We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back for the 15th year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ground Floor, Beach Rotana Hotel & Towers, Street # 10 | Al Zahiyah (Tourist Club Area), Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 644 3011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 1,618 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Trader Vic's is a French Polynesian restaurant and bar which specializes in Island cuisine and tropical cocktails in an exotic atmosphere.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Coming back for the 15th year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have always enjoyed the tiki island crossover style despite the touch of kitsch. This has always been one of the better in the Trader Vic chain. A lively bar, a slightly noisy band lets you enjoy your Navy Grog, with some Cosmo or Island tidbits while deciding between filet, indonesian rack of lamb or the local hammour. They have kept the normal wine prices slightly more moderate than some of the other international hotels, but it is quite possible to challenge your credit card as well. Always tries to get a visit when in Abu Dhabi even though the choice of restaurants is much larger now than when it opened in the 90s.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Haade,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic's.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    96
    42
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Still totally amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been dining at Trader Vics since 1997, whilst on holiday in the city, we normally dine here at least twice - and all dining experiences here are totally brilliant.

From the moment you step into the restaurant, there is a great buzz of people sipping one of the many amazing cocktails, Potted Parrot is our favourite, glad to see you now have the beautiful parrots.

The menu is enormous, also great wine menu, difficult to decide what to eat, whatever you decide on it will be fabulous, along with a great bottle of very chilled wine.
We always send our meal here with Crepe Suzettes - totally WHOW!! If you are lucky to dine here when the small band is playing this adds to the electric atmosphere.

Congratulations to the professional staff -your hospitality to guests is fabulous. One of the best restaurants in Abu Dhabi

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Raffiella,

Thank you for your loyalty and continuous support to Beach Rotana Abu Dhabi,

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner. We will make sure to share your comment with our teams.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok food - not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

They have a dress code! Long pants and no sandals for men!! Food was ok - not great. Probably wont go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We do pride ourselves on the services that we offer in the hotel and restaurants

I would like to apologize for the fact that we failed to live up to your expectations on this occasion

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice ambiance with superb food and pleasant staffs. The experience is absolutely astounding. Will definitely come again. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Derar Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review on trip advisor

Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team; as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do.

The Trader Vic's team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Terrible!! They should change the staff for better service!! Since 10 min waiting somebody to deal with us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouadhamade, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nihal,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic's.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the long waiting period to get your Order.

Your feedback has been shared with our Director of food and beverage for immediate investigation and action.

The Trader Vic's team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager
I/C Hotel Apartments
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Vic's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.