We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate with charming service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top rate with charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Agree with most other reviewers - grand public areas, comfortable rooms, great views. What really stood out for us was the charming, smiling service from everyone we encountered - makes such a difference.

Location very good with the souk & its restaurants only a few minutes stroll away. We enjoyed walking along the beach promenade to Traders Hotel where there is a pretty beach bar with tented cabanas that can be reserved & your bar bill booked to your room at the Shangri-la.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    177
    58
    19
    10
See reviews for
246
480
39
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel, with the most superb staff. Everyone we spoke to throughout our week could not have been nicer, more helpful, welcoming or pleasant, this applied to everyone from gardeners, pool staff, housekeeping, restaurant staff and management.

The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean.

We ate at the hotels multiple restaurants every night if a five night stay and had great food every night, the seafood restaurant was particularly good.

Overall a superb experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just spent 5 glorious nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. No wonder this is a flag-ship within the Shangri-La group. All the staff from the cleaners to the management are extremely polite, happy and very professional . I cannot fault a single person working at this hotel.

We don't often return to the same place but this is one that will definitely be on our list to return to one day.

Hats off to the General Manager Mr.Arbind K Shrestha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Wol, thank you very much for the great review! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team as there is certainly nothing more motivating to a service provider than to be acknowledged for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back to your "home away from home" soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This group really focus on service, and it shows. All the staff incredibly accommodating and helpful.
We had a lovely large room with an enormous comfortable bed and balcony overlooking one of the pools and beach.
Special mention must go to Thor, who amused my 12-year-old daughter for hours on the beach with all his kids' club activities.
The only downside of the stay was the terrace eating. Service was slow, and incredibly they have erected cabanas by the side of the pool which block the view of the mosque. Madness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Rubybirkenhead, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. It truly is heartwarming to read kind comments such as yours from our valued guests. We have also taken good note of your comments with regards to the cabanas at the side of the infinity pool. Rest assured we will take your comments into consideration when the time comes to review the structure. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shangri-La in AD and was completely satisfied with every aspect of the experience. The service staff are the most kind, helpful, attentive of any hotel in the world. The location was good, the view of the grand mosque across from the hotel is breath-taking, the food is excellent and it was great to have the souk right at the hotel for a little shopping (since this was a business trip). Be sure and take your bathing suit, even if it is a business trip, because the spa and roof top pool are wonderful.

Room Tip: As you are escorted to your room upon arrival, ask the staff person to point out the light switch, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fantastic stay, in a fantastic location
The residences give all the benefits of being in a hotel, with the flexability to look after yourself if required; fantastic if you have a 5 year old with you
Hotel staff and facilities are great, after a day in the hotel, everyone knew our 5 year old son and made us all feel very welcome and part of the 'family'
I felt very comfortable letting my son play with the recreational team, play on the beach and play in the pools knowing the staff were so attentive
We can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at the Shangri-La Hotel in Abu Dhabi was a truly outstanding experience. We have been most fortunate to stay at some beautiful places in many different parts of the world. As much as we appreciate all the comforts that a truly 5* luxury hotel should provide, it really comes down to the service experience provided by all levels/departments of the hotel staff.

From the moment my wife and I arrived, we were made to feel like welcomed guests coming home again (it was our first trip to Abu Dhabi). The check-in process could not have been smoother and what is always a nice touch, a member of the front desk personally escorted us to our room. We were given a room overlooking the pool area and in the distance (through the palm trees) we could look out over to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, a magnificent structure - especially when seen all lit up at night.

The size of the room was on the small size, but nicely decorated. The bathroom was very large (it seemed it was about half the size of the actual bedroom!) with a separate toilet, tub and shower stall. The hotel provided complimentary in-room Wi-Fi service - a big plus for a 5* hotel, as most hotels in this category seem to charge for in-room internet connectivity.

Given Shangri-La's Asian pedigree, on the first night a beautiful basket containing a freshly brewed pot of tea along with Chinese tea cups is provided as part of the turn-down service.

Strange as it may seem, it turned out that our most memorable experiences were at breakfast each morning! The buffet breakfast was superb, with every imaginable item offered; the quality of the food was as equally impressive as its presentation. However, what set our breakfast experience apart was the kindness of the staff. We really appreciate the opportunity to engage hotel staff in conversation. More than being wonderful conversationalists, they were without exception top notch professionals who were well trained in their various responsibilities. There was no air of pretentiousness in the way they engaged us and other guests. One unique aspect of the breakfast service was the fact that they had a gentleman who came around the dining room with a cart of freshly made smoothies in all manner of varieties. He personally makes all of them and there is even a "smoothie of the day".

The pool areas are very nice; the beach is clean and there is an attentive staff to assist with beach chairs and providing a cooler of cold water. Kindly note, however, that this is not a "beach resort" as the hotel is not located directly on the Persian Gulf, but rather on the waterway (the Khor Al Maqta) that separates the mainland side of the city (where the hotel is located) from Abu Dhabi Island.

The hotel provides a complimentary "abra" (water taxi) service that operates along a very "Venice-like" canal which connects the Shangri-La Hotel to the Souk Qaryat Al Beri and to the Trader's Hotel (which is part of the Shangri-La group, but is more of a mid-level 4* hotel property).

Our departure from the hotel was just as impressive as was our arrival. This hotel will "stay with us" for a very long time.

Room Tip: Try to request a room which overlooks the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Boeing747-8I, on behalf of the team, I wish to extend my sincere appreciation to you for staying with us and for the opportunity given to be of service to you. On the same note thank you for taking the time to share your staying experience through TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to read your kind compliments on our hotel services, facilities and colleagues. I am very happy to share your comments with team as this will motivate them even more to provide excellent service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 214 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.