We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is there not to like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel
461 Pasaje Sgt. Carranza, Sopocachi | (Final Sanchez Lima), La Paz 3165, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 La Paz B&B and Inns
Tarija, Bolivia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What is there not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Rendezvous Hotel is a great place to stay for a few days. I can only endorse the comments of other guests about friendly service from Zach and Shirley, good beds, plenty of hot water, and cleanliness.

Additionally it is great value, and having the Rendezvous Restaurant downstairs is an added
bonus if you don’t want to go too far to eat.

While it may seem a long way from the tourist part of La Paz (it’s only a 10-12 Boliviano taxi ride) it is close to the restaurant and cafe scene in Sopacachi which gives you a better selection of restaurants than the tourist area.

Another too great things is the area is very quite at night and has a great DVD and book library.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Seriously, can we just take Rendezvous with us to every South American city? It's a traveler's dream oasis, and frankly, undersold on the website.
What sets it apart from most in this price range:
* high quality pillows, mattress, bedding, an towels (you will miss these in Bolivia, trust me)
* amazing, varied breakfast (as in, everything you could want, with awesome late hours for the late-sleepers)
* the staff (Zack and his family/workers make you feel at home, always trying to make your stay wonderful)
* the details (hardwood floors, dressers, fast hot water, welcoming common areas, clean and well-stocked kitchen)

<book directly via email, it's cheaper>

*sigh* I miss it already

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
We stayed in an 'economy' room, which was large, clean and very comfortable. Showers were hot and wifi was good.
The breakfast was fantastic.
Zac, the owner, was very helpful and can recommend local tours/restaraunts/bars.
There is a small kitchen available and lots of DVDs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked 4 nights but had to stay 6 because of protesters blocking all roads in and out of La Paz. This was no hardship though as the place is excellent. Well equipped room with great views, comfy bed, plenty hot water in strong shower. Huge DVD collection which you can watch in lounge or in your room. Clean and well furnished. Zack, the American owner is extremely helpful and concerned that all the guests are well looked after. It's situated in a quiet side street in a safe area. A few good restaurants nearby but Zack's cooking is hard to beat though he he giving the restaurant side of his business a break for a while. It's a good 30 minute walk to the centre of La Paz. If we are ever back in this city we will not look elsewhere we will be straight back to the Rendezvous!

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are cheaper but have the same facilities and ours had a great view. I think it was Rm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is truly remarkable. It feels like a 4 or 5 star hotel but is fantastic value!
It is in one of La Paz's nicer neighborhoods and feels very safe. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely laid out with great furniture that gives it a very luxurious feel. The bathroom is big and clean with hot water in spades! Wifi is great and works very well even in the rooms.

What really blew me away though was the service. Zack, Shirley and Jeff (Zack's dad) are brilliant! They are warm and caring and love to have a good chat.

Zack is so generous and it seemed like he would always go out of his way to help us. Our first night we arrived late due to the bus being delayed and we asked where the nearest fast food place was so we could grab a quick bite. Instead, Zack showed us the restaurant menu and said "I was closing up but I will cook you guys whatever you want before I do". Aside from Rendezvous restaurant having the most incredible food, Zack also made up a huge tasting platter as a welcome for us!!

They were all helpful, friendly and gave good advice.

I honestly can't recommend this place enough! Book here and you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Rendezvous is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are enormous, impeccably furnished, with probably the best shower pressure I've found in South America and good,
working wifi.
This alone would make me rate a place highly but what really makes Rendezvous spectacular are the owners; Zack and family are charming, helpful and very friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible: giving tips on La Paz, allowing us to change our booking at short notice and taking time to chat to us and get to know us.
Zack's cooking at the restaurant is superb and I will wax lyrical about that in a separate review when I get the chance. But if you don't feel like eating out every night, there is a brand new, fully equipped, wonderful shared kitchen upstairs that we made use of. The morning breakfast buffet is awesome too.
The location is a little out of town so it's a brisk twenty minute walk or a ten minute cab ride in a perfectly safe and pretty neighbourhood.
Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What to say that haven't been said?! It is GREAT!! Clean, large room, good wifi, good breakfast, warm welcome, very good bed, we had a nice view, well decorated, hot water, nice TV with large choice of DVD (Spanish and English), laundry service....
Zac and her wife are smily and really want to make your stay unbelievable.
We stayed 5 nights (low season) we paid 35USD. Amazing value for money. Thank you Zac, Shirley and Zac's Dad!!
Try the restaurant if possible!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel

Address: 461 Pasaje Sgt. Carranza, Sopocachi | (Final Sanchez Lima), La Paz 3165, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, personalized, and family run hotel in the heart of La Paz's Bohemian neighborhood, Sopocachi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.