We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer BAR with Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai
1 review
“Excellent and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel and fantastic rooms and service. Pastries at breakfast were divine. Great swimming pools and beach. Fantastic location and view- would definitley come back to this hotel. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    161
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
207
411
35
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I had planned to utilise our remaining free nights with the Shangri-la Golden Circle loyalty programme, and then ditch both our membership accounts with a loyalty programme that had repeatedly left us very disappointed and frustrated. Things however did not go according to plan.

We stayed in the executive suite, which was pretty much the “template” Shangri-la suite, just like what we had seen on previous trips. There was however a big difference elsewhere—the service level in the Horizon Club lounge.

From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out, the team at the Horizon Club were wonderful. They were very hospitable, helpful and friendly. On top of offering assistance to make our stay in the hotel comfortable, we were also offered very useful advice on where to visit in the city and how to get there etc.

Something that left a deep impression on me was when we offered a tip, we were actually declined. This is probably the first time I have ever encountered a situation when I had wanted to tip a service staff and the tip was declined. To say I was impressed would be an understatement. In the end, we bought a pack of chocolates from the nearby grocery store and gave it to the team as a gift, in lieu of the tip.

Every staff member in the Horizon Club tried very hard to ensure a comfortable stay for the guests. Despite having to work for what we observed to be rather long hours, they always had a ready smile for everyone, and were always obliging with requests. When they had a little time for a breather, they would be chatting with guests and trying to make everyone feel welcome. It felt almost like we were visiting friends at their home rather than staying at a hotel. That was the level of hospitability we experienced. I would say that it was the team at this hotel’s Horizon Club which made us re-consider our decision to ditch our memberships, and to perhaps give Shangri-la another chance.

The service members at the other parts of the hotel were also great. There was a gentleman who went around the beach and pool area offering to clean the guests’ sunglasses, although we declined his offer. There was also a lady stationed at the infinity pool who was very helpful, and who offered help with little favours like offering to help with pictures without even being asked.

Although individually, almost every staff member we came across tried hard to perform his or her duty well, we however observed that the hotel was probably short of manpower. Whether in the Horizon Club or elsewhere, like in the restaurants, we sometimes faced difficulty trying to attract the attention of the service staff as all of them were simply too busy.

There was also an incident which got me rather upset. We understand that valet staff at locations like these get bored driving the guests’ bulky 4x4s day in and day out, and when a somewhat exotic car comes along, they might get excited. However, I thought it was very unprofessional when I saw that the valet gentleman who helped to retrieve my car accelerated heavily, turned the bend sharply and braked very abruptly right in front of me. And he wasn’t in a hurry that morning, because I was the only person waiting at the porch for my car at that moment.

Facilities/amenities wise, this hotel was fine. It was pretty much the usual Shangri-la stuff. The gym was, however, considerably small compared with what we had seen in the other Shangri-la properties, and the spa (and its staff) also did not look too impressive, and we decided to drop the idea after having walked over. It did however have a nice souk in the adjacent building which offered souvenirs at surprisingly affordable prices, compared with what we had seen in the city centre. We ended up filling up an entire luggage bag with souvenirs from the souk. The boat service between the hotel and the souk however faced the same problem of inadequate resources, and after it passed us thrice without having any room left for us to board, we gave up trying to wait, but walked back to the hotel lugging the bags of souvenirs we had bought.

Overall, this is a good place to stay in as the service personnel do try their best to make sure guests are comfortable, especially during the less busy periods when they are not overwhelmed, I guess. However, for people who want to be close to the city centre, there will be some travelling involved, as the hotel is some distance away from the city centre, and transport might be a little of a hassle if you do not drive, even though the hotel provides a shuttle service (it takes about an hour to do a round trip with the hotel shuttle, which runs at limited timings).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Mel_Sg, thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. Your kind comments certainly warmed our hearts! There is nothing more inspiring and motivating for service providers like us than to receive acknowledgment that we have done well. I am happy to share your comments with the team and with a tip of my hat congratulate them for a job well done.
On another note please accept our apologies for the way the valet parkers handled your car. Your observation is duly noted and rest assured your comments will be used as a tool for service improvement.
We hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel Qaryat Al Beri Abu Dhabi soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Agree with most other reviewers - grand public areas, comfortable rooms, great views. What really stood out for us was the charming, smiling service from everyone we encountered - makes such a difference.

Location very good with the souk & its restaurants only a few minutes stroll away. We enjoyed walking along the beach promenade to Traders Hotel where there is a pretty beach bar with tented cabanas that can be reserved & your bar bill booked to your room at the Shangri-la.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with the most superb staff. Everyone we spoke to throughout our week could not have been nicer, more helpful, welcoming or pleasant, this applied to everyone from gardeners, pool staff, housekeeping, restaurant staff and management.

The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean.

We ate at the hotels multiple restaurants every night if a five night stay and had great food every night, the seafood restaurant was particularly good.

Overall a superb experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just spent 5 glorious nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. No wonder this is a flag-ship within the Shangri-La group. All the staff from the cleaners to the management are extremely polite, happy and very professional . I cannot fault a single person working at this hotel.

We don't often return to the same place but this is one that will definitely be on our list to return to one day.

Hats off to the General Manager Mr.Arbind K Shrestha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Wol, thank you very much for the great review! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team as there is certainly nothing more motivating to a service provider than to be acknowledged for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back to your "home away from home" soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This group really focus on service, and it shows. All the staff incredibly accommodating and helpful.
We had a lovely large room with an enormous comfortable bed and balcony overlooking one of the pools and beach.
Special mention must go to Thor, who amused my 12-year-old daughter for hours on the beach with all his kids' club activities.
The only downside of the stay was the terrace eating. Service was slow, and incredibly they have erected cabanas by the side of the pool which block the view of the mosque. Madness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Rubybirkenhead, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. It truly is heartwarming to read kind comments such as yours from our valued guests. We have also taken good note of your comments with regards to the cabanas at the side of the infinity pool. Rest assured we will take your comments into consideration when the time comes to review the structure. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shangri-La in AD and was completely satisfied with every aspect of the experience. The service staff are the most kind, helpful, attentive of any hotel in the world. The location was good, the view of the grand mosque across from the hotel is breath-taking, the food is excellent and it was great to have the souk right at the hotel for a little shopping (since this was a business trip). Be sure and take your bathing suit, even if it is a business trip, because the spa and roof top pool are wonderful.

Room Tip: As you are escorted to your room upon arrival, ask the staff person to point out the light switch, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 214 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.