We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very authentic, average Viêt food with poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An

Hoi An
Shangri La Hotel, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
971 2 509 8888
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,618 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
662 reviews 662 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
752 helpful votes 752 helpful votes
“Not very authentic, average Viêt food with poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The numerous dishes we chose (which included several 'signature' dishes) ranged from mediocre to acceptable, with none being memorable. Some were not really Vietnamese! Service was quite slow, and the staff was not knowledgeable. Don't know why this place is so popular; being located inside the Shangri La helps. In any country in Asia, the US, or France, at this price level it would have failed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unsure!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a set dinner with a colleague one evening (Hanoi and Shanghai set menu's) Not the best and didn't feel too good the next day, and neither did my work colleague. May or may not have been the food which looked pretty much exactly the same for the 2 different set menu's. Give it a try and see what you think.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Consistently good most of the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been dining at this restaurant whilst on holiday in Abu Dhabi for over three years. Our first experience was just terrible, we had drinks and waited and waited for the main course, must have been about 45 minutes and no food. We then left.

Since them we have been back several times, and the food is great, and the service has improved.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm a big fan of Vietnamese cuisine and Hoi An gives justice to it. I specially loved the lemingrass sorbet servede between the apetizer and main course.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese in UAE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Vietnam several times I can tell you this place has got it right. Great service and wonderful food. The staff are so friendly! Sir outside in the winter it is so great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.