We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ground Floor, Beach Rotana Hotel & Towers, Street # 10 | Al Zahiyah (Tourist Club Area), Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+971 2 644 3011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,621 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Trader Vic's is a French Polynesian restaurant and bar which specializes in Island cuisine and tropical cocktails in an exotic atmosphere.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were welcomed with light, Latin music at the door. There was a nice, casually social ambiance; not crowded that night which was good. Our waitress was attentive, food was great if somewhat pricey (we had the baked shrimps) and we enjoyed our drinks. Service seemed to be very good, on the whole - staff came up to ask how we like the food, drinks, etc. The only thing I'd suggest for improvement would be to have a separate area (preferably outside) for the smokers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouadh, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear amaranth_12,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic”s.

Your compliments will definitely be shared with our team; as such flattering remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in everything that we do.

i have taken your smoking feedback on board

The Trader Vic”s team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager I/C Suites

Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    87
    39
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Need a new bartender...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been to this place 3 times on the past 2 weeks.
Every visit order the same drinks and got completely different drinks (sometime too strong another time to weak...)
Place look cold and staff not too friendly,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouadh, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Raffs05,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic”s.

I have noted your comments related to consistency in making and serving drinks as well as for the staff, and have been addressed with the concerned Department Head for immediate action

The Trader Vic”s team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager I/C Suites

Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tiki Puka Puka Tiki Puka Puka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Rum rum rum rum in all its punchy glory. Cant go wrong here! Get here early to get a table! Salsa on Friday nights and rum every night!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouadh, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear DivineMrsE,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic”s.

The Trader Vic”s team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager I/C Suites

Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrific Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a couple of drinks here and one night - Argentinian type tango (maybe Cuban) but absolutely fantastic live band and dancing bby the patrons

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouadh, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear helenamike ,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Trader Vic”s.

The Trader Vic”s team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards,

Fouad Hamade
Executive Assistant Manager I/C Suites

Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi U.A.E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant. Grand service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I just arrived in Abu Dhabi and wanted to explore the city. My colleague insisted on taking me to Trader Vic's. Already before the starters were served I found out why he chose this restaurant. Very friendly staff, great cocktails and tasty food. The bar area is with athmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme U, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Lielalau,

Thank you for your recent feedback following your experience in Trader Vic's.

It's alwasy pleasing to receive positive comments on our cocktails and service levels.

We trust that you enjoyed your trip to Abu Dhabi and take back some fond memories.

The team and I look forward to welcoming back.

regards,

Graeme Ure
Executive Assistant Manager I/C Food and Beverage
Beach Rotana
P.O.Box 45200 Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Vic's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.