We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiar atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esturion de Montoya

Esturion de Montoya
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta del Este
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esturion de Montoya
Save
You added Esturion de Montoya to your Saves list
Ruta 10 - Playa Montoya | Km 6165, Punta del Este, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Punta del Este
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Familiar atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I've stayed there last Easter with my wife and other couple. It's a simple, but very charming hotel. It's run by a very nice family, so the staff was always kind and very helpful, they helped us finding good and cheap restaurants in the fancy and expensive Punta del Este.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a great hotel for the price, the staff (Family owned) and you cant get a better location. The rooms aren't 5 star but they're clean and compared to the surrounding rooms, very well priced. You simply can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

It is difficult to believe that such a run down property who could claim 5 star status. A 3 would be too generous. It needs painting, and a complete (I mean complete) refurbishment. The furniture is so old which hurts the eye. The deco is incredibly tacky. The bathroom so run down you think that you are renting an old flat in a poor area of Montevideo or Buenos Aires. It is really a disaster. Management should close it down and redo it.

Because they won't do that, you should not even consider staying in this property. Pay no attention to the 'glamorous' location on the beach. There is nothing glamorous about Esturion de Montoya once you get there. Breakfast in a very poorly decorated restaurant is modest. The pool is nothing to write home about. The indoor pool is a lap pool more suitable to a rotary club than a 5 star so called property.

Location is terrible. You are at La Barra. I had a car and I was still far away from Punta de Este. Barra is fashionable but not very nice and the beach is very windy most of the time. Climate conditions are one factor but Esturion de Montoya would be bad even if the location was good.

Give this run down property a miss. If management reads this, they should know that you can fool some people for some time but not all people all the time.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

As part of a month-long stay in Argentina, we opted to spend a week at this property located in a seaside village called La Barra, 15 minutes from Punta del Este. We booked it as part of a timeshare exchange through RCI.

The Esturion bills itself as 'a deluxe resort' and is in fact in a wonderful location on a very beautiful beach. However the resort is anything but deluxe and bears no resemblance to the standards described on its website. Our initial impression was of a neglected run down property: one that might hold some appeal for young families on a budget, who aren't too worried about comfort and plan to spend very little time in the room. After checking in, the first room they gave us was totally unacceptable. Drapes were filthy, flooring cracked, furniture badly stained and it overlooked the main coastal highway. After requesting a change we found the replacement room was only marginally better than the first: that is not quite so dirty and run down, however the TV and air conditioning were not working and incredibly we were located below ground, with a view of some sort of embankment. Returning to the front desk, we reminded the clerk that we were staying for a week and that he had told us on check-in that the property was only 50 percent full as this was the end of the season. Surely they had something a little better? This time they placed us in a larger, newer suite in the building housing the front desk. While still a much lower standard than we had expected, we thought this was probably all we could expect so we should just try to make the best of it. In spite of pretty basic twin beds and a few lurking cockroaches, we managed to hold out for four nights before cutting our losses and heading back to Buenos Aires.

Just a word of warning to those thinking about visiting Punta Del Este in March. The season is almost over and boy do the clouds come in. It rained every day, offering us only brief opportunities to sprint to the pool and relax before having to rush back to the room. Restaurants outside Punta simply shut down. In La Barra, nothing was open except the little supermarket which meant we we had to drive into Punta to eat. This was very hard on people stuck at the resort with small children. After the incredible food and accommodation in Argentina, all at almost embarassingly cheap prices, the food in Punta del Este, a reported 'playground' for wealthy South Americans, is ridiculously expensive and terrible quality. When we asked why, locals said the prices were high because the season is short. Even factoring that in, the food was universally horrible and overpriced. ($20 for 6 nasty pieces of California roll.) We both got sick after an indifferent, extremely expensive seafood lunch in downtown Punta.

If you are planning to visit Uruguay as part of a trip to Argentina I heartily recommend that you skip pretentious Punta del Este in favour of a day trip by Buquebus to Colonia, where you can get a real flavour for the country.

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Disliked — Furnighings, decor, cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We got a Junior Garden Suite which was not cheap and when we got to the room it was dirsy, bathroom fixtures were peeling and there was no bath plug (The shower cap wrapped in the sing plug worked though having failed to get one from reception for two days on the trot!) That said they did "try" and clean the room more thourougly after complaints.

The Jacussi was dirty and the overall feel of the place was of a tacky 3 star hotel. I am sure if we had had anie room with a view things would not have looked so bad and I am sure other families enWe got a Junior Garden Suite which was not cheap and when we got to the room it was dirty, bathroom fixtures were peeling and there was no bath plug (The shower cap wrapped in the sing plug worked though having failed to get one from reception for two days on the trot!) That said they did "try" and clean the room more thoroughly after complaints.

We also had a friend come and stay and they charged $50 dollars to stay in our Junior suite which meant she had the pull out bed UNDER the sofa, so not only did she get a crap bed for $50 we lost our junior suit facilities – And the suite was the only place with room – The bedroom was tiny with a decent bed but only one bedside table as there was no room on the other side for one!

The Jacuzzi was dirty and the overall feel of the place was of a tacky 3 star hotel. I am sure if we had had a room with a view things might not have looked so bad and I am sure other families enjoyed the place.

The breakfast was comprehensive but poor, they tried to hard with nothing really coming off and again the tables and area were dirty unless you were first in and then it was acceptable (We were the day we left but no other day)

The town has some good places to eat and drink and the local buss costs a $1 to get to the main town where the beach front is nicer, bars are busier and restaurants abound.

No going back to this hotel, not at the rip or prices they charge - I'd search for a better recommendation.
oyed the place.

The breakfast was comprehensive but poor, they tried to hard with nothing really coming off and again the tables and area were dirty unless you were first in and then it was acceptable (We were the day we left but no other day)

The town has some good places to eat and drink and the local buss costs a $1 to get to the main town where the beach front is nicer, bars are busier and restautrants abound.

No going back to this hotel, not at the rip or prices they charge - I'd search for a better recommendation.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esturion de Montoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esturion de Montoya

Address: Ruta 10 - Playa Montoya | Km 6165, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
Esturion De Montoya Hotel Punta Del Este

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esturion de Montoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.