We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Auberge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Auberge to your Saves list
Hotel L'Auberge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carnoustie y Av. del Agua - Pda 19 Brava | Barrio Parque del Golf, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Special Deluxe!
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond to make guests feel happy and welcomed. The food is fantastic, the service excellent, and everything else is just plain awesome. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit Punta del Este. The hotel seemed like it was family owned and run, and they truly seemed happy as they see their guests happy. Cheers!

P.S. They serve the best waffles in the world!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about L'Auberge in TripAdvisor !

I am very glad to see you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and service during your stay.

As you very well put it, nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests happy, so cheers to you too and we hope you can come back soon !

Best,

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    47
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
188
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful time at this hotel, which more then deserves to be number one on this site. Beautiful campus, interiors, charming staff. They even had a bottle of champagne surprise in our room on my friends birthday, which was a great, personalized touch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Ryskalchick,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our restaurants and overall service.
We hope you can come back soon to enjoy more of Punta del Este and of course, more of L'Auberge.

Best regards !

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

L'Auberge is a charming hotel far from the city center of Punta del Este. The location is perfect, very calm and peaceful. The hotel and its environs are very beautiful. There is a swimming pool, fitness center, restaurant, tea house, garden, etc. But the room we stayed was very small and the bed wasn't confortable. The breakfast is amazing!
But for the price we paid for the night we expected much more of it.
I TOTALLY recommend going there after 17:00 to eat the belgium waflle at the tea house, delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Eduardo,

Thank you for writing about L'Auberge in TripAdvisor.

We are glad you liked our hotel !
Unfortunately, you are right about the size of our rooms in the tower.
These were not originally there, as this tower is part of the history of the neighborhood and Punta itself. It used to serve as a water tower to supply water to the rest of the houses around.
Years later, when running water came, we decided to give the tower better use, and built the rooms inside, which of course, are not as spacefull as we would have liked.

Nevertheless, they have all the decor and comfort details they can get, and many (many!) usual guests at the hotel only like to stay in the rooms inside the tower.

We are also currently in the process of improving the comfort of the beds, so thank you also for pointing that out.

I hope you can come back and I am sure you will thoroughly enjoy the comfort and space of our larger rooms, in the newer areas.

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As it has been stated many times, this hotel is amazing. I almost hated to leave each morning to go to the beach. If you're looking to relax in a peaceful, beautiful environment, then this hotel is for you.
Our daily agenda consisted of waking up at 9, taking breakfast in the solarium which includes made-to-order eggs, walking to the beach with a picnic, then returning in the afternoon for a quick swim. Dinner begins at 9:00.
The rooms are a great value, however dinner and tea is a bit pricey. English is somewhat spoken by the staff and it seemed that all Americans in Punta were staying at this hotel. A car is recommended for the area as the main action is about a half hours or more walk away. There is plenty of parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear meghanmoo,

Thank you for reviewing L'Auberge in TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found some time to relax.

Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived at the Auberge in the middle of the afternoon, a few days before Christmas and we were greeted by warm smiles, the scent of pines and the sound of birdsong! I thought I had stumbled on a little corner of paradise! Having spent a stressful fortnight prior to our arrival, it was as though I was being welcomed to a spa with a restorative and relaxing tonic for good measure! Our hotel room was breathtakingly beautiful; comfortable and spacious but with a quiet charm reminiscent of days gone by. The attention to detail was evident in the tasteful decoration, the soft white bath towels, the scenes of Christmas and the way we were looked after by the staff and the owners of this oasis of wellbeing! The food was simply delicious and already I am planning a fitness regime for the New Year of 2013 to counterbalance the indulgences - namely the Waffles at tea time, the croissants at breakfast, the sumptuous barbecue at lunchtime and the intoxicating delicacies that captivated us after sundown on the dining room terraces. The gardens were inviting at any time of day and were resplendent with the colours of exotic flowers and shrubs and a swimming pool to cool down in during the heat of the day. If exercise was a priority, then the gym at the top of the tower could provide a great work-out as well as giving a panoramic view of Punta del Este and its magnificent coastline. We were happily provided with beach umbrellas and chairs when we wanted to go to the sandy beach which was only a five minute walk away.If you wanted to enjoy the faster pace of Punta del Este or the night life of La Barra - you were within striking distance of either.However, once you had entered the front door of this enchanting hotel, you just did not want to step out of it again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Katherine,

Thank you, and thank you again for such a nice TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge !

We feel honored by your words that reflect all the dedication and hard work everyone puts into our little L'Auberge.
Thank you for coming, for enjoying and for appreciating every little detail.
You make us want to work even harder to impress you more in your next stays.

It will always be a real pleasure having you and your family staying with us.

Please come back soon !

All the best,

Ignacio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The style and sophistication of Cote d Azur without the attitude. If Hotel du Cap( Cap Ferrat) and The Little Nell (Aspen) had a well mannered child it would be L Auberge ***** Punta del Este. Gracious service runs thru the DNA of this gem of an establishment owned and managed thru multi generations by the same family. This European Manor oasis is adourned with mid 19th century antiques yet feels fresh and updated due to meticulous maintanence. The breakfast is a cornacopia of garden grown and local fruits. Not to be missed , the artisinal breads, home made pastas and irresistable pastries. A walk thru the private and perfectly manicured grounds then a dip in the large free form pool grotto takes you back to a time and place where leisure and luxury were defined by quiet elegance. I made my plans to return next year with in my first day here! Worth the 10 hour flight from New York City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you so much for your fantastic words about L'Auberge in TripAdvisor !

Really, it was a pleasure meeting you, and we could not be happier to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

I feel very rewarded by your words, since you have been able to appreciate all the hard work it takes to maintain and run a hotel like ours.

I know it's a long flight, but we look forward very much to welcoming you again next season !

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera, family & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I travel with my job and have stayed in beautiful hotels around the world, but the L'Auberge stands out as the loveliest experience I have had. The grounds and rooms are very well cared for and the staff could not have been better. They were eager to help without being in the way and you could tell they take great pride in the hotel. The rooms in the newer wing were large, very comfortable and the linens were great. The pool was very clean and refreshing and even once the hotel was full it never felt crowded. The grounds are welcoming and there are many areas to sit or lounge so you feel like you have the place to yourself. We were there just before Christmas and the owner and his family were all there. You could see in his interactions with the staff that it is run like a family and everyone has the same goal - creating a welcoming oasis of peace and beauty. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAuberge, Owner at Hotel L'Auberge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor review about L'Auberge !

I can see that you payed attention to every detail while enjoying your stay, and I am glad that you had a wonderful few days with us.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon !

Best regards,

Ignacio Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Auberge

Address: Carnoustie y Av. del Agua - Pda 19 Brava | Barrio Parque del Golf, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#2 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently awarded as "Most Excellent Hotel" by Condé Nast for South America 2010, L'Auberge, with it's water tower, was the first building to be erected at the Parque del Golf neighborhood, today's most distinguished residential area in Punta del Este. We try to offer our visitors a place that is different from the rest, a place where antiques and works of art combine with the most modern comfort.We strongly support the idea that an international hotel should develop the "Art of being a Good Host". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel L'Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Auberge Punta Del Este
l Auberge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Auberge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.