We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sax Restaurant & Club

Sax Restaurant & Club
Le Royal Meridien, Khalifa Street, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
02 697 9000
Improve this listing
Ranked #631 of 1,583 restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“always welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very attractive and interesting bar and very nice ambience!

The wine list is pretty much based on the wines of the New World and in my opinion would be a little work on it required

Cocktails are interesting but the decorations are a bit old-fashioned

Staff very friendly!

DJ plays really good music and the crowd that comes to Sax is not the cheap one so that you can enjoy the privacy and you will not feel disturbed

Often, we are guests in Sax Club and will continue to be...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    6
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't expect actual jazz”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went here hoping for a nice night out at a jazz outlet, certainly NOT what we experienced. We got there at about 10 and it was completely empty, which we thought odd. There was a club-type CD on but there was a stage with keyboard set up. Seating areas looked modern and well placed for larger groups. The waitstaff was attentive and pleasant, and when we inquired when the music would start, they informed us that there was an Arabic DJ performance that night, not starting until late. Club DJ wasn't the scene we were looking for, so we only stayed for one drink and left. We were really disappointed because we thought it was a jazz bar (as it is advertised as such). Prices were very reasonable and probably a good place for large groups.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ladies night @ Sax”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

In short - awful DJ, won't allow you to dance rapidly changing the tracks without any idea about somehow mixing similar tracks.
Second - the bar, expensive compared to other places and they won't even mix correct cocktails. Instead of long island ice tea you'll get 40 grams of unknown alcohol mix filled with huge amount coca-cola and ice. No respect to clients.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Abu Dhabi - it is very difficult to trust restaurant reviews. Most review outlets are simply mouthpieces. Have you ever seen a bad review on Timeout Abu Dhabi for example? Neither have I, which is strange seeing that I only consider 2 or 3 restaurants in Abu Dhabi worth visiting.

Sax is NOT one of them. I would NOT recommend it to anyone

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ambience - good place to relax rather than party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Classy and soothing atmosphere. Staff is friendly. Food and drinks are average - nothing special.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sax Restaurant & Club also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sax Restaurant & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sax Restaurant & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.