We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo de Tere

Lo de Tere
Rambla del Puerto y calle 21, Punta del Este, Uruguay
00598 42440492
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were about 2/3 through a two week vacation in Buenos Aires and Uruguay and were pleasantly surprised to see some great seafood from the antarctic. The restaurant is a little pricier compared to most Uruguayan restaurants, but the ingredients are more expensive to bring in and worth the price. The service was very attentive - a little more explanation of the dishes would be our only expectation that was not met (although we only we speak limited spanish).

The room could have been much more romantic if the lights were lowered.

I would highly recommend if you are seeking high quality ingredients from southern south america that are not widely distributed to local restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    209
    54
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The restaurant is great. May look expensive at first sight, but they have a nice promotion for the first customers of the night. We were lucky to be the first of that night, and had a 40% discount on the bill (except for alcoholic drinks). The waiters really know what are serving, being able to even explain the dish preparation. I had a great shrimps risotto and my fiancee had a nice dark merlusa, everything so carefully prepared. The wine menu is also interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Argentina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good restaurant at Punta del Este harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I try to go every time I visit Punta del Este. Very nice view of the harbor. The menu chart is not very large, but always well done and served. This time we tried seafood, with a very good uruguayan wine. Tempting desserts. Staff is friendly and attentive. Prices are high, but you can get 20% to 40% rebates arriving early (before 8:30PM).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great choice - go to Lo de Tere while in Punta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The service was impeccable as well as the seafood dishes served. The ambiance is elegant and sophisticated, yet unpretentious. The view is beautiful as well. Great combination! We had a wonderful time with the family.
Plus, if you get there before 1pm for lunch, you get 40% off. Do not miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the very wealthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Gourmand cuisine and a superb wine list. It affords beautiful views of the yachting marina. One of the best restaurants in the country, right by the Ocean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo de Tere also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Lo de Tere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo de Tere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.