We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Rush Bolivia

Urban Rush Bolivia
Calle Potosi 920 | Hotel Presidente, 17th floor, La Paz, Bolivia
591 2 2406666
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Urban Rush Bolivia like an insider
$20*
and up
Ranked #5 of 85 things to do in La Paz
Attraction details
Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a 50m rappel from a building downtown in La Paz. You can go Australian style (face-first) which is totally awesome. They teach you how to do it, and you can dress up in crazy costumes. I was santa claus with a superhero mask on. The rappel offers a good view of downtown, and a good adrenaline rush. My advice is go nuts, jump around and go fast! You have two belays and good equipment so don't worry about it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So I've done abseiling before, I do a lot of rock climbing but this was so differnt, first off: YOU'RE GOING FORWARDS, but this is optional, but I HIGHLY recommend it. Like I said, I've done a lot of climbing and these guys were totally professional. All the gear looked well maintained, and everything was safe, and easy. Definitely a buzz looking straight down towards where you're going.

Go for it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool Thrill in LaPaz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's something to do that's different in the city. The staff were great and made me feel very safe. Suggestion: GO TWICE! It is so inexpensive if you pay upfront and you can rappel one time and go face first the other.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elevator up, rope down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Huge adrenaline rush, un hurried and through prepping, safety focus, a leap of faith, unforgettable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Soil your pants scary, but great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I did this after being egged on by my 10 year old daughter (who, incidentally, was too young to do it!). The training was adequate, though the guide only gave the demonstration in spanish (as the majority of people in our group were spanish), but english training is given if you are in an english group.
The staff were reassuring and i felt confident that the kit was all in good order.
The abseil itself was harder than i thought it would be. My trainers kept slipping on the gloss painted wall of the hotel and I kept sliding, not seiling, much to my daughters amusement. With the encouragment of staff, I made it to the bottom (and did the 15m 'freefall'). It was worth going up to urban rush just to check out the views over la paz. Great experience, proud achievement, but never again!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Rush Bolivia also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Urban Rush Bolivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Rush Bolivia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.