We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional staff, great location, worth every boliviano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosario La Paz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rosario La Paz to your Saves list
Hotel Rosario La Paz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in La Paz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“exceptional staff, great location, worth every boliviano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here at Hotel Rosario off and on during our 13 day stay in Bolivia. I have to say, this was the best large city hotels that I've ever stayed at. Set in an ideal location, near the witches market, it has clean rooms, great breakfasts but the thing that sets it apart is the staff. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and it didn't matter what time of day or night i had a question they were alway there to help. When we were concerned about a possible transit strike and not being able to get to the airport to do a jungle excursion, the gentleman at the front desk did not hesitate to say "don't worry, if there is a strike i will drive you there myself".
My wife and I plan on returning to La Paz next year and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    216
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
54
308
71
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rooms are clean, well decorated but are very small and double beds were really small.

Staff at reception were friendly and helpful however we had an incident we didn't like. My husband was very sick and they offered to put a tank of oxygen in our room and we accepted and were very thankful. They never told us we had to pay for the oxygen and we assumed it was courtesy therefore when we received the thank we noticed it was not full (it had 1/4) but we didn't say anything and when it was over and we asked for a second tank they advised the price and sent the second tank, which again was not fully charged and just after a long dispute (thanks god we speak Spanish) they accepted the tank was not full and just charged the proportion for the second one (we had to pay the full rate for the first one which made us feel ripped off. This small incident made our memory for the hotel unpleasant.

Internet was not working in our room.
The best part of the hotel was the restaurant, food was delicious and very well presented.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

great location, fantastic staff,great restaurant.. will do all they can to help you organise trips or any needs you want. had pizza at restaurant down the road at martinnis excellent. had meal in hotel even better, llama with a fruit jus followed by a chocolate dessert best food for a long time. Reception staff very helpful

Room Tip: rooms at the back best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is very well located, 2 blocks from witches' market, and close to main square. A beautiful colonial building with an excellent restaurant- try the quinoa dessert. A very helpful tour desk helped us with a bus ticket purchases, and also an excellent city tour.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit noisy. Request a book room on the upper floor. Eat at the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stumbled across this place, central location, internet access, good access to the markets, local amenities. Rooms were clean, comfortable and safe. Staff were helpful and friendly also able to arrange trips and flights and offer local knowledge. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very centrally located in a well-renovated former colonial house. Even the modern extension at the rear is tastefully done. Integrates well with their sister hotel in Copacabana – when we arrived from Copa, the hotel had already transferred our data to their check-in card, so all we had to do was sign. Rooms very comfortable, with baths. Rooms have iPhone docking stations so you can play your favourite music instead of watching terrible TV. Excellent breakfast. We don’t usually dine in hotels but on one night we did – and the food was amazingly high quality. Local residents come here to dine. Very helpful staff, a useful tourism desk in the hotel. Good wi-fi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although Hotel Rosario was listed in my guidebook under the more expensive hotels, La Paz is relatively inexpensive compared to cities in neighboring countries, so the hotel was actually great value. The staff was incredibly warm and helpful and the rooms were adorably decorated. I ate at the restaurant a couple of times and it was great. The location was really convenient for exploring the city proper, and taxis are very plentiful and inexpensive, so it was easy to get out a bit further to see other parts of town. Wi-fi was great - used it a lot while I was working during the time, too. They were really nice in opening breakfast early as both of my flights were really early in the morning. It was cold, but the heaters in the room were very welcomed. I had very small issues such as not receiving one wake up call (I had used my phone as a backup anyway) and not being able to charge one of my meals at the cafe to my room (and running out of cash, as a consequence), but otherwise, it was really lovely!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are probably quieter and with a better view, but my street-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#6 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. We are currently offering food and drink specials for the World Cup in our 3rd floor cafe. Stop by during a game for buy one get free beer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosario La Paz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.