We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELENTE!!! - THE BEST OF PUNTA DEL ESTE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sisai Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sisai Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Sisai Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Av. Pedragosa Sierra y Av. Roosevelt, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Punta del Este
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“EXCELENTE!!! - THE BEST OF PUNTA DEL ESTE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we traveled with my family, stayed in hotel sisai, absolutely unforgettable days – we enjoy it!!!
the service are excellent!
the rooms are wonderful!
the quality of the employees was the best!

this hotel is the best choise for your trip to punta del este - uruguay.

thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    110
    25
    2
    4
See reviews for
81
137
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I give this hotel 4 stars overall. It was a very nice, clean hotel, with a good breakfast and nice rooms. I'd give the location 3 stars, it's not by the beach, or walkable to much more than a mall and a few restaurants down the road. If you have rented a car for your visit to Punta Del Este (which I recommend), then this is a fine hotel, if you get a good price for your room. They offer you free parking. The rooms are nice and clean, but this is not a 5 star resort.

Middle of the road, very nice and clean, but make sure you are not paying for or expecting a 5 star experience here.

Room Tip: I'd say a higher floor room with view to the pool / Ocean side is probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only two nights. Our stay in Uruguay was just over two weeks but we spent most of our time in Montevideo visiting family. We would have loved to stay at this hotel longer.

The location is quite good and close to everything. It is a quiet area. The underground parking was a real riot. The entrance was at a 90 degree angle and was a little scary going in and leaving - lucky I was not the driver! The rooms are lovely and bright. Bathrobes and slippers and a turn down service that makes one feel pampered especially after two weeks of visiting and touring. That was much appreciated. The balconies are great with comfortable, stylish chairs and a table. We would have wished for more time to relax and sit out there. The breakfast was absolutely great and had a variety of food and drinks. The only thing lacking as Canadians and Americans have grown accustomed to is waiters coming around for refills of coffee. We have to get our own refills and waiters were scare and only attended to the food table. There was a small gym in the hotel and wished we had more time there. After eating all that delicious Uruguayan food, I would have liked to burn some calories!

Closet space in the rooms are fantastic and there is a safe. We didn't get to use the pool or lounge around outside or downstairs due to lack of time but the outside area looked very inviting and relaxing. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is wonderful ... Beautifully decorated, and very clean. It is located in a very hendy part of Punta ... Breakfast is excellent. I'm not sure what those folks complaining about breakfast want. There was a variety of fruits, cereals, yogurt, breads, drinks, etc. very trendy decour, and close to everything. I will most certainly return here soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is modern and rooms comfortable although I felt I was in a private hospital rather than a hotel. The staff use a strongly scented disinfectant everywhere...corridors, breakfast room etc and we found the smell totally overpowering. Breakfast was very average quality. The atmosphere was cold and the some staff friendlier than others. We ate dinner at the nearby AWA Hotel which was great, for the extra money I wish we had gone there. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado,
Que pena que se haya sentido así. Esperamos poder tomar sus críticas para mejorarnos con huespedes que quedan satisfechos y nos eligen día a día. Muachas gracias y saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Like the last reviewer, please consider the source of this review, North Americans apparently have different expectations of hotels than South Americans. They are not better or worse, just different. The stars given are according to my North American expectations.

Let me begin with the good. Service was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff, both at the desk and the room. The decor was minimalistic, modern, sleek and attractive. The room was a good size for two, and they have very nice curtains that block out light, which is greatly appreciated and something N. American hotels could learn from. Location was good for us, as we don't need to be right on the beach. However, if you do want to go, it isn't difficult to get there in a short period, especially if you drive or take a cab. The nearby shopping mall was a plus for needed items and quick meals.

Now for the regrettable. The prices in the restaurant were out of line even for Punta del Este. There are too many other restaurants to select from, they just should bring their prices downs because in three days I never saw anyone eating in their dining room. The free breakfast was just okay. Several of the morning pastries were stale, the fruit mostly tasteless, and the coffee pot frequently empty. There were a variety of cold cereals which I didn't sample, but those were mainly for the kids. Overall, not awful, not really good.

The real issues came with the room. While bright and spacious, there are no dressers, and maybe this is intentional but space for your clothing seemed lacking. As usual not enough hangers for your clothes but they did have shelves in the closet for whatever. For us, it was not inviting and went mostly unused.

They have a nice computer desk, but no office like chair, only a very low bench which made any laptop use a joke. It was nearly impossible to type with your handa at eye level. Why offer a desk without an appropriate chair? Also for new hotel, there were not enough electric outlets.

The bathroom had a non functional bidet, no kleenex dispenser, and no washcloths. The latter might be a SA thing, we found the same thing in a different hotel. But for the price, one would think they could offer you at least one washcloth? I do have to disagree with other reviewers on the cleanliness of the room. There was residue on the sink counter I could scrape off with my fingernail, the grout in the bath was discolored, bordering on moldy. The pretty bath fixtures were nice buy hard to figure out, esp. on the bidet. The shower had a half glass enclosure which no matter how we tried ended up flooding the entire bathroom. Therefore after every shower I ended up mopping the floor with one of the limited towels that you are offered. One fresh towel we were given had lipstick on it.

The most disturbing issues we found were the occasional smells that seemed to be coming from the air ducts. On several occasions we could smell "electrical burn" and other times something that bordered on raw sewage. I have no idea what it was. This would come and go.

I was impressed with their consideration for the environment, and the careful use of electricity and keeping laundry to a minimum. Overall, this was a very mixed bag.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Sir,
We really appreciate your first clarification. Perceptions are often different depending on the destination of tourists. However, we will consider all your feedback to improve our services. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on its high ranking on trip advisor and the lack of "brand name" hotels in the area. I did not see any American reviewers which worried me from the beginning. I have to say....the hotel is clean... It actually smells like lemon pine sol so strong it's a little overbearing. We paid over $500 a night very last minute. For that I would expect a washcloth, iron and bottle/wine opener in the room. We ordered 4 beers from room service and they arrived without an opener. We asked th to bring...they never did. The next day, I wanted a wine opener to bring a bottle of wine to the beach...they wanted $20 to open the bottle....really??? For a boutique hotel for this price I was disappointed. Very small room with very few amenities. The location is odd. I was suprised to aee very few hotels are on the beach. This is about a 1/2 mile away. Not a taxi town...you need a car. No views. Tonight we move to a suite in the Conrad. I hope that's more in line of what we like. We just left the W in santiago which was awesome. It looks like they are building a Hyatt and trump tower here....I'm not surprised. Great place!! Malibu meets Miami!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sisai Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada,
Gracias por dejarnos su crítica. Si bien son opiniones de punta del este en general, lo que respecta a nosotros es valioso para mejorar. En primer lugar, debería aclarar que somos un hotel de 4 estrellas no 5, aunque intentemos llegar a ello a través de nuestra calidad de servicios. Respecto a las habitaciones, tienen una media de 32m2 y la suite 46m2, una medida amplia pero entiendo que no todos lo lleguen a considerar amplio y menos a comparación de hoteles de cinco estrellas del primer mundo. Es una tristeza que nuestro bello balneario no haya colmado sus expectativas, espero que algun día lo pueda conocer mejor y estoy segura que se irá con una sonrisa en su rostro. Sin más, espero que haya tenido un sereno regreso a EEUU. Saludos de todo el equipo de Sisai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sisai Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisai Hotel Boutique

Address: Av. Pedragosa Sierra y Av. Roosevelt, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sisai Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SISAI Boutique Hotel is located on Pedragosa Sierra Avenue, just steps away from Roosevelt Avenue and in the heart of Punta del Este’s Design District, an area with design boutiques, decoration shops and restaurants known for their author’s cuisine.This spot connects you to everything Punta del Este has to offer: the rough sea of the Brava beach (0.7 km), the calm waters of the Mansa beach (1.1 km), and the many downtown attractions like Gorlero Avenue (1.9 km ), including the Conrad Casino (1km) and Punta Shopping Mall (0.2 km).Spacious lobby - Library and reading lounge - Business Center - Wi-Fi Internet access - Brío Wellness Area: outdoor pool and solarium, indoor pool with hydromassage, Scotch hose, relaxation area, massage room and gym - Indoor parking with valet service - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sisai Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisai Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.