We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gloria La Paz

Hotel Gloria La Paz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gloria La Paz to your Saves list
Hotel Gloria La Paz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potosi 909, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in La Paz
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Good location. My room at the 8th floor was very noisy. It's like all the windows are open. Little bathroom gets wet when you use the shower.
Good restaurant at the top.
Regarding the price I reccommend this hotel. If you're willing to pay more, well ...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
17
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
884 reviews 884 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
1,581 helpful votes 1,581 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located between Plaza San Francisco and Plaza Murillo, the most central area of La Paz. Eventhough, it is completely outdated, and is not a pleasant nor a comfortable place to stay. As it wasn´t enough, small ugly rooms (reeking of cigarette everywhere) and a terrible night's sleep due to intense noise of the streets (although we are on the top floor) drived us crazy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Don't recommend it!

THIEFS BROKE OUR ROOM DOOR KNOB (at the 8th floor) AND STOLE OUR 4 CELLPHONES, CAMERA AND MONEY. THE HOTEL HAS NO CAMERAS!!! Plus, there's a second way out at the restaurant, perfect for thefts.

My advice: La Paz is dangerous. Check if the hotel you're staying has cameras.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

After a delightful stay the previous week at TripAdvisor's top rated place in La Paz, we were booked into the Gloria when a local agent helped us solve a booking difficulty in Cochabamba. When we returned from Lake Titicaca, we were booked at the Gloria. The room is small but comfortable although the TV is hung high from the ceiling, ensuring a bad viewing angle. The bathroom is tiny, best suited to Lilliputians but I'm a plus sized person in a world not used to that.
Traffic noise is a constant. The most popular sound instrument in Bolivia is the auto horn. It is played for everything, at all hours. Add to that the mini-vans prospecting for customers by shouting from an open side door and the usual street sounds of beggars, vendors and crowds of people, the urban hum can be oppressive.

Breakfast was disappointing. At first try, scrambled eggs were dried and crusted to the container. It was replaced by another tray with half cooked egg soup. Fruit was plentiful and I got the last small bowl of cereal which I took with yogurt. The coffee was a rather strange concoction of concentrated liquid with overpowering bitterness, even cut with hot milk. At dinner, we were refused service because they had one group eating while expecting, apparently, another. Our Spanish skills failed and we didn't get an explanation we could understand. Just went to bed.

Little English spoken at the hotel and we found the lobby crowded and smoky at times. Only two in-house computers provide Internet access although there is wireless access in the lobby if you carry your own device.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The brochure in the room shows the room exactly. However I think the brochure is from the 1960's. The room was small and tired. Clean and basic. Remember that smoking is still allowed in the rooms so one of our rooms was appalling.The bathroom was adequate although when showering, no matter how carefully you adjust the curtain, there is a flood from shower to floor drain. Some of the staff were helpful and others surly. Breakfast was ordinary forget the cold scrambled eggs (why do hotels insist on scrambled eggs in a bain marie).. and don't take too many biscuits unless you can live down the icy stare of the man behind the counter. Very convienient position for city sightseeing and markets but extremely niosey from traffic below.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The hotel staff are very nice and curteous, very helpful.

But the hotel is old, next to the main street and extremely noisy! The horn from taxi practically never stop whole night. There are advertising banner hanging, hitting the wall making numereous amount of noise non stop whole night when there are strong winds.

There is a scent they put to get rid of some smell, but the scent was so strong it becomes an annoyance. The bed is very old, not sure how to get comfort out of it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Quite an average three star-equivalent hotel in the centre of the capital with an easy, if you can dodge the incessant traffic, access to all the markets and attractions.

Rooms were comfortable enough. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast fairly unremarkable though plentiful.

The noise from the streets, penetrating the whole hotel is definitely a drawback. So, invest in a pair of good quality ear plugs...

For dinner I recommend Presidente Hotel across the street. Although the food in both establishments is comparable, the views there are quite outstanding, particularly from the top bar area.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gloria La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria La Paz

Address: Potosi 909, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gloria La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gloria La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gloria La Paz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.