We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Latino to your Saves list
Residencial Latino
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Junin 857, La Paz 0000, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Alright!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place was good value in La Paz, but our room was a little cold and moldy. Also, they were very strict about things, like the amount of coffee you put in your cup of coffee in the morning or charging you for using their phone.

That being said, it was cheap compared to some of the other double rooms we looked at in other hostels, and the internet was relatively fast! An alright place, all in all!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
37
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this place, but it echoes so you can hear the front desk or people walking around so bring earplugs. It was also light in the room so something to cover your eyes and a towel to use the shower. The staff was very nice and precise. Would stay there again with a few tips.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We paid $19 USD for a room with shared bathroom. We arrived at 6 AM and they let us check in immediately. The place was very clean, they were dusting the stairway railings in the morning! The room was basic, the electirc showers were hot with good water pressure, wifi works well in the reception area, but not so well in the rooms. Staff was friendly, breakfast was basic, there is free luggage storage, and the location is a 10-15 min walk from city centre so close but quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The price here is amazingly low, however, the experience does match it. So, if budget is your main concern, then this is a great option for you in La Paz.

The rooms are basic and cold - as is often the case in La Paz.
Breakfast is totally regimented in portion assignment - no 'extras' allowed. The lady that morning was just grumpy.
I liked that there was one computer with internet access for guest use, not just wifi, since we didn't bring our own devices with us. Reception staff was nice.

In the end, we spent only 1 night: We just found it a cold place, not so welcoming, and we didn't really like the area it is in - a bit rougher feeling than we wanted. We did pay for 1.5 nights due our cancellation, which I felt was fair.

Room Tip: Just look at the options and pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

building is really nice, hot showers breakfast included,the lady who cleans and does the breakfast should not be working with people as she never smiles and is genrally moody, the reception staff are good though. sometimes the drains are smelly, close to town and very comfortable beds and pillows!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms have one small window over the entrance door and no heating. In July it was so cold in there, you could only stay in the room fully dressed under the blankets. Showers are mostly lukewarm, which means you freeze during and after. They display their policy about how much they like providing good service but when we asked for another room or for a little more butter at breakfast the answer was always "No". They have a heater for the breakfast area, which they never turned on. I really can't recommend this place, there is much better and cheaper around in La Paz ( e.g. the Perla Negra near the bus station)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

- Location: 10-15 min walk to city centre and main tourist attractions. Quiet neighbourhood. Small grocery shop on the opposite side of the street.
- Staff: Helpful people.
- Cleanliness: Ok for the money.
- Comfort: Wifi is a little weak in the room, but it works fine in the lobby. Staff may arrange laundry for you - it was clean and folded nicely. Hot water in the shower. The hostel is very spacious - there's a huge room containing reception and common area with computer. You can relax here and chill out after sightseeing - the atmosphere is peaceful.
- Breakfast: it's available in the dining area. I don't remember if it was included in the room price.

Value for money: very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Latino

Address: Junin 857, La Paz 0000, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residencial Latino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Residencial Latino" is a company that has over 25 years of service to hotels and accommodation in the city of La Paz, along their activity within the hotel industry has been characterized by the cleanliness of their environments, warm treatment of the staff, the tranquility of a family home and the colonial architecture of its refurbished facilities for a pleasant stay in the city of La Paz ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Residencial Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.