We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sagarnaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sagarnaga to your Saves list
Hotel Sagarnaga
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here during our time in La Paz. Good location in the 'tourist area', safe and friendly staff. Comfy beds and HOT shower. The place could be cleaner. The carpets are old and dirty, but make it feel less cold. Breakfast is awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    72
    75
    18
    6
See reviews for
17
62
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was booked to stay in this hotel, but in the end I couldn't stay. To say the room was filthy is an understatement. Hairs in the bed, scum on the floor of the bathroom, carpets not hoovered. The hotel needs a total overhaul as the location is great and it could be nice. We asked to see another room, but it was just as bad, so in the end my friend and I went to another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo_Arocha_Z, Manager at Hotel Sagarnaga, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for visiting La Paz. We apologize for any problem you have had with your reservation. We kindly ask you to please give us the date of your reservation so we can look it up and make sure this problem does not happen to future travelers, Once again we are sorry for any inconvenient you may have had and thank you for the feedback, since its important to us, and helps us improve our service with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here recently whilst travelling through Bolivia. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. a good place to stay if you're on a budget whilst travelling throughCalle Sagarnaga. Close to shops and bars etc. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel. The location is really convenient, at the heart of Calle Sagarnaga, close to everything you need. I found the staff to be very professional, not overly warm but at least efficient. Careful: paying with a Visa card, although advertised as accepted, is not always possible (at least in my case - "The system is not working...", pretty common in Bolivia I have found). I had a room with 2 single beds and a private bathroom. The rooms were clean, had TV, and the bathroom was clean too. Clean, but old. Some of their equipment (shower screen, bathroom tiles, ...) surely needed fixing or refreshing. But at least everything was functional. Hot water at all times. No heater in the room but there were enough blankets so as not to feel cold at night. The window gave over the back of the building, so it was actually silent. I suspect that the rooms that give over Calle Sagarnaga may be a lot noisier. Breakfast was decent, although not filling. They made no difficulties to keep my bags for a few hours when I checked out. Overall I would rate this place as functional and practical, although it would clearly need a refreshment and lacks personality. But I guess this is what you would expect from a "hotel" as opposed to a "hostal"...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located just a few steps from the cathedral and Witches' Market, near shops, museums and restaurant. Very cheap. Comfortable rooms, hot water in bathroom (not that obvious in Bolivia). Friendly, English speaking staff. Basic breakfasts. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooms are nice and clean. Amazing staff, will help you with absolutely everything. 
I stayed for a week, enjoyed every moment. The staff helped with sick friends, attractions in the city, cabs. Nice atmosphir, always smiling. Close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I didn't actually stay at the hotel, but really wanted to give it a recommendation. I had problems all day having to scan an application for university, until I started visiting hotels asking for help. At Hotel Sagarnaga my stuggles ended. The manager, Ricardo Arocha Z., was so helpful. He had a wife from Sweden, pretty co-incidental as I am from Norway. From what I could see the hotel itself looked very good. If I ever revisit La Paz, this is where I am staying!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sagarnaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagarnaga

Address: Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sagarnaga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sagarnaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sagarnaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.