We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Simple and Cheap Hostel in La Paz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Solario

El Solario
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Solario
Save
You added El Solario to your Saves list
Murillo 776, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 55 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Luzern, Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Simple and Cheap Hostel in La Paz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I think this is the cheapest hostel in town. You can get a bed for 20 Bolivianos in a 6er dorm. The showers a not all hot. I always go to the shower/bathroom downstairs its the only hot shower that I found. They have a small kitchen, computers you can use for free and wifi. Its a little noisy in the evening though. Try to get a room for away from the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Not the worst place we've stayed. Okay, maybe it was, but it wasn't awful. Staff was a bit disorganized, but we did arrive to check out rooms at the same time as maybe three other couples. We stayed on the second level. The bed wasn't great but it was livable. Room was actually larger than many we've stayed in. Wifi didn't work in the room at all, and didn't really work in common areas either. There were two public computers but the place was pretty big so they were usually being used. Wasn't a fan of the smokers that sat at the top of the stairs watching television. While it wouldn't have bothered me if there were just there once in a while, they were there ALL the time and, since there was only one staircase, we didn't have a choice but to walk by them on the way to our second floor room. Bathrooms didn't have toilet paper in them, but luckily we had our own (strangely, while they sell beer, they don't sell toilet paper there). We were just there one night, so maybe it's usually better, but the bathrooms were pretty gross. I ended up getting sick, and this was definitely not a floor you wanted to kneel on. They did empty the garbage in the bathroom at least once while I was there. Showers looked pretty gross so we didn't use them. We ended up paying more and going to Hotel Fuentes, where we were much happier. If you want a cheap place, aren't sick, and don't mind things being a bit dirty, this wasn't terrible!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

its a basic hostalbut clean,small kitchen showers arnt the best,but for the price i think its good value,good location.
i had no problem with the staff,tour agencie downstairs
good place to stay for the budget traveller

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more quiet,but people are often smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

room: 4-beds dorm, 3 blanket, shared shower / hot water (somewhat/depends) / no towel (4+), western toilet (4+) / no toilet paper, wifi (dlink router at center of hostel, may work or not in room - ok for n°1; note than it's invisible and WPA/WPA2; sometimes can't get IP address - need to configure manually; lastly, it seems sometimes they change both network name and password; off at night 0h-7h), power outlets (4 - Attention, some are loose, 1 broken/almost naked), table/1 chair
no breakfeast
kitchen (old gas, no fridge, no microwave)
smoking allowed in common room
checkout ?

miss something to evacuate better water in bathroom and sometimes more cleaning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'm surprised to see so many negative reviews for this place below. I personally quite liked it: I was on a budget so I wasn't expecting luxury, and the price- 30 Bolivianos ($4.20) for a private room in the middle of a capital city- was great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

the place is definitely cheap, which is the only positive thing about it. The staff were extremely unwelcoming and rude, we were given a room on the main floor which isnt the greatest location...kids running around screaming and knocking on our doors until 11pm. Also 2 different members of staff unlocked our room and barged in (at 10:30 and 11 pm, when my friend and I were both ill and trying to sleep) under the pretense that we had been loaned some object. I kept repeating that we had only just arrived and no one loaned us anything. Staff were again horrible the next morning and did their best to make us feel unwelcome and silly for any questions we asked. WORST HOSTEL stay in all of south america so far, not worth it despite the cheap rates

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hostel is one of the cheapest in La Paz and you get what you pay for. It is allright to stay there, but the staff was really unfriendly. Our bed broke down the first night and they weren`t interested at all. We could change to another room the next day, but they didn´t care about the broken bed and didn´t fix it. They just rearranged it but it is still broken. If you need something they are just sitting in their office and don´t help you at all. Everything they do is smiling at you. We although gave them our laundry and we had to get really unfriendly to get it back after two days. In the end we had to go and get some change to pay for the laundry. Everything they did was sitting there, smiling at us and telling us that they don´t have change. If you are on strict budget its allright but don´t expect anything!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Solario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Solario

Address: Murillo 776, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Specialty Lodging in La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Solario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.