We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT NOTHING SPECIAL ...beware of mini bar and stingy staff :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 2122 Hotel Art Design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 2122 Hotel Art Design to your Saves list
2122 Hotel Art Design
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Pedragosa Sierra y San Ciro, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Punta del Este
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
“NICE BUT NOTHING SPECIAL ...beware of mini bar and stingy staff :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

i stayed there last week for 6 days .got a 110 us per night rate. was not bad FOR URUGUAYAN STANDARDS but certainly not a 650 us a day values (that s what they charge in high season).
first of all, nice atmosphere, nice girls and guys in the receptioon, very relaxed and kind.
i had room 309, last floor with a nice view to pedragosa sierra street and the green forest. nice.
very expensive extras thoughs, very stingy country. they nickel and dime you for everything. a can of coke out of the mini bar is 4 us !!!! 4 !!!!!!!!!!! , and the rest even worse :)
they have a coffee shop ,viewpoint its name, which was even closed saturdays at 5 pm. pretty dead the whole place, off-season. like a 10 minute walk from punta shopping which i a pitiful mall which would not survive a week in the us, and 15 min from the conrad casino hotel, another miserywhere they nickel and dime you for anything.
new hotel, opened in january. nice white wood laminate floors, designer beds, sofa and 32 inch tv , not digital but at least direct tv.
little kitchen with microwave and water heater inside.
had to ask for shampoo and soap every second day. they are sooooooooooo stingy. really made a bad impression.
i asked for an iron to iron 2 shirts , they told me to iron in their laundry because they were afraid i might burn their precious sheets. so they really think you are a clown. you are stupid enough too pay so you are stupid enough to burn the room ???
pretty bad and miserable, no ?
same thing the breakfast.
buffet but in a terrace without walls, just a gazebo with pvc coverings , soooooooooo cold.
a 4 to 5 star hotel ??? good joke folks :)
juice almost non existing, some ham that smelt bad, some nice lomo and boring kellogs flakes .
coffee the worst ever, even worse than star bucks !!!
overall a good price for uruguay which is for whatever shady reason theeeeeeeeeeeee most expensive country after australia i know . get a special on hotwire or expedia !!!
this hotel is still by far better than all the 80 us stuff like tanger or marbella hotel !!! at least it is new and not shabby . just their stingy attitude is :) nothing personal though.the country is pretty nice and so are its people !
by the way they had a nice heated ,i guess, pool !!!

Room Tip: i had room 309 whch had a nice open forest view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    65
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
94
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here recently on my Punta Del Este trip. I got a room in March for around $100 a night, and found it to be a great value. The hotel design was built very detailed and I was very impressed. The location is quiet, so hopefully that's what you're looking for. A short cab or long walk will get you to town. Pool was great, service was great, and I would love to stay again!

Room Tip: I saved $100 on a two night stay by quoting their advertised online price from a travel agency. Goog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel just opened in January. Most of the cab drivers don't know where it is yet. Rooms are good size with a kitchenette (microwave, sink, small fridge, counter and stools), sofa and table, king bed with TV facing. We upgraded to a porch which was generous with chairs and a table.
This place is going for trendy, with square cups for breakfast coffee (hard to drink out of), lots of stone and chrome, and other natural fibers. It's nicely done.
About 1/2 mile to west side beaches, closer to east. There's a heated pool. Breakfast is included. It's standard, cold fare. Nothing special.
When we arrived, they did not have the reservation we'd made with Expedia the day before because they were having computer problems. It was off-season (March) so they had space and were very apologetic. We had internet access in our room that night but the following evening, the internet disappeared again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is very much like the pictures on it's website. It's a very nice new hotel with good service and location. The hotel lobby, guest rooms and swimming pool are very nice. The hotel is still putting finishing touches to the place but ever took away from our great stay! The hotel is in the design disrict and it was only a 10 min walk to either Mansa or Brava beach. If you wanted to take a taxi from the hotel to the port area for dinner or casino it's about USD 7 bucks. I highly recommend the restaurant beside the hotel called Life Bistro and Bar. It's actually located in the AWA boutique hotel in front of the hotel, the food is awesome.

I would definately stay here again!

Also want to note that wifi is free and is very fast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A nice place to stay, very clean and well done. Attentive staff, stylish and clean rooms, very nicely done pool and sauna. Very good location, close to everything. A fairly new operation, but everything ran very smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great little hotel in Punta del Este with lots of potential. Very friendly and helpful staff. Brand new facilities with very comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, part of the hotel is still under construction so there is some noise. Despite promises, the Internet is only functional in the lobby. Breakfast is included in the rate but not up to international standards. More attention should be given to these details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 2122 Hotel Art Design, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us. Your insight is highly appreciated. We are working to have all our services operational. We thank you again and hope to have you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved this hotel. The building is brand new, and decorated with great taste, a very relaxing atmosphere. The service was friendly and efficient.

The room was comfortable and very well equipped, with a lovely view.

It's hard to find good hotels in Punta del Este, this one is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at 2122 Hotel Art Design, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas Tardes Martín, muchas gracias por tu comentario. Nos pone muy contentos saber que te gusto el hotel y que tu estadía superó tus expectativas. Te esperamos de nuevo por hotel. Un saludo y hasta la próxma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 2122 Hotel Art Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2122 Hotel Art Design

Address: Av. Pedragosa Sierra y San Ciro, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 2122 Hotel Art Design 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2122 Hotel Art Design is located in the most exclusive gourmet avenue of Punta del Este, 500 meters from Playa Mansa and Brava and just steps from Design District and Punta Shopping.It has 40 modern designed rooms with spacious balconies, kitchenette, microwave, LED TV, free WIFI, among other facilities.Enjoy the pool in / out, Dry Spa and Fitness Centre, as well as our Roof Garden Bar and Restaurant where you can taste the best dishes and drinks from the View Point Restaurant.Its design, comfort and personalized service will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 2122 Hotel Art Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2122 Hotel Art Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.