We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but captivating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto de Punta del Este

Puerto de Punta del Este
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Small but captivating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you like the look of old boats and bright colors coupled with the bustle of real fisherman preparing their catches for sale then you'll love a stop of the Port. But you MUST park your car and walk down to the port level or you will miss everything. From the street it appears to be nothing more than a couple of restaurants on the water. Go down the stairs and there is an open air fish market with the freshest catches you'll find anywhere in Punta del Este. Keep walking past the stalls and out towards the small fishing vessels and you'll find a group of sea lions and seals joyfully indulging in the chum that the fisherman throw into the water as they are filleting their fish. If you're a vegetarian I don't recommend it because there are a lot of dead sea creatures about!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    664
    116
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hermosa Playa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Punta del Este is located on a narrow peninsula (about a hours drive from Montevideo) surrounded by the most beautiful beaches and is one of the most fashionable sea-side resorts of South America. Unfortunately I visited Punta Del Este in the winter (I Still enjoyed it thoroughly). It was cold gloomy but the scenery was beautiful. If you are looking for a rugged see holiday this might not be the best place for you unless you want to dive into complete luxury. The beaches are scenic and offers relaxing walks. There are various beaches but make sure to visit either Playa Brava on the Atlantic side or Playa Mansa on the Rìo de la Plata. Be prepared to pay a little more (for restuarants and lodging) in comparison with other places in Uruguay (ex. Montevideo). Punta del Este features world class shopping - get ready to indulge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beach Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Punta De Este was a great time in Uruguay, we had the opportunity to visit the casino at the Hilton Conrad. The one thing is there weren't too many card tables, mostly slots. It was interesting that the casino also took American money as we thought we would be able to see our dollar go much further. Definitely a great city....Uruguay is a great country!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a much-better-than-expected city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just had a day visiting this beautiful city, and I wish I could have stayed there for a couple more days. The Ralli Museum is a must see place. And don't miss Casapueblo too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful place to walk around, watching the fishermen, the yachts and the seals. Beautiful sunsets, and lots of parties.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto de Punta del Este also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Puerto de Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto de Punta del Este, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.