We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Shashimi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Japanese Cuisine

Wasabi Japanese Cuisine
Al Meena Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+97126778415
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 1,615 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Shashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is by far the best shashimi that I had in UAE. Although a bit pricey, the freshness of the food is worth paying for. Reservation is require especially over weekend. If you are driving, finding a car park lot will be a bit troublesome though.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Once was enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Being big sushi and Japanese cuisine lover, I was pretty excited when I heard many high recommendations for Wasabi. So I went and I was trying hard to find out what people really enjoy about this place.

Pros:
- nice Japanese seating style and decorations
- friendly waitress

Cons:
- miso soup of almost watery consistency missing its flavor
- fish quality so so
- sushi rice was over-boiled
- in one of the salmon rolls I found a piece of bone (that never happened to me before in any sushi restaurant all over the world!!!)
- poor vegetarian choices and sadly limited desert option

I left with empty wallet for very average to poor quality of food which has very far to the real Japanese.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The only Japanese restaurant in Abu Dhabi that you can see Japanese expats dining. Authentic and great service. The only problem here is the parking and the constructions here and there, but that wll not put us off from having dinner here. Its a must should you be craving for Japanese meal! :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Japanese Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Okay, the hotel that Wasabi is in looks like it hasn't been renovated in 30 years, and I wonder who stays there, but this little restaurant is great. Traditional Japanese fare made by poeple who know what they're doing, great selection of sake, and the set lunches are a bargain. Extensive library of Manga comics too...some in English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shabby but brilliant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The place feels a little worn around the edges but the design is authentic the service is good and the food is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Wasabi Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.