We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosario La Paz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rosario La Paz to your Saves list
Hotel Rosario La Paz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rosario was recommended by a friend and with good review on Tripadvisor, it could not go wrong. We stayed there for 3 nights in Sep 2012 and came back for another night after our Amazon trip.
The best part was the staff; always smile, always ready to help, printing boarding pass, getting a cab, telling how much it cost, etc.
The hotel location is at the middle of everything so we just walked around to every place.
We left tips for the waiter, waitress when we charged to our room but when we checked out, tips were not charged in our bill. We told the front desk about it but they could not do anything and said it was OK. We felt bad about it because they did a good job serving us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    234
    42
    15
    10
See reviews for
64
333
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Considering La Paz doesn't have very nice areas nor very nice hotels, Rosario was the best choice. Dont be scared with the area, its a bit shocking for those who arent used to South America, but it is pretty safe. The service was nice and the breakfast was outstanding. Definetly reccomended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff in this hotel couldn't do enough to assist! They organised tours, arranged laundry at very cheap rates and even came running out with our visa card which we had left in the safe by mistake. One of our party was in a room directly over the lounge area and found that rather noisy but the others had HUGE rooms. Highly recommend! BTW my husband also recommends the half day tour to the high mts

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were caught off guard when we were too late to get to Sorata when we landed in La Paz. My iPad had been stolen in the plane and I was really off beat. With no reservation, we asked to be dropped at Iglesia San Francisco. I found a telephone booth and called the Rosario which had a place for us. We climbed the hill with all our luggage and finally reached the hotel. Everything was brighter from then on.

This hotel has beautiful clean rooms, most with a shared patio. It is a warm place in every sense, the service is top-notch. There are always at least two employees sitting down at the large desk next to the door ready to help you. When they are busy helping other travellers, the doormen are always smiling and giving a hand. Complimentary mate, water, internet, book exchange, this is heaven for people arriving in La Paz not completely acclimatized.

They have luggage storage, an excellent restaurant on-site (Tambo Colonial) which serves as breakfast room in the morning. Very extensive buffet with attentive service from 7 o'clock. Also, there is an Internet Cafe on top with a view on Illimani.

You have to climb up to Illampu street to get there, but once comfortably set there you'll be next to the art market, the tour vendors of Sagarnaga street, the oldest streets of La Paz. Basically you are on top of things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is great, in a perfect location, with a five star service. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The hotel is nicely decorated, very clean. Our room was large, clean and with a nice view of the city. The hotel has a wonderful roof bar where you can enjoy a nice view of the city while sipping a cocktail or surfing on internet. Breakfast in the morning is so good!
The hotel has an inside travel agency that is very helpful to book trips and buses for you!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed only one night in September 2012. We were given two rooms on the third floor, a double for me and my wife and a triple for our children. The rooms are not very large but are comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small but the well sized shower worked very well, delivering good pressure hot water. We found the service very good, always ready to help. We had dinner and liked the restaurant. The service was professional and the food was excellent. The breakfast was nothing special but ok. Wireless internet was working well during our stay, both in the rooms and in the lobby. A nice and comfortable place to stay in La Paz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent a few nights at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it. It has a fantastic location very close to the Witches Market (and other local markets as well). The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and orderly. The bathrooms had plenty of hot water and ok water pressure.

What really impressed me was how great the service was. Specifically, a lady at the front desk (I never got her name) was so incredibly helpful to us in so many ways. Any time we had a question, inquiry, needed a cab, etc. she always went above and beyond to help us. We had a 1.5 day delay with our flight out of La Paz and had to return back to the hotel and she was incredibly helpful in giving us advice on what we could do to get the airline to somewhat compensate us for the issue. The service service truly exceeded my expectations.

The daily breakfast here was also very good! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rosario La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosario La Paz

Address: Av. Illampu 704, La Paz 12446, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#10 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosario La Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, charm and colonial style located in the center La Paz. The perfect location for your city excursions. We are currently offering food and drink specials for the World Cup in our 3rd floor cafe. Stop by during a game for buy one get free beer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rosario La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Rosario La Paz
Residencial Rosario Hotel La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rosario La Paz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.