We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, understaffed but tasty food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Colonial

Angelo Colonial
Calle Linares 922 | Belen, La Paz 277-3410, Bolivia
(2) 236 0199
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 231 Restaurants in La Paz
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great setting, understaffed but tasty food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant with lots of old world touches making for an interesting setting. The food is really nice although you're not getting a real bargain for Bolivia. When we were there the place was understaffed so service slow but that's easily corrected so don't write it off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great quinoa, not so great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stopped here for a quick lunch. the decor was cluttered looking and the restaurant was quite dark, but whatever. i ordered a delicious quiona dish that had a bolognese style sauce on it and veggies and meat - very delicious. the staff was fairly inattentive, they forgot to bring me my coffee and still tried to charge me for it, and it was difficult to get their attention for the check. btw, there was only one other table in the place when we went there, so it wasn't busy. anyhow, the location, menu and food was good, the atmosphere and service was not.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere But No Sandwiches!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant is on Linares, slightly South of Saganarga, and just past the Coca Museum. It is upstairs and extremely atmospheric. The décor resembled that of an antique store – carved wooden tables and all sorts of eclectic wall hangings. Unfortunately, although the menu said that they served sandwiches, I was informed that they didn’t have any. It’s hard to imagine how a restaurant can serve full meals but not be capable of making sandwiches. It was lunchtime so that’s all I wanted and I imagine I wouldn’t be the only one. The other diners seemed happy with their meals as I sipped my cappuccino so I guess it’s worth trying out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Good quality of food, charming ambient with a tipical atmosphere you will never forget. Really good for romantic situation and for people who loves antiques.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Angelo Colonial restaurant, romantic and ..yummy yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Angelo Colonial seems to be a chain of restaurants and cafe`in La Paz. One of the most memorable lies close to the Curch of S. Francisco. The furniture is ancient, old and beautiful, big mirrors, strange collections at the walls, and candlelight. You eat best bolivian meals at low price.
And wine is excellent. Only pay attention: service is very slow ( young girls working there as waitresses ), and you' d better make a reservation for your table, reserving as well the meals you want to eat from the menu in advance. However it will be slow all the same...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Colonial also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to Angelo Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.