We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff to help you, every day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oryx Hotel to your Saves list
Oryx Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great staff to help you, every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is 1st class. Clean, well presented, and extremely friendly. It is the staff that makes the hotel stand out. Always a smile and a kind word, helpful information and willingness to share a laugh. The location is very good. 2 blocks from the Corniche waterside walk. The beaches are spotless, like the rest of the country. There are numerous inexpensive restaurants, grocery stores within walking distance or you can take a quick cab ride to the most expensive places in the world.The hotel is moderately priced, for Abu Dhabi. Taxi is very inexpensive to almost anywhere. A high room facing the city is suggested. Quiet, comfortable and OK.

Room Tip: high room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the very outset, we would like to thank you staying with us. We are really pleased to know that Al Diar Oryx Hotel exceeded your expectations in every way. We appreciate your comments for our staff as they always strive to make every guest's stay totally memorable.

As you have mentioned, Al Diar Oryx Hotel is located in one of Abu Dhabi’s most coveted positions. Whether its business or leisure, we assure to make you enjoy the delights of a fulfilling luxurious stay through spacious and well furnished rooms, elaborate dining options and an elite ambiance. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of patrons like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional level of service, we strive to remain as one of the sought after hotels in the city.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We at the Al Diar Oryx Hotel look forward to your future visit.

Warm Regards
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
13
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having already booked this hotel and noting many of the negative comments on here prior to our departure we(Irish couple) decided to keep an open mind and see what would unfold.We booked in for 10 nights in late November 2012.

What we really wanted was just to relax,do our own thing,no hassle!

Firstly we realised most people's surprise that we were staying for so many nights,most visitors seem to spend 4 or 5 days at most(in Abu Dhabi) ???

Anyway to our hotel experience.

On entering the hotel we were greeted by a smiling concierge & a very polite and helpful man at book in.He said he would give us a room on one of the top floors facing the city(what we hoped for) which was nice.The room itself had a lovely view of the city and was very spacious.It would have been a smoking room as we could detect a faint cigarette smell but this did not discomfort us at all.
Bed was big and very comfy.
I agree totally with people's comments re bathroom water on the floor but I'm sure this is a fault in the design(re door & improper base) rather than a leakage problem.
I can not comment at all on the food service or quality as we never ate here,not by choice but we used the hotel just as a come & go to base,eating out all over the city.
The rooftop pool we dipped in occasionally,it is smallish by pool standards but more than ok when not busy(which suited us fine),only 2 other people there at most, anytime we visited,probably 12-14 sunloungers approx available at any one time.
Room was always cleaned and the 1 problem we had was with a faulty safe.We rang reception and within 15 mins maintenance was at our room checking & solving it.
Any time we requested we requested an extra bottle of water or two or some extra milk for tea & coffee it was always delivered promptly.
We only visited the bar on one night,late!!! yet again the barman was most helpful,friendly and accomodating and though he was obviously about to finish up for the night we were never under any pressure to hurry on .

The free juice & newspapers/magazines in the lobby was also a nice gesture.

To sum up,we have stayed in more expensive hotels in other places where the value & service has fallen seriously short.
From our experience and what we required from this hotel we can honestly say we did not have a single complaint.As we said previously,we cannot comment re restaurant/food quality & service,however, all other staff we met were the most friendly polite and accomodating we have encountered in any hotel.
As check out was 12 oc they also very kindly kept our bags for us free of charge until we collected them at 7pm allowing us to spend our final day out and about.

People differ re priority list they require when staying in a hotel but if your requirements are similar to ours then I would certainly recommend The Oryx.We would have absolutely no problems staying here again.

Room Tip: top floors facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay at the Oryx Hotel. Located in one of Abu Dhabi’s most coveted positions, at Oryx Hotel guests find themselves amidst splendid Arabian Hospitality. The hotel promises its guests with an unforgettable stay while being close to the city and a stone’s throw from the beach. We are proud to know that you enjoyed our services. At Oryx Hotel, we anticipate the needs of our guests, and treat each guest in a unique manner.

With a tinge of Arabian hospitality and modern comfort. We take special care in ensuring that the guests are at ease and get the best out of their vacation. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us on this public forum. We hope to welcome you again at our property.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 5 nights in March 2013. My experience here was not enjoyable at all. The shower and bathroom in general was disgusting. There was mould growing on almost all the surfaces in the bathroom, the shower looked to be unfinished and leaked all over the bathroom floor. When booking this hotel it was advertised as having free wi fi. This is not the case. Internet access for approx $40 US a day! The staff were very rude to us and made us feel very uncomfortable to go through the lobby. They pushed their tours which were almost double what you could find through a different company and when we said no pushed it everytime they saw us and told us how we were making a bad mistake. (Came across threatening) Finally, the hotel claimed to be non smoking, or at least have non smoking levels. This was not the case, people were smoking throughout the hotel with ashtrays provided in a specificly ordered " non-smoking room". The hotel smelt like smoke. Loved Abu Dhabi, did not love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi and the review. We regret deeply that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and the entire experience was not to your liking.

Oryx hotel is located in one of Abu Dhabi’s most coveted positions. Whether it’s for business or leisure, we strive to offer an unforgettable experience in terms of room facilities and amenities. Since guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we strictly choose to employ staff that is well trained and dedicated towards their responsibilities. The inconveniences encountered by you were not intended and seems to be an exception rather than the rule.

We have taken note of the concerns highlighted by you very seriously. Please be rest assured that this will be addressed and rectified immediately. We would definitely prove that we are capable of much better on your next visit to Abu Dhabi. We look forward to hosting you on all your future visits to Abu Dhabi.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 7 nights here.
Good position for the Beach (Corniche). Lots of eating places close by. Easy to get taxi at anytime. Bed was very comfortable. good nights sleep every night - took advice from other trip advisor reviews and asked for a high floor facing city.
The shower in the bathroom was disgusting - mould everywhere, when used water passed under the unsealed door and flooded the rest of the bathroom.
The room was a little uncared for, cup circles on the bedside table and coffee table from previous occupiors which we removed with hand wipes which we always carry around. Spilt tea or coffee had gone down the side of the bedside table at some time and was still there. Just need a proper clean. Slight mould appearing on the ceiling and wall aroud the air conditioning vent.
Only had breakfast on one morning as a lot of people in trip advisor had commented about the poor quality. This was proven, the staff at breakfast were anything but helpful. Breakfast was said to be available from 6am to 10.30. We went at around 9am - no bowls for cereal, asked three times before one was brought to me. No butter, asked twice. Asked for coffee and was served tea. Made to feel uncomfortable. Did not use the restraunt in the evening so cannot comment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and also appreciate that you have pointed out some areas in which you feel we need to improve. It was really very generous of you to give us the opportunity to host you on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi.

Al Diar Oryx Hotel is a conveniently located hotel in Abu Dhabi. Our aim has always been to provide our guests with top class services and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Dubai in a convenient and hassle free way.

Upon receiving your review, we decided to do a full investigation and follow-up on the condition of our rooms to ensure that issues of this nature do not arise in future. We take cleanliness very seriously and wish to thank you for your input. We hope to welcome you on all your future visits to Dubai with a better guest experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days....and for what you get it a bit overpriced. The quality was also marginal at best. It was my first time to Abu Dhabi and I feel like there are probably better options in the same price range available...and it was a little hard to find and you had to walk a few blocks to have a good chance to hail a taxi. I did not dine onsite, so cannot provide feedback on that.

PROS: The air conditioner worked great. Fresh juice in the lobby at all times was a nice treat when going to or coming from the room. The front desk was extremely friendly and attentive...as was room service when we ordered beers to have delivered, they came quickly and were ice-cold.

CONS: The beds were tiny...if you rollover once you are bound to land on the floor. The bathroom was one of the worst I have seen....the shower was covered in mold/mildew (gross!)...come on, spray some bleach or disinfectant once in a while!! The water pressure and temp was fine, but the design of the shower made it leak water all over the place. Had to use the extra towels on the ground to keep from flooding the room. The lights flickered a lot as well...had to jiggle the cords to get it to stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi. We have been striving to provide high-standard amenities and supreme facilities to our guests. At every corner of our property, we strive to meet the requirements of our patrons. Providing a glass of fresh juice in the lobby is just a small part of our services which adds a charm to our guests’ stay.

However, we note that you were not entirely satisfied with the experience. We regret to know about the inconvenience you faced and have forwarded your concerns for appropriate investigation. Thank you for bringing this to our notice, as issued raised by you will help us in strengthening our standard of hospitality. We wish to host you in future and hope to welcome you back for an enhanced stay experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

i passed by the hotel just to take a look it look great and big people smiling and offer assist but the open buffet restaurant the stuff was good but the food quality is not the best and very limited and the dessert section is almost empty it was not good and not bad experience

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Oryx Hotel is counted amongst the best deluxe hotels in Dubai offering multiple fine dining options, so it is disappointing to note that your dining experience with us was not up to the mark. We deeply regret the menu options for the buffet did not impress you. We regret that the services delivered were unable to meet your expected standards. We assure you that this is one of the rarest incidents and the past testimonies reflect on the stature of our property.

Please be assured that we are investigating the concerns raised by you so that we can avoid such instances from happening again. We hope to accommodate you again, in future with amended services.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Nauheim, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The reception staff have no understanding for the guests.
The breakfast is boring and always the same.
My room is dusty because the room cleaner dusted the furniture just once after 4 days.
The homepage ismuch better that what the hotel really is like. The staff speak very poor English and you can hardly understand them.
The room was cleaned everyday late afternoon/early evening.
The rooms though are quite roomy but that is quite normal in all UAE hotels.
The food in the Westside restaurant was not one expects from a 4 Star hotel.
The swimming pool is more or less a small pond. I was really dissappointed and I will never again visit this hotel.
I really just cannot understand how this hotel managed to get 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try to be on the top floors. Rooms facing the city are relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience here. Oryx Hotel is counted amongst the best deluxe hotels in Dubai so it is disappointing to note that your experience with us was not up to the mark.
We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. It’s unpleasant to know that the services delivered were unable to meet your expected standards. We assure you that this is one of the rarest incidents and the past testimonies reflect on the stature of our property.
Please be assured that we are investigating the concerns raised by you so that we can avoid such instances from happening again. We hope to accommodate you again, in future with amended services.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oryx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.