We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City

Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1617 N Summit St, Arkansas City, KS 67005 (Formerly Scottish Hallmark Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arkansas City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Won't stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

First the key did not work, but the manager was walking our way and let us in the room. He went and got us another key. There were several long dark hairs in the tub, we told the manager and he contacted housekeeping. Instead of coming to the room she called the room and wanted to know what the problem was instead of coming to the room. She came to the room and insisted we show her where the hairs were in the tub which we did. She stated they were cracks in the tub. My wife told her she wasn’t picking up the hair to show her and we weren’t going to stay if she didn’t clean it. She then said she wasn’t going to clean it if we weren’t staying. My wife restated, no, we wouldn’t stay if she didn’t clean the tub; the housekeeper finally cleaned the tub. The next morning there was a dead bug on the bathroom floor. I’m used to the entire towel and wash clothes slots being filled when checking into a room. Not here, there were two sets of each. Also, the “King” bed was a Queen. There was no coffee maker, iron, ironing board or hair dryer in the room. The continental breakfast was Spartan. I tried the orange juice and it tasted like water. My wife said she will never stay at America’s Best Value again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my son's wedding, 5/15/2014-5/18/2014. Good central location, clean room, extra firm bed, all appliances worked well. WIFI is very slow, but works. I didn't take part in the breakfast, but I did see cereal, juice and coffee. I'm rating this 4 of 5 stars and it is a great value! If I should return to Arkansas City, I will stay here again!

Brian Peterson
Ajo, AZ

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a short one night stay , service at hotel restaurant was great . The room was clean and ready and best of all the bed was comfortable with the perfect amount of pillows and covers had a great night.




Room Tip: If you need any extra shampoo or sugar, creamer, just ask before you really need it so you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I would not stay at this hotel again. The towels were rough and stiff! The window air conditioning unit made a horrible noise when it came on. The shower did not have a shower head so when I turned the shower on the water sprayed everywhere. The room is old and needs updating.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was clean and was very fresh smelling. Great value. The internet was down and he reset the router and then came to our room to make sure it was working!! This is a good place for not a lot of money. I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our room was dirty with cigarette burns on the sheets, ice machine didn't work, wi-fi was broke, and the breakfast was blah... The coffee service in the room had not been replaced and was clearly very used. While the room did't cost much even a cheap hotel can do better than this.
Certainly won't be back

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here because the First Council Hotel (where we stayed at last night) was booked up for tonight. It had pretty good reviews, so we thought we'd give it a try. It's not the best, but we were very comfortable here. The beds are great, has a fridge and microwave and the air conditioning is great! The owner was nice and let us check in early as we hadn't had much sleep from being up late at the Casino. The internet is comped and very fast, they have a breakfast bar and coffee makers also in the rooms. It's only about 6 miles from the casinos and 1/2 the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City

Address: 1617 N Summit St, Arkansas City, KS 67005 (Formerly Scottish Hallmark Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Arkansas City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arkansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Arkansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.