We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and outdated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla Williman y Avenida Biarritz, Parada 4 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Located on Playa Mansa!
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Punta del Este
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expensive and outdated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed here for one night in November. This very well may be the best place in town, but thats not saying much in Punta Del Este. We requested non-smoking rooms and had to be moved twice since each room smelled stale and smokey. The room we ended up with was smaller than what we were originally assigned to, and still smelled of smoke. The room was dated with mattresses overdue for an upgrade. We paid for 24 hours of WiFi and were cut-off after about 12. This particular issue was handled badly by a somewhat bad-tempered woman at the front desk who did not seem to grasp this simple problem. The rest of the staff was fine and helpful. Went out to use the hot tub next morning and found it luke warm with several dead, large, beetles floating in it. Have to come clean and say that I don't like casino's and the entire scene that goes with them, so if you do like that scene, you might love this place. The breakfast was probably the best part of our stay: nothing exceptional, but a decent choice. About 10-15 kilometers east of this town is a really nice looking hotel right on the beach where we stopped and inquired. They were full (not surprised), but the staff was nice and the place looked great. Can't remember the name ("Dunes" is part of the name) but if we go back, thats where we will try and stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    404
    157
    46
    22
See reviews for
304
415
40
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Family fun mixed with quality hotel. Great Location, Great Views. The restaurants are a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

There aren't many choices in Punte Del Este as most travelers stay in condos. It is a Hilton Casino Hotel, which best describes it. It is fine, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. It´s a very big hotel with a great casino, pools, mini shopping ang a huge concert hall wich receives international atractions. There´s a supermarket right behind the hotel and a shopping mall within 10 mins walking distance. If you want to go around, rent a car cause taxis aren´t cheap and easy to find. But the casino is the highest point.
The room was spacious with a nice balcony where we can get a good view of the beach, but the double beds are very very narrow!
Don´t expect anything from the front desk staff. They´re not friendly and don´t seem to care. We didn´t have any special problem, but they´re not willing to help tourists.
But no complaints about other employees.

TIP: Dont go to Don Peperone restaurant at Punta shopping. It´s expensive and service is terrible.
Places to visit: Museo del mar (sea museum), Casa Pueblo at punta ballena (manage to be there at sunset. It´s amazing!!), Punta shopping (it has a supermaket)

It´s a good hotel overall, I´d stay there again. But next time, if I can afford, i´ll try Mantra resort casino.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Realistically speaking, this hotel is a Casino hotel and caters to their guests accordingly. We went to Punta in the off-season (March - it was supposed to be 70degrees F but was closer to 90F!) because we wanted to avoid the crowds of summer (January - was told that 300k people come to the area and the place is absolutely packed! So book your reservations accordingly).
Being Diamond member, essentially didn't get upgraded because "all of their upgraded rooms on higher floors are smoking rooms". Regardless, the room we got was fine - had a good view of pool and corner of the beach. All restaurant pricing is in US dollars (?) and was comparable to US Conrad pricing. Food was good. Everyone essentially has breakfast included in their room rate (regardless of Diamond membership) and reminded me of more of an all-inclusive hotel breakfast - large room and lots of people and food. Quality of food was good. There is no Exec lounge or Exec. facilities. But the fitness center was comparable to a private club. (check out the moving rock climbing wall).
In surrounding area:

Many restaurants are closed in off-season. But what we found had great views of beach / ocean and good quality food.
We arrived from BA to Montevideo and drove a car to Punta /Conrad and beyond along the coast. Would recommend this, as Uruguay is a beautiful, clean and friendly country. Food and wine and culture / architecture, etc in Montevideo is fantastic. Just be careful of camera-snatchers. Had many people in restaurants tell us to remove camera from table while eating, especially outside.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

There is no better word to describe it: unforgettable!
The planning of return to the "Punta del Este" is inevitable after a stay in Conrad.
Visit Punta del Este, stay in Conrad. The city is beautiful and the hotel is great.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We absolutely loved staying at this hotel. The Conrad is located at the heart of Punta del Este. Walk right out of the hotel, and you are on the water! Spacious rooms, great service, immaculate lobby, casino, incredible spa and fitness center. They also had tango dancers performing and giving instructions in the lobby....really no complaints at all.

We stayed in the off season (the summer), so there was hardly anyone in the small beach town. Regardless, it was a pleasant trip. We drove along the coast and stopped at the lighthouse. I would've liked to see the town during the winter.

  • Liked — great service and spa/fitness center
  • Disliked — empty in the summer
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino

Address: Rambla Williman y Avenida Biarritz, Parada 4 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#8 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the finest seaside resort cities in South America, Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino has positioned itself in recent years as the main entertainment center in the region. It features 294 rooms, all with ocean view. Among the services offered at Conrad, the fine cuisine, distributed in five unique spaces is highlighted. Operated by Enjoy, Conrad Punta del Este's Casino, is the only Las Vegas-style Casino in South America and is a must for those who love the game. Overlooking the blue Atlantic Ocean, the Spa brings it all to relax in 1200 square meters and at the Fashion Plaza by Conrad, you may find international brand stores, so you can make purchases without leaving the resort. The convention center venue is the largest in South America, hosting up to 5,000 people in an area of over 4,500 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Resort And Casino Punta Del Este Hotel Punta Del Este
Conrad Punta Del Este
Punta Del Este Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.