We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice warm Room centrally located in La Paz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tiahuanaco No. 64, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice warm Room centrally located in La Paz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

We spent a brillant 9 days at the Hotel Europa! On our Arrival they upgraded us to a Suite. It was like an appartment with Two spacious rooms with Coffee and tea Making facilities and a bathroom with a wonderfully heated floor. Service was friendly and helpful. Would Most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    83
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
56
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Business trip in April 2011.
Speedy check-in and friendly service from all staff.
Had an amazing room, (an apartment), which was huge, lots of light, really clean, probably one of the best I've experienced. Good amount of storage space, coffee facilities, two televisions with perfect reception. Free wifi in room although the signal was weak and pretty inconsistent. I tried using a cable to access the LAN network but it never seemed to work. Alternatively the internet in the lobby seemed fairly fast and reliable, never busy although one machine was virus infected.
Really liked everything about the place and only negative comment would be the food. The breakfast was reasonable, never too busy, good variety of food with fruit, rolls and eggs to order, but the bacon was disappointing. Just a few thick rashers on offer, strangely grey-coloured, overcooked and looked too sad to be eaten. Instead, I felt like stamping on it to put it out of its misery. Secondly, the room service. There's a good selection and the service is prompt, really impressive. However, there was such a small number of fries with everything (6) that I had to order an extra plate to have a decent meal! I guess that's nouvelle cuisine, arty presentation with small portions. Also, frequently the food was a little cold but I was usually so hungry I ate it regardless.
I would definitely return to this hotel although I'd try and get a room higher up than 6th floor as it was very noisy in the evenings, principally from the local school and the kitchens of a nearby building. The singing chef and his quartet seemed to perform on a regular basis accompanied by a vareity of kitchen utensils. At first I'd hum along with them but rapidly lost interest as they drifted into obscure local ballads.
Overall really enjoyed my week there, despite the disruptive efforts of the local unions, road blocks, fireworks, explosives, demonstrations etc and all the other cultural quirks of La Paz.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great central location. Average hotel room but very spacious and had an ample sized balcony. Business centre was in the lounge which was located in the lobby of the hotel. This provided an interesting and restful place to wind down from a busy day of adventures.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed here twice in October (only a night each time) either side of a trip to Bolivian amazon. We initially looked to book at a different hotel, but Europa was recommended by our travel agent - we were thankful for the recommendation!

The rooms were really nice - much better than you come to expect in Bolivia, and all the hotel staff were very helpful. One thing Ihad never come across before - they had some heating system hooked up so that the bathroom tile floor was warm - that was nice for the cold La Paz nights!

The location is good - fairly central in La Paz, but still off the main street so that you don't get any of the city noise. There is a restaurant and a cafe in the hotel - both were good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

a 3.5 standard hotel on world rating but in the right place. don't let them give you a room near the don bosco school as the loud p.a. goes from 8.00am to 10.00pm (yes 3 schools a day) including saturday late afternoon

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This was my first stay in La Paz. The hotel was recmmended to me by a business associate.
All was well and the staff was very helpful to assist me to set up a private tour of the city.
Breakfast was very good with a cook to prepare fresh eggs and omlettes.
Location is in the middle of town, so getting around by foot is easy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel is just average and realy doesn't meet 5 star quality. This doesn't mean that is is very bad, but there must be better hotels in La Paz. A few comments:
- staff is not so friendly;
- food is bad (dinner and breakfast);
- rooms are ok but very hot (not a good climate);
- the "look and feel" of this hotel is like 3,5 stars instead of 5

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Tiahuanaco No. 64, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#5 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy an excellent service in the heart of downtown.Hotel Europa, is a five stars hotel with 110 rooms, including 12 suites. Enjoy the best location, only a block away from El Prado, you will be at only steps (les than 0.5 miles) to most banks , 0.6 miles (1 Kilometer) from San Francisco square and church, as well as the Witch's market. Our spacious and relaxing rooms (Executives Room are 344 ft2 and Residence Suites are 667 ft2) are equiped with a coordinated system of heating by radiant under-floor and humidifier, which guaranties a perfect night sleep and helps alleviate symptoms of altitude sickness.Additionally, we offer all the convenience and comfort proper of a five stars hotel including: Free Wi-Fi , 24 hours front desk with bilingual staff, convention center, restaurants, 24 hours room service, 24 hours business center, fitness center and spa, town cars, and airport shuttles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.