We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Suites to your Saves list
Camino Real Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ballivian 369 & Calle 10, Calacoto | Calacoto, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$125 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent a week in this modern, attractive hotel. Staff is professional, attentive, and very friendly. Rooms are spacious and have great views. We had no problem with the altitude (thanks to Diamox - get a script from your doctor before traveling here), but noted that the hotel is well-prepared to offer immediate assistance for those who do fall ill. Restaurant is good. Try a Singani Sour in the bar. Look forward to staying here again on future visits to La Paz.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest:

We are pleased to greet you and also thank you for your preference for our services.
 
We are also open to any suggestions or advice to improve our quality and customer service as our intention is to increasingly adapt to the demands and expectations of our customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    63
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
46
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Look out your wrap around floor to ceiling windows at the moutains surrounding La Paz. Enjoy excellent service & help from the staff. Enjoy excellent food: we ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at least once and quality of food and service maintains the overall great experience we had at this hotel. Good shopping UP the hill in a secure upscale neighborhood. Hotel will help with easy taxis to all the CENTRO shopping and sightseeing of La Paz.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir:

We want to thank you for you opinion and for your preference for our services.
 
We are also open to any suggestions or advice to improve our quality and customer service as our intention is to increasingly adapt to the demands and expectations of our customers.

We hope top have you back soon.

Do not hesitate to contact us for ay fuher information.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel multiple times every time I go back to visit my family. The location is great in one of the best areas of the city. It is close to a lot of shopping places and good restaurants and it's very convenient to take taxis or other transportation from the hotel.
The staff is really helpful and professional. During my last stay they helped me to surprise my mom with a cake for her birthday. They are really willing to provide a good service which is why we always stay at the hotel whenever we're in La Paz.
For people coming from out of town, it's also great that the hotel is located in Calacoto, not as high altitude as downtown. When you go to such a high altitude every bit helps to not feel tired during your whole trip :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner (505, 605, etc) have a nice layout and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments, It gives us great pleasure to read such encouraging and positive comments about our hotel, we have been working to create the impression that you take and will continue to improve even more on your next stay that we hope will be very soon.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any requirements or help to surprise your mom or any other occasion.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Camino Real in La Paz, Bolivia, for 5 nights. The hotel is in Calacoto, almost one thousand meters lower than the airport, and, beleive me, that makes a lot of diference when you are talking about an altitude of 4.000 meters above sea level. I am quite sure this is the lower five star in La Paz. Rooms are nice, big and very clear (huge windows with nice view). The restaurant is pretty decent and, above all, the staff is very nice and efficient. It was a very good experience, I recomend it, for a business trip or for a holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments!

We are very pleased to know that your stay whit us was confortable and we hope to have you back soon.

Please let us know if you have any suggestions for our services or facilities because for us is really important to know what our guest need and want to make your stay unforgettable.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a suite hotel and the room was very comfortable and spacious. The big glass windows showed off the mountain view, the distance houses perched on the cliff and steep hills looked like lego blocks. The service was generally excellent. The beds were comfortable (2 queen beds). We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and room service dinner and they were all good quality food. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had a great stay here for 3 nights, the spa was great , breakfast great, room service was good, and staff very helpful and friendly i definatly reccommend this hotel to stay in while in la paz, the rooms are big and spotless we definatly relaxed and enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Camino Real this week. We arrived very late, about 2:00 am. The altitude at the airport is about 13,500 feet elevation. We were worried about altitude sickness. The drive to the hotel takes about 35 minutes with no traffic. The entire drive to the hotel was down hill which made us very happy. It was located at about 10,500 feet. That makes a big difference if altitude worries you. So the altitude did not bother us much although a bus load of tourists there were all sick. Our reason for coming to Bolivia was business.

The hotel is very nice and clean. Our room was huge with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. There were gorgeous views of the mountains and city. The staff were very helpful and nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. We ate our meals at the hotel and they were very good. The breakfast buffet has lots of options including custom omeletts.

The neighborhood is nice and safe. We walked around a little. There is a little grocery store very close where we picked up drinks and treats.

Room Tip: Our room had great views. We were in a room on the 10th floor I think. There is a center atrium and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma. Alejandra A, Director Comercial at Camino Real Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest:

We thank you for choosing Suites Camino Real and the services we provide. Thanks to customers like you we are motivated to continue improving every day to offer the best services and to make your stay whit us unforgettable.

We also take the opportunitty to let you know that we develop an Altittude Plan that gives you recommendations befire, during, and after your stay here in La Paz, and we will be more than glad to send it to you, if your interest please writte to us to the follow email adress: supervisorcomercializacion@caminoreal.com.bo. This plan also provides suggestions for foods that allow a better acclimatization and was developed with the Bolivian Institute for Altitude.

We hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Suites

Address: Av. Ballivian 369 & Calle 10, Calacoto | Calacoto, La Paz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Paz
#1 Business Hotel in La Paz
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Camino Real is ideally placed to 3.200Msnm (10,496 feet), to lie within the most exclusive residential and commercial city of La Paz, while at 880 mts. (2,887 Feet) unless the El Alto International Airport.Our warm service offers an ideal environment where you can quickly get used to a "City Height" to continue their business, event or holiday. Assuring rapid acclimatization and a pleasant rest.Suites Camino Real combines a perfect balance of modernity, luxury and comfort that rivals international standards of the great cities of the world. Offering his services restaurant, business center, health club - spa, meeting rooms, among others, fulfilling the expectations of top executives and tourists accustomed to stringent quality standards.SUITESOur suites are modern, luxurious and comfortable, focused on the satisfaction of our customers in the best location of La Paz. Each suite offers special features and details in the best category of suites in the city.All suites include:• Wireless Internet (free of charge).• LCD 32 'TV with cable.• Panoramic view of the city and the south.• Fire protection system under international standards.• Eco Program Frendly care environment.• Windows and doors with acoustic and thermal insulation between suites and outside.• Heating and Air Conditioning in suites and bathroom.• Module working executive.• Digital Safe.• Minibar.• Clock Radio.• Telephone with voicemail multilingual.• Voltage 220 and adapters.Additionally each room has the following features:SIMPLE SUITES 38 m2: Room with a king size bed and ample space to work or relax comfortably.40 M2 DOUBLE SUITE: Room with two queen beds, ideal for group travel or vacation.FAMILY SUITE 78 m2: Apartment with two bedrooms, one king and two queen beds. Separate bathrooms, living room and kitchenette.ROYAL SUITE 60 m2: Luxury suites with king bed, located on the top floor of the hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms with tubs.RESTAURANT LA TRANQUERAThe restaurant La Tranquera recognized as one of the best in the city, offers a warm atmosphere where you can enjoy delicious flavors specializing in grilled meats, and over 121 options that we are sure will please the most discerning palate.We invite you to have a new experience, tasting alternatives "Bolivian Novo", representing the diversity and richness of inputs and traditions that our country offers to the world, and the various options designed for your business or family events.Our chefs have participated in many local and international competitions, winning a variety of awards for the quality and presentation of our dishes, which together with the good feedback from our guests and customers have transcended our borders.EVENTSWe create events that cross the boundaries of the imagination, in a shared commitment that we want to celebrate with you.We offer a service of distinguished events by providing five halls with capacities of 5 to 120 persons with modern facilities and equipment flexibly adaptable to your business needs and family.We are committed to creating new dining options Novo Bolivian and international first level accompanied by an advisory service and professional equipment ensure class a memorable experience.For your meetings or seminars, we offer you the follow equipment:• Drink high level.• Professional services of waiters.• Multimedia Team.• Ongoing technical assistance.• Internet ADSL and Wi-Fi.• Sound System.• Podium with microphone.• Wireless Microphones.• Microphones tie. • Whiteboard.• Data show.• Recording system.• Flipchart.• TV and DVD.• Telephone and fax.• Color Printer and BN.• Photocopying service.• Simultaneous translation.HEALTH CLUBIn a quiet, our heated pool and other facilities will allow a rest or recreation you deserve:• Indoor pool (closed on mondays due maintenance).• Whirlpool family.• Fitness center with cardio equipment.• Dry Sauna and steam.• Changing rooms and showers.• Seven rooms with health and beauty treatments.ROSEMARIE PADILLA SPAOur Spa is formed by a team of experienced and certified professionals in different areas of the image, health and beauty, allowing us to offer various services with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Camino Real Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Hotel La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.