We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naira Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Naira Hostal to your Saves list
Naira Hostal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sagarnaga 161, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in La Paz
cotw
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Check-in staff were very helpful, despite limited English (not their fault!!). Location is fantastic, right in the buzz of things and opposite a truly remarkable building. Great cafe downstairs where a really good breakfast is served; plus it's very convenient for other meals. We had an end room facing the street, which was private and like other reviewers, found it fascinating to watch life go by. We liked the ambience of the hostel and would recommend it thoroughly. TV reception wasn't great, but this wasn't an issue, as who really wants to watch tv in a place like La Paz?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    77
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
70
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in a room overlooking the front street. Although these rooms are very noisy we were happy as we could watch from the balcony the hustle and bustle going on below (all other rooms have view of internal courtyard so no natural light). Take earplugs. Could be a good hotel but the men at reception are so rude, unfriendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My positive reviews are similar to what others have written, so I'll be succinct and relevant to previous reviewers. The hotel: Clean room, basic, great value, good size. We had an internal twin, which opened to the main second story space around the lobby. Some might find the morning noise from checkouts and restaurants problematic, but the window/door shuts tight and we were up early anyway. Lacking a true functional window (one opened to the stairs and the other opened directly to the lobby where we felt like fish in a fishbowl, so we kept all but the transom above our door closed).
All desk clerks were super friendly and helpful as was housekeeping. Restaurant staff we encountered were of the indifferent sort others have written about desk clerks: perhaps they swapped staff duties out? So we took the free minimalist breakfast of yoghurt, bread, cereal, juice and cold eggs most days and ate other meals elsewhere. The hostel is right in the middle of the tourist district, so there was no shortage of nearby eating alternatives. Great price for the room, we would stay there again, only ask for a room not facing the lobby if possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I like this hostel better than La Posada around the corner, which is the same price basically. It just had a bit more atmosphere or buzz, and the rooms were quiet without being deathly quiet, if you see what I'm getting at. Considering, however, that Rosario is so much better and for the (relatively) little extra cost, I'd stay there for the whole time in future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

First room we were shown was recently renovated and paint fumes were overwhelming, also open access to street and sketchy lock security. They agreed to move us and our next room was a bit more dated but perfectly suitable. Bit noisy, but not too bad. Breakfast was ok, bit slow to refill certain items. Seemed pricey for what you got at Bolivian standards, but overall was ok.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

All the bases are covered, room is clean, plenty of hot water and the restaurant downstairs is good, it needs to be because when we were there the wifi din't extend to our room and we had to hang out in the eating area to access wifi.
What I found unique was the way it wanders around, a jumble of levels and passages and courtyards, this was kind of charming.
Reading other reviews there seems to be ongoing remodels and repair and when I was there the smell of fresh paint was strong and unpleasant.
Good location.
This was better than any hotel we stayed in in Peru.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We liked our stay at the hotel naira. We stayed at one of the renovated rooms and were very happy with it. The hot water for showers worked and the room was clean and cozy. The breakfast is absolutely fabulous, although they are totally unprepared for more than one guest at the time. Calculate enough time gor breakfast and you'll be fine.

The reception staff is some of the worst i've experienced in my life. We read the negative comments before and decided to stay there anyways. We didn't take the comments too seroussly but when we were there we were shocked by the way they were unfriendly and unhelpful. Aweful people, even the owner!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naira Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naira Hostal

Address: Sagarnaga 161, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naira Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Naira Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naira Hostal Hotel La Paz
Naira Hostal La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naira Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.