We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a keeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's a keeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last Easter and am returning again for Easter this year. Booked a suite for my wife and I and a superior room for my wife's parents which was changed at check in to one of the apartments. Rooms were fantastic and the apartment was in a quiet location a short walk from the main hotel which was great. We dined in a couple of the hotels restaurants and they were excellent.
I used the gym in the leisure club and it was top class.
Hotels in the UAE offer are to a high standard and the shangri-la is one of the better ones. I had a great time here and can't wait to go back at Easter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    214
    70
    25
    12
See reviews for
293
572
47
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were sad to leave the Shangri-La Hotel, we have spent 7 lovely days here and have enjoyed it all. Our room 413 was fantastic, thank you for giving us a room with a view of the Mosque as we requested, it was appreciated as was the cake left in our room for my birthday.
The staff were all great, friendly and helpful without ever been too much.
The pool and beach areas are beautifully kept.
We ate at the Buffett restaurant, pool bar and Pearls and Caviar, and enjoyed each experience. It was always a pleasure to be greeted by Rashid at the pool each day with his smile and service.
Breakfast, well what can I say, the Buffett went on for ever, the choices were amazing and the food was always fresh and delicious.
If you get the chance to stay at this hotel then do, we leave feeling relaxed and spoilt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing week at this excellent hotel. Attentive and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is clean and well looked after. We would be very happy to recommend it and we are very fussy about hotels!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I chose to stay with Shangri-La Abu Dhabi, because of all the good comments here on tripadvisor. Unfortunatly, my experience was not as good. I'm holder of the Essence Card, a loyalty program which gives you 20% discount on room bookings. I contacted the reservation desk via mail several times, to book my room with the 20% discount, but never got a reply. Because I suppose they were busy, I tried to give them a call. During this telephone conversation I was promised to receive a reply and rates on the rooms directly. Again, I didn't receive an email. At the end of the day, I finally received a reply. I got to hear that the hotel was fully booked. I was very dissapointed, because I was already trying to contact them one week. But the most beautiful part was, that when I checked on the website of Shangri-La, there were still many rooms available. When I replied this to them, I again had to wait 5 hours for a reply. The next excuse was, that they could not give me the discount because there was high occupation during the period I wanted to stay. I'm very dissapointed by this service, I subscribed for this loyalty program because I planned to stay a lot with Shangri-La/Traders. I don't think that don't replying on emails, just to postpone and don't give the discount, is the kind of service you can expect for a 5 star hotel. I heard many good things about the Shangri-La Abu Dhabi, but unfortunatly I cannot confirm the good service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Marie 07038, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as the event unfolded regarding your room reservation. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and annoyance brought about this incident. I would like to know more about your experience and hope you can get in touch with me via email at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com. I look forward to hear from you. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a very short (3 days), but most enjoyable stay here, if you need a bit of TLC and a rest, this is the place to go to, gorgeous room overlooking the pool and beach, HEAVENLY smelling toiletries, view of the magical mosque from your bedroom window, delicious breakfasts, eucalyptus scented cold towels given out whilst relaxing by the pool, along with courtesy fruit juice, fresh fruit, sunglasses being cleaned, and attentive pool side staff. 10/10 English High tea, lovely evening meals. Attentive, happy, and very polite staff. I could not fault it and WANT TO GO BACK!! Lovely experience ....

Room Tip: We had a beach view room, overlooking the smaller of the pools, room no. 436. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had a short but enjoyable stay at the Shangri-La. ! Though I had to fo through a very busy and tiring day, the hotel, its people and the surroundings made my stay an enjoyable experience!Top value for money!


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our honeymoon. As with most Shangri-La's that I've stayed at the hotel and service is fantastic. The food was brilliant with plenty of choice, they staff very helpful and the room lovely. We had a great night at the roof top bar which they take you to via a golf cart; I can't remember the name but worth asking about and going to for a late drink with some good DJs - the toilets are very impressive with the mosaic tiles! The attached mall isn't very big but worth a wander around and the gym and nearby pool was well equipped. The staff by the beach were great - especially the regular delivery of ice cold flannels!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.