We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and great location in La Paz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Milton to your Saves list
Hotel Milton
Calle Illampu esquina Calderon No 1123 | Casilla, La Paz 5118, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great price and great location in La Paz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed there for a week. The location is only 300m from San Francisco church. I stayed at dorm actually it was twin room and it costs only 7.5USD. Wifi is great and the view from top of the hotel is fantastic. If you wanna go to some places outside of La Paz they can keep your luggage for free. On the weekend the huge local market is held just in front of the hotel. It's fun to walk around the market. I really enjoyed staying at Milton!

トータル1週間ほど滞在していました。ホテルは街の中心のサンフランシスコ教会から300メートルほどのところにあります。私はドミトリーに泊まったのですが、実際はツインルームで750円ほど。Wifiも強く、屋上からの景色は最高です。もし遠くに出る場合もフロントで無料で荷物を預かってくれます。週末にはホテルの周辺で大きなローカルマーケットが開かれます。個人的にかなりオススメのホテルです!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    49
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
35
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very highly recommended. I spent a week here April/May 2014

The location is perfect. It's very cental, easy access to the centre and the sights, but a couple of blocks down from the main tourist area where the majority of the hotels, hostals, restaurantes and travel agencies are. So you're conveniently close to them, without being in the thick of it. Instead, when you step outside of the Milton, you're in a colourful street market.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. They'll sort out your taxis, your tours and will even print your boarding card and tickets if need be. I booked several trips through the hotel and they were all excellent and very well organised.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the water is always hot. I had a room facing the sunny side, it really helps warm up the room during the day. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of blankets. The wifi is good and reliable and breakfast is good - fresh fruit juice, cereal, scrambled eggs and plenty of bread, tea & coffee. Tea and water are always available in reception. There's a nice view of the city from the roof terrace.

Some of the comments here mention the noise from the street. I was on the 5th floor, so it's possible that rooms lower down are noisier, but I can't say it was a problem for me. I always travel with ear plugs just in case but I didn't need them here.

One of the earlier comments puzzles me - the one complaining that there are no supermarkets nearby. It's true that there are no big western style supermarkets, but there are lots of minimarkets and convenience stores in all the surrounding streets, plus several pharmacies in case you need non-food stuff. And lots of what you might need to buy is available in the street market right outside the door.

One thing to be aware of, there's a lift but it stops kind of between floors, so you will have lug your suitcase up or down half a flight of stairs to get to the lift.

I loved La Paz and will probably go back. If I go back, I will definitely go back to the Milton.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A word of warning - some rooms seem to get a very strong smell of gasoline through their bathrooms' air vents.
I originally checked into room 201, but before it was even nighttime the gasoline smell was too strong to bear, even with the bathroom door closed it spread in the whole room.
They let me change rooms to 101, which was good for the night, but sure enough the following evening I returned to a room that smelled very strongly of gasoline. There might be a diesel-powered generator somewhere in the building blasting these fumes through the air vents, I really have no clue where else such a strong smell might come from.

101 is situated directly below 201, so maybe it's only those rooms, I don't know which other rooms might be affected. Having to move twice after unpacking was very annoying I have to say.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel has a retro look to it, a bit high up and a bit off the beaten path, none of which I hold against it. The service is a bit lackadaisical, especially about time-sensitive things (like getting a taxi to the airport), but friendly. The decor in the interior is without compare, with an abundance of hand-painted kitsch that is unlike any hotel I've stayed at before. The breakfast is good and the wi-fi is weak, as others have noted, but I never found any hotel with good wi-fi in Bolivia.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room high up in the hotel to enjoy the best views, and the best room paintings. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The wifi might not be very strong and the decor is not so up to date, but for the price, this hotel is a great deal. As of early 2014, the hotel was $20 for a single and $33 for a double. This includes an elevator (which apparently isn't common in La Paz), breakfast, great views from some of the rooms, a good location, very helpful staff (some speak English), and towels/soap/shampoo.

The staff were always willing to help with places to go, things to do, restaurants, taxis, luggage storage, etc. without any cost. They made phone calls, came with me to an ATM in the middle of the night and kept my luggage for 5 days in their back office. They also offer tours (for additional cost) to many of the destinations in Bolivia. There is clear information as to where they go and they clearly communicate the cost of everything they provide.

From Hotel Milton, you can easily access the main sites of downtown or catch a bus or taxi to another location. If you aren't familiar with visiting high altitude locations, please be warned that you might have trouble walking up hills for the first couple of days. Either take a taxi or walk very slowly.

On the weekends, there is a market that takes over the street in front of the hotel, so the car traffic will be replaced by people and market traffic, but it was never hard to get through the area. I also visited during Carnaval which meant some noisy streets, but things seem to get very quiet around 11 p.m. no matter what the event. If you are a light sleeper, you might need ear plugs at this hotel as the traffic noise comes through the windows quite easily.

All in all, this is a fine place to sleep, but don't expect the luxury of more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you want to see the hill side, but this might be the noisiest room too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very convenient location, very friendly and helpfull staff, adequate number of blankets to keep you warm at night, hot water, WiFi in the room, nice bathroom, fairly good breakfast - and VERY reasonable prices.

Nice wiew from rooms at upper floors and access to the roof from where the view is even better.

Cheap and fast laundry.

Bus station is 30 minutes away by foot. No super markets in the nighbourhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed just two nights of my 4-night reservation at Hotel Milton, checking out early.

Pluses: the bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious but I took 3 showers over two days and the water was just warm, never hot.

Negatives: Poor WiFi to my Room 301, regardless of which of the two transmitters I logged on to.

The worst and most inefficient hotel breakfast I have eaten in Bolivia in this my 3rd week of travel here. Instead of placing everything on a buffet table for guests to help themselves to, a harried waiter ran around taking orders and serving guests. Unfortunately, this means waits of 5-10 minutes when there are many of us arriving at once. Brusque ‘Momentitos!’ were delivered from the one waiter when one asked for something, say hot water for coffee. At every other hotel/hostel in Central and South America, you can help yourself. Both mornings the options were — No Option! Only scrambled eggs, served hot and fresh, but greasy, very greasy. The rolls served my 2nd morning had to have been leftovers from the first morning, they were not fresh but hockey puck stale.

When I paid my bill, the hotel could get neither of my valid VISA credit cards to run, so I had to pay my bill in cash. Beware of this possibility.

Finally, for some odd reason my room featured an Entertainment Center. Completely empty (see photo). Why no desk, now that would have been useful! But why a hotel would plunk an empty Entertainment Center in a hotel room, complete with empty slots for CDs, glass doors, and empty LP shelves, nearly totally useless (since the room had ample closet and shelf space)….this speaks volumes about the management at Hotel Milton.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milton

Address: Calle Illampu esquina Calderon No 1123 | Casilla, La Paz 5118, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.