We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese Izakaya outside of Tokyo and LA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Japanese Cuisine

Wasabi Japanese Cuisine
Al Meena Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
+97126778415
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 1,618 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Izakaya outside of Tokyo and LA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I don't think it's the fact that I live in a country where there's no pork that made this place so amazing. The ambience is as if you were in a japanese restaurant, with a whole bookshelf of japanese manga. Food portions are wonderful, and prices weren't too expensive. Pork kakuni was to die for. It just melts in your mouth...

We stayed in Abu Dhabi for 3 days, and went here twice. Must visit if you're into authentic japanese food!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“One of the best Japanese restaurants I have ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My friend who lives in Abu Dhabi invited me to Wasabi for a dinner and what a treat it was. The maki roll selection was huge and all that we ordered tasted very nice. The ingredients were obviously top shelf and authentic. This is not a cheap place to eat but it is worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Wasabi is our regular sushi joint in Abu Dhabi. It is a bit out of the way, and with the ongoing road construction in front of the hotel somewhat difficult to access, but nonetheless, always worth a trip.

This is probably one of the cheaper sushi options in town that serves alcohol and it never disappoints. Sushi is excellent, fresh and comes at a good value. I hear that their margaritas are also amazing.

Two people can get out of there for under 200 AED including drinks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I make sure to visit Wasabi whenever I come to Abu Dhabi. I tend to pick one of the private booths near the entrance but some of the low tables at the back are very nice. The food is just divine and it is fantastic value especially the lunch menu. That includes a main dish, miso soup, noodles, salad, desert and vegetables for under AED 100 or GBP 16. I would particularly recommend the Sashimi Bento and the Chicken Teriyaki from the lunch menu. The service is generally very good and they have bells on the table if you need someone straight away. For two people our bill is usually AED 300 or GBP 50, and that is always more than we can finish.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“decent sushi but bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If i had to pick between Toki and Wasabi - i would pick Toki. The location is much better than Wasabi. The service wasn't great when we went. Even when we rung for service it took forever. Sushi is good but still expensive!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Wasabi Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.