We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and nice stay for our big group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sajama Hotel

Sajama Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sajama Hotel to your Saves list
Sajama Hotel
Illampu 775, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A clean and nice stay for our big group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Sajama for 3 nights, with a group of ten people. We were given big rooms which were clean and comfortable. The shower was a bit scary, because of the electricity, but I've yet to stay at a hotel in Bolivia without this type of shower, and as long as you don't touch the shower head while showering you should be fine. The staff was friendly, but didn't speak much english. The breakfast was extremely simple, but apparently you could order something extra, which was not very obvious. The hotel had a great location in the older part of town, close to many restaurants and shops with fun bolivian stuff, but if altitude sickness is a problem for you, I might recommend staying somewhere further down in La Paz. Over all, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street, as the car alarms goes off every three minutes in Bolivia and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for a few days, trading up from 2 star hotels in other towns to get a few more amenities and some extra rest. During my time in the city, I considered switching to another hotel and found that Sajama compared slightly better than some of the other 3 stars.

As noted by other reviews, the rooms were in good order (comfortable beds and bedding, good towels, mini bar in some rooms, cable TV, etc.) Breakfast was not much more than average, although I did find out that you can order eggs and some other items for free. (They don't offer it.) Staff was variable - from a couple who were very interested in making the stay good, to others who seemed well-intended, but did not have enough language skills to help.

Room Tip: There is construction in the area, so you might want to make sure about your room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay didn't start too well as the heater in the room didn't work and it felt quite cold. Reception said they would get us a heater by the next morning which was fair enough. Then there was the shower that kept giving us electric socks every time we touched the taps. We complained at reception and they were very good and quickly changed our room for us. Our new room was much nicer...and warmer! Good location and nice comfortable beds.

Room Tip: The second room we were given was at the back of the hotel which, because it was smaller, was much w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I missed a flight and had to stay an extra day in La Paz and needed to find a hotel. The hotel I was staying in (Hotel El Rosario - GREAT HOTEL) was full and couldn't accomodate me another night but recommended the Sajama Hotel that is located down the street.

The Sajama hotel was an adequate hotel ( large rooms, TV, heater, hot shower, friendly staff) but there were several areas that needed improvements. The towels were not clean looking and had stains on them. They were also very thin towels. I requested different towels and they also had stains on them. The shower was clogged and over flowed.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed there for three days, after visiting Tiahuawanku and I must say, for the price, it is all right, the bedromms are nice and the beds are confortable but when its time to shower, you get a cold surprise. Nevertheless, the price, as said is friendly and so are the people working there and "trying" to help. The water seems to be a comon problem. Its ok!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I am giving this hotel such a good rating, after having stayed at several other hotels, then, being able to compare it to a good rest of hotels in the country. Rooms look great, staff is polite, price is reasonable, location is great, and breakfast is good; again, everything compared to hotels standards in the country. So if you want to visit this country, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had three different rooms, all on different floors, and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights for $70 which is very reasonable for single room which itself was pretty nice.
pros: Location: near the famous witches market and Sagarnada - shop/restaurant street. all other famous sights are withion walking distance
Price
Staff is nice and helpful

cons: Noisy if you have windows and it's a busy street at night
very Cold in winter, so that you just can't get warm even under 3 blankets
Hot water - is just a mess. all of a sudden turns to freezingly cold water.
poor breakfast - yes, it's really poor, just no need to get up early
wifi is not very stable, though you have it in the room

recommended for budget trips

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sajama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sajama Hotel

Address: Illampu 775, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Sajama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sajama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.