We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in La Paz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaen Street

Jaen Street
La Paz, Bolivia
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 47 attractions in La Paz
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best place in La Paz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay so the 4 museums were closed (easter sunday) but we popped in the the muscial instrument museum which was fun to have a go on some of the instruments. We took a few pictures and found a nice art gallery at the end. So some might say not a lot to do but it was a little sanctuary away from all the noise of the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Only 3 of the 4 small museums were open when we visited (the gold and silver museum was closed), but it was still fun. The street is lovely with all the charm of the 18th centery. The buildings that the museums are set in were beautiful. The displays looked great, but we had no idea what they were about due to our appalling Spanish and no translations. Overall a fun place to spend an afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A taste of old times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Oldest street in town that still looks like the 18th century. Lots of fun pubs like Etno and Boca y Sapo to enjoy the evening. Plus all the museums that concentrate around that area. Really worth a while visiting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Colorful, from past colonial times. Nice short walk. Would not recommend walking around at night though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This street is exactly what I was expecting in La Paz. It is small and quaint with some nice souvenir shops. I didn't visit the museums as I had gone quite late in the afternoon. Ended up buying a nice small bag made by an indigenous tribe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaen Street also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Jaen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jaen Street to your Saves list