We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sagarnaga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sagarnaga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sagarnaga
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 72 hotels in La Paz
Bernay, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Duration: 2 nights

Good: free wifi, clean
rooms, private bathroom with soap and toilet paper, cable TV, helpful staff, English speaking, accept visa cards, included in price breakfast (standard and not fancy), quite, elevator, safe and secure and the best thing is the location (middle of Sagarnaga St. Few meters from San Francisco church.

PS: at 5 am they gave us wakeup call and called a taxi for us, we asked them for this the previous night.

Bad: no heating, beds are not the best but ok (not bad).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    57
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
44
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here with our Intrpid tour group and found the hotel pretty bad The staff were very friendly and helpful but that's about it. The breakfast was boring but standard for Bolivia. Bread, crackers, jam and hot drink. The rooms are run down. The bedding is very old, stained and needs replacing, I actually thought the pillow was so bad I put my own pillow case on. The bathroom was completely falling apart and the shower screen was falling off and the toilet seat was terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Sorry.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location, right in the centre of town, 2 mins walk to the witches market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not anything fancy but a great deal for what you pay. The location is perfect. The rooms were nice enough and the bathrooms were good. We had a room with our own bathroom in it. Lots of travelers to talk to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Basic hotel, very good price, located in the very hearth of La Paz, few minutes away from the witches market & nice Alpaca shops, comfortable & with very friendly & helpful staff. Wifi working also well. In the nearby many restaurants. Certainly a good hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Thank goodness I stayed here for only 2 nights. The bathroom was dirty & when I checked the shower it was full of black hair & the plughole blocked. The small blue towels stunk too. There was no handsoap available so I had to use my shower gel instead. On a more positive note : free wifi & fantastic location. We were 10 secs away from the Witches Market. I stayed here because it was already paid for as part of my tour.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Cheap, basic, simple breakfast of jam and bread. Relatively clean for what can be expected in LaPaz for this category of hotels. Stayed only one night here because the hotel i wanted to stay was full. They are tricky and tried to charge my friends double time for their room. The internet room is not very good, the computers are old. The location is very good, just in the middle of the main market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Free wifi, Internet, Cable tv, Breakfast,with their travel agency Diana Tours very highly rated. Cash machines outside and 10 meters from the witches market and main alpaca wool shopping of La Paz. I really enjoyed myself in this hotel and its not too far above backpacker price. Very much worth the treat. A huge thing was the courteous staff, there's a great working atmosphere and the respect and professional service you get is fantastic and sadly lacking as you travel. I dont backpack, I try and stay in family run hostels but I cant recommend enough jumping up to hotel level for this establishment carpeted, friendly,helpful,professional in service and staff.
If you miss the hotel breakfast, Cafe Del Mundo is next door, pancakes are very good and tourists suggestions printed on the walls are very helpful..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sagarnaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagarnaga

Address: Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sagarnaga 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sagarnaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sagarnaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.