We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bash and Crash Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bash and Crash Hostel to your Saves list
Bash and Crash Hostel
Ingavi 681, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 50 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

you get what you pay for... this hostel is very cheap, hence you don't get a lot... bash and crash is definitely one of the cheapest hostels in Bolivia, i paid only 39 bolivianos for a dorm, around a fiver. the location is good, very close to the main touristy bit so that was fab! however don't expect to come here and expect luxury. i stayed in an 8 bed dorm, which actually had 9 beds... bed was average, pillow was awful though, lumpy and very uncomfortable. this is apparently a 'party hostel' but in the 2 nights i spent there i saw no partying! loud music blaring out from the bar, even though no one was in the bar... quite annoying! breakfast was included but i didn't get round to trying it as i hadn't heard great things. wifi was good in main areas but not very good in the bedrooms. had a small communal area with plug sockets which was okay, tv room and computers - they looked pretty dated though. toilets and showers were my worst part - they permanently stank as there was no ventilation in there. the shower didn't look like it had been cleaned, it was covered in thick hair on the floor and all up the walls - pretty grim. on the plus side the showers were very warm. overall, i didn't particularly enjoy my stay here, however because it is so cheap i would come back here if i was low on money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
1
9
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights and we did not have a good time. The hostel was incredibly cold, the showers did not have hot water and the breakfast was just lumpy bread and horrible coffee. It was quite cheap and the location is okay, but they did try and charge us for an extra night because we arrived early, despite a sign saying hat you were allowed to wait for a room from midnight. The bar was also so loud that it was impossible to sleep, and there weren't any travellers in there anyway. I would strongly recommend that people stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed there with friends earlier this year.
This place calls itself "Party Hostel" (for me there is no better indication that it's not). It was empty, the small bar is only inhibited by the employees and the long long term guests.
Facilities are bad, to say the least: Small and smelly rooms, bad restrooms and awful showers. No kitchen- a usual fact in La Paz, but also the breakfast is not good. The hostel is not in anyway clean. Computers looks like they were taken from the 90s.
The staff was OK with the little we actually asked them.
Be careful from the slippery steps when climbing to the lobby!

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing Ingavi street, and that might wake you up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

After one night in that hostel I moved to another hostel. I was in a 4 bed dorm, which faced the street, so it was always quite loud. As there is a club in the same building, the music can be heard till in the early morning. The bathrooms are not clean. When I went for having breakfast at 8.30 h, there was still a big mess from last night. You have to mix some cold very strong coffee with hot water, means that you don't get a hot coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night after doing the Salt flats tour and returning from Uyuni by a night bus. The hostel is in a good location and the people are really friendly. I stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The room hadn't been cleaned properly. There were hairs in the bathroom in the sink and on the shower wall. There were hairs in the bed and the sheets were stained. The room looked like it need to be repainted. I was quite disappointed after staying in very basic accommodation during the salt flat tours and the overnight buses. They did book me a cab to the airport and gave me a wake up all which was needed. Also, there is a restaurant and bar on site. So you can have dinner and a night out without leaving the hostel. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, but that is the only positive thing about this hostel. The rooms were humid, our clothes wouldnt dry up even after days. The showers were cold, some of the staff were really incompetent. It was very dirty in the restaurant section, especially during breakfast, often the cook was never there. The lady in the travel agency gave horrible advice. The internet was slow. They also messed up our booking, we had reserved a private room, but it wasnt registered at arrival and we had to move to a 6 bed dorm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The first impression of BNC Hostel was that it's quiet easy to find from the bus terminal in La Paz. Even if the furnitured in the lobby is not that new, I've got a very warm welcome and because I would have had to wait 4 more hours until I could have checked-into my booked 8 dorm, the receptionist gave me a bed in the 6 dorm but didn't want to charge me more. Really cool!

Two of the showers didn't get warm, but one got really hot that's not normal for hostels in Bolivia.
There's a strong wifi all around the hostel, two "living rooms" and a great bar upstairs that offers you drinks, milk and food for a good price! That makes it easier to take the fact that there's no shared kitchen. Moreover you're able to book tours from the hostel and everybody is always really into helping you out with anything you need.

All in all, the staff and atmosphere of the hostel is great, the prices are cheap, the beds are warm and even if the breakfast is not the best, there's actually nothing I could complain about. For the same price you can get cold showers, dirty rooms and no breakfast in other hostels!

Recommandable in any case.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bash and Crash Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bash and Crash Hostel

Address: Ingavi 681, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th-century house which we've fully renovated to make a hostel, welcomes you into one of the oldest and most stylish buildings in the city. It is located only 3 blocks away from Plaza Murillo (city's main square),1 ½ blocks away from the Bus Terminal, and only 10 minutes (walking distance) away from any touristic site you want to visit. Bash n' Crash has managed to pinpoint all the things that you need and look for when backpacking. With several common areas (all which have their own charm and ways to keep you busy), comfy beds in private and shared dorms, hot showers, YUMMY food, great music, drinks and a friendly, happy to help English speaking staff, this is a place you won't want to miss! With parties that start and end at our very own night club, this hostel is the only one in La Paz that gives you the chance to bash and crash in one spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bash and Crash Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bash and Crash Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.