We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located nice and convenient neighborhood, Very clean, comfortable. Professional staffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LP Columbus

Save Saved
You added Hotel LP Columbus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel LP Columbus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Illimani 1990 | Esquina Plaza Stadium, La Paz 5432, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 hotels in La Paz
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Located nice and convenient neighborhood, Very clean, comfortable. Professional staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It located 20 minutes away by bus (it cost 20 cents) from San Fransico Plaza and Mullio Plaza but located quiet and nice neighborhood. There are big intersection and many public transportation few steps away from the hotel. Hotel looks newly renovated. It has morden interior and clean. Rooms are clean and quiet and comfortable. Hotel has special promotion; if guest stay 2 nights then one night is free. Staffs speak good English and friendly and attentive. Police stays at the lobby over night. when friend of mine left for airport at 4:30 AM I went street to get taxi and say good bye to her. I turned around to go to hotel and found out police came for us and stayed until my friend took taxi and followed behind me until I came back to hetel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for enjoying our 3X2 promotion.

Regards,
Roxana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
12
47
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Hotel LP Columbus is a cozy place. I was in one of the Suites and I recommend it at you. The bed is very comfortable and the room is spacious, with a good TV with cable connection. Everything is decorated like a European hotel of minimalist style. The negatives: The hotel is opposite the national soccer stadium, so sometimes there is noise and access roads to the hotel are closed to vehicles. In that case you should walk to the hotel. The neighborhood is not very nice, but it's not terrible. There are fast food restaurants within one block. The hotel has only one elevator, which is small and only goes to the fourth floor. The suites are on the fifth floor, so you will need to get them up the stairs. The service is good, but the breakfast is pretty basic.
Overall it is a good alternative by the price!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The suite I stayed in was nice and big. The bed was very comfertable with really nice sheats. They had bathrobes which was lovely and the showere had great pressure and lots of hot water. I booked this hotel through hotels.com and it clearly stated that it had a bath, which was the main reason as to why I booked it. Sore body after quite a lot of site seeing and treaking over the past few months, so I decieded to treat my self. I was very dissapointed to find I had been given a suite without a bath. Also a few other problems arose throughout the night that made me very unhappy. I made a complaint to management and upon my check out the Hotel manager Roxanne and the destk cleark Veronica took the time to talk me through the issues. They apoligised about the wrong room explaining that they had not recieved the infomation about the spa bath request, and apoligised about the other problems that arose. They went over and above to make up for it, even providing me with a free lunch and free taxi to the airport. One main thing I have noticed in South Americia is that they do not really care about service and if you are not happy they do not care, and also alot of the time you feel like you are being ripped off as they veiw a lot of gringos as rich. This was most certainly not the issue here. Roxanne and Verionica seemed quite concerend that my stay did not met my expetctions. This sometimes happens, but the way they delt with it was hugely proffesional and would deffently stay here again, and recomend them to other people.

Room Tip: Try not using a third party to book this hotel if you want something specific, or if you do maybe co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

When we booked the LP Columbus the day before our arrival, I neglected to look at the location and proximity to the football stadium. We were surprised to find the place quiet, centrally located - cheap taxis anywhere - friendly and courteous service. Their laundry service is excellent, as well as providing radio taxis upon departure to any if the three bus terminals. It suited our travel and provided a great Continental breakfast. The big plus was the Wi-Fi everywhere in the hotel! I would highly recommend the LP Columbus to anyone traveling to La Paz.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Maybe we got the rough end of the deal but I got the distinct impression that all rooms are the same. Our room was tiny, very basic with worn carpet and tired furniture and paintwork. The bathroom was very tired and when you turned the tap on in the basin, the bathroom floor flooded.

We had a very early flight so we decided to go to the hotel restaurant for a quick and simple meal. We ordered one spaghetti carbonara and one spaghetti alfredo. However, we waited an hour for the food to arrive and, when it did, the pasta was still not cooked and both sauces were just a gelatinous, clear, tasteless slop on the top of the pasta. The food was totally inedible.

When we came to check out and pay our bill, we had a further unpleasant experience as the receptionist refused to honour the 20% discount on our booking that we had through an offer on the hotel's website. The receptionist insisted that we were lying and had not booked through the website (despite the 20% offer being attached to the paperwork that the hotel had prepared for our check out) because the confirmation said "powered by Hostelworld" on it. We explained to her that this was the site that runs the hotel's website but she said that this was not true and that we had booked through a third party.

Also, the area around the hotel is not very nice and you are at least 10 minutes walk from the city centre. This is not a walk that can be done at night and does not feel very safe in the day either.

All in all this was a very unpleasant experience and I would recommend that everyone avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
All the rooms we have are the same as in the pictures, but there are 2 different kind of Rooms, the Suites and the LP rooms, probably you saw the Suites pictures.
The discount you mention, in the ticket say that you must show the coupon at the Check In, because this rate is an special rate and have a different code in our system.Although when you came back to the Hotel 2 days later, our Front desk Manager gives you the money (20%) back.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Bolivia was most enjoyable.
Roxana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the LP Hoteles Columbus for 2 weeks whilst in La Paz for business. I stayed in a suite on the 6th floor which was very well appointed and comfortable.
Most importantly I found all the hotel staff to be extremely polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor offer better views. However please note that If you stay on the 6th floor you have to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is IMHO a poor choice for staying in La Paz. The area around it is not slums, but is lower class overall, lacks any sights and tourist infrastructure - as in, there are no restaurants nearby, transport connections, and no reason to be in that area whatsoever (unless you are visiting the city for a sporting event - the stadium is literally next door). Bed was uncomfortable, room was cold, bathroom small, breakfast poor. Though the service personnel was not able to give basic information (as in, any decent places to eat nearby, where is a decent shopping center (did not get a suitcase, needed supplies), they were very friendly and trying to be helpful as much as possible (that's why 2 instead of 1 stars). They are not well trained to assist international tourists, but are genuinely willing to help. They also did pick us up at the airport for an additional fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel LP Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LP Columbus

Address: Av Illimani 1990 | Esquina Plaza Stadium, La Paz 5432, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LP Columbus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star Hotel located in La Paz Down Town in a quiet neighborhood. Our hotel offers a pleasant stay, with all the facilities to enjoy a city that gives visitors a personal taste of politics, culture, art and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel LP Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lp Columbus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LP Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.