We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 24 esquina calle 29, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Punta del Este
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is a very well located hotel, I've stayed there with my boyfriend, my mother and sister in law in a room for 4 people in 2010, and we were really pleased with our choice, we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Lublasi303605:
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We are proud of knowing about your nice experience at our hotel. Thanks for your words about Golden Beach. We would be very pleased to receive you back anytime.
Best regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    178
    92
    34
    12
See reviews for
180
127
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The quality level is probably best described as a tired seaside resort Holiday Inn. Interior and exterior pool areas are nice. THE biggest problem is the odor from the bathrooms. We were going to ask for another room but since I'm in fluent Spanish I asked the maids and they leveled with me that there are plumbing issues and all rooms have the odor. She was kind enough to give us a can of deodorizer that along with a couple extra wet floor mats I placed over the drains masked the odor about 90%. Positives are... 1 block from the beach, grocery store next door, 1 block to main shopping drag, free basement parking (actually ALL parking in Punta is free... There are guys that have fluorescent vest on that guide you to open spots and you just give them under a buck/coins after you return to your car. If you stay here you could possibly get away with not renting a car during your stay BUT to get to the chic and bohemian beach towns of La Barra (15 min.) and Jose Ignacio (35 min.) a rental car is a must. Punta is expensive, reserve car rentals early preferably from local agencies like Interautos or others. Are Budget car was $150 a day! BTW if you have not driven in a foreign country before then be prepared. The first thing I think they do when they get a car there is rip the blinker/indicator off the steering column and throw it out the window... no staying between the lines. OTHER TIPS... We traveled Aerolineas Argentinas from BA. Poor departure times... leave plenty of time for connecting flights! Also, the domestic airport in BA, although called Jorge Newberry, goes by "Aeroparque" .So if you are at the airport in Punta you will not see your flight to Buenos Aires and instead see the word Aeroparque. Security wise we felt very safe every where we went. Try La Gabanna across from the marina for dinner and dancing but remember everything is late dinner 11-12 pm, cocktails 1-2am, dancing til sun up.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Johndawn99,
Thanks for your review. After the high season we will be attending the problem about the odor in the bathrooms, since we will be remodeling all the bathrooms in the hotel. Also we will be including new furnitures for the balcony and terraces areas that will improve the appearance of the hotel and give best confort to our guests. We look forward to see you on your next trip to Punta del Este.
Best regard.
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Golden Beach this past Christmas for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff at the hotel were attentive to our every needs, and the location was great. Within walking distance to everything, with a great penthouse view!!!!!! I would not hesitate to recomend the Golden Beach to anyone, and when we are back in PDE, we will for sure stay there again!!

Room Tip: The Penthouse suites have access to their own rooftop patio with lounge chairs and fire pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Drrono:
It was our pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with our facilities and services, which makes us feel very proud. We expect to see you on your next time in Punta. Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at Golden Beach - the suite was bright & spacious. The hotel itself is old but in general fairly nice. The pools are excellent - comfortable loungers around the pool are plentiful. The indoor heated pool is very spa-ey. What really made our stay enjoyable was the friendly and helpful staff. Great place to just rest and relax.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper - avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Patti G, It was a great pleasure to us to have you as our guests. We would like to thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Punta del Este and specially for your review in Trip Advisor. We also would like to inform you that on next year we will be remodeling all our rooms and common areas in order to give a new and nicer look to our building. We expect for your visit to enjoy these new features on 2012. Best regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the hotel and it is OK, but not great but I have a feeling that in Punta del Este it is pretty standard for the price you pay. We had a non smoking room and it smelled like smoke and the quality of the bed and sheets was the same as of a cheap motel. The service on the other hand is great, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is GREAT if you like sweets like "media lunas" and other pastries. The location is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear ErinGK, Thank you very much for staying at Golden Beach Resort & Spa and also for your kind review about the place. As we are looking forward to be "free of smoke" hotel, we do not have smoking or non smoking rooms, we invite our guests to smoke in the balcony area but not inside the room, unfortunately sometimes it happens that people does not respect that rule, but we will keep on trying to meet our goal. We are glad to know that you could enjoy our breakfast and its home made pastries and the warmth of our staff. We also would like to inform that on next year we will be changing all the furniture and linens of the hotel , in order to exceed the expectations of our distinguished guests. We would be very proud to receive you anytime. Best regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Arrived in mid-march with a 60-person group from a US business school. No matter what you might optimistically think, Punta del Este drops DEAD after the first weekend in March. At night, about three bars and a casino were open at all, none of them very crowded.

As for the Golden Beach, its location is very central (one block from Brava beach, a few blocks from Mansa) and the rooms themselves are quite nice. The couch, kitchenette, and bedrooms are pretty spacious and well-equipped. The only problem with the rooms are the bathrooms, which are very 2-star in their appearance and equipment. Not much shelving, no real tub, and a vague feeling of dirtyness - no big problems but you could tell it wasn't a very classy place.

The breakfast buffet is rather pedestrian. No eggs (much less omelettes), one kind of bland cereal, no bacon (only meat is processed ham from a can), no waffles or pancakes or anything - it was very basic South American continental breakfast.

The pool was nice but small-ish, and the games room was fairly run down. You could get a game of ping-pong in, but you'd be chasing your balls into dirty corners. The foosball table was in a state of ruin. I applaud the effort to have some parlor games but it needs some work.

The staff were fairly helpful, although only a few of them spoke English and those not very well. They were very nice and eager to recommend things in the area, though. Overall, Golden Beach was decent but not spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have rooftop accesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Golden Beach Resort and Spa is very well located near the Atlantic ocean - beach is hardly 60 seconds walk - and all around there are places to eat and shop! so good location.

The rooms will surprise you! They are B I G, and free wifi internet is super cool! Rooms are well equipped with kitchenette and microwave oven too, so it is great for those travelling for vacations to enjoy these facilities. The bed is also big, and there are two big beds in the room, really big rooms. I think other hotels may call it a suite, in terms of size of the room and facilities!

The breakfast is served in the restaurant area and is fruits, some bread, sweet breads and fruit juice and coffee :) No eggs etc, so enjoy the veggies :)

From outside this doesn't look appealing so the hotel management should seriously upgrade the exteriors too. From the inside, you will be happy probably with the rooms and other facilities.

We didn't use the spa and the swimming pool area, but it is very well located and many guests were using these facilities.

It is hardly 10-15 minutes walk from CONCORD where conventions happen (and also where Casino is!)

celebrations, b

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Calle 24 esquina calle 29, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Beach Resort & Spa is very well located at the heart of Punta Del Este. It is the largest hotel in the downtown of Punta, really close to "Calle 20" which is known as "the fashion road", one block away from Av. Gorlero, the main street of the city, and also 50 meters from the "Brava Beach" on the Atlantic Ocean which makes the favourite beach for surfers and brave swimmers, and 300 meters away from the "Mansa Beach" on the River Plate which is very paceful and safe for people of all ages. Golden Beach Resorts & Spa counts with 100 comfortable rooms up to 6 people per room. The hotel offers a lot of services which makes it different from other hotels in the area, as the great indoor swimming pool, out side swiimming pools one of them exclusive for children, play room with billiard, table soccer, table tennis, kids club for children from 2 years old, excellent spa with various treatments, safe indoor parking, wi fi in all the rooms, and a great home made breakfast with local pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Resort And Hotel Punta Del Este
Golden Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.