haven't seen a lot of ruins (so far just in Mexico and at Lake Titicaca) but insofar as ruins go these aren't anything spectacular, far from it. It's largely in shambles and so much still remains below ground. The "museum" is in a sorry state and they have used cement to reconstruct much of the above ground site, so it feels and looks a bit off.
Despite the lack of largesse, I have to say that I really enjoyed visiting Tiwanaku. Considering the low cost of the trip I'd say it's entirely worth it. Absolutely go with a guide/on a tour (as I did) so that you can get the story of the place. And don't be chintzy, eat the overpriced tour lunch, buy a knick-knack, support the local economy, and be a gracious guest in the ancient lands of Bolivia : ) The whole thing will probably cost you less than the price of a couple of beers or a cinema ticket at home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    196
    89
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Natal, RN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing site!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I loved the whole site! Such an interesting History!! I have got very surprised with de details of Tiwanaku civilization.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Only just worth the trip from La Paz, maybe you need a guide to provide additional interest?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Logistics is easy, we hired a 15 seat minibus for a day with driver for 550BS and we probably paid too much. Entrance is 80BS and 10BS for kids over 7.

The pottery museum nearest the ticket office was good but the one round the corner was in a bit of disrepair and only had one stone statue. No photographs allowed, common in Andean Museums but bonkers as what is a flash going to do to a rock?

Main site is mostly either destroyed or rebuilt (the cement and obviously machined stones give it away) few nice features like sun gate. Even with a guidebook it is unclear what much of the site is for.

Nice to visit pre Inca ruins but there is not much to see compared to the many places in Peru which we found much more impressive.

Perhaps we needed a guide or we had just been ruined out?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Very interesting - but take a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tiwanaku is a fascinating location, and helps to illustrate that there is more to South American history than Incas and Conquistadores. There are many interesting features - such as the sun-gate and the aritifical "ears" cut into the stone-work - and lots of intriguing puzzles still to be solved, but you should either have read up on the location before going, or have a knowledgable guide, or you will miss a lot of these details.

The site is fairly spread out, and it can be tiring exploring it in the sun, so take an umbrella or a large hat. And lots of water.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible history and civilisation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tiwanaku is a fascinating site but I really recommend you go with a guide. Do your research to find someone who is really knowledgeable and passionate. I've met so many people who just don't understand the fuss over the site because they went without a guide and therefore all they saw were a few rocks and ruins that they didn't understand.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiwanaku also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Tiwanaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiwanaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.