We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun!
Ranked #3 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our second Shangri-La Hotel and I was concerned it might not be as special as our first Shangri-La Hotel experience in Oman. I should have not worried. The service, staff, facilities and attitude of the entire hotel was amazing. The were a variety of excellent restaurants to choose from, the food are wonderful and well price and the overall ambience was perfect. We used several services including the spa, swimming pool, and concierge service. To a person, the staff was professional, courteous and treated us as though we were their only guests. We thoroughly enjoyed the newly operating Horizon Club for breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening drinks. It is the first time we ever felt like we would miss the people. They were that special. The Shangri-La is that special. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    140
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
172
341
28
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am attending a training session and am absolutely wow-d with the food quality, service and ease of connection to wifi in the meeting rooms. This is why the Shang is so wonderful. My hands were full and the staff step in to fill my coffee cup. Simple things always impress. I'm writing this now from the meeting room, illustrates that their wifi works!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel as though we were the most important guests they had. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful, this hotel really lives up to the standard I have come to expect from the Shangri-La group.
We booked a horizon club room and had a wonderful view of the mosque. The horizon club staff were outstanding, breakfasts were delicious.
I will stay again when next visiting Abu Dhabi. A big thankyou to all the staff that made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the mosque is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to have a weekend break and selected this hotel. As it was coming up to the weekend I selected on impulse and having not stayed at this group before thought I would give it a go. As we drove from Dubai to Abu Dhabi the lack of signage directing you here is breathtakingly sparse so much so that we found the hotel more by luck than judgement.
When we checked in on Thursday evening it would have been good if we had been told that the French Restaurant would be unavailable on the Friday night due to a Gala dinner as we would have selected that, however as we were unaware we went for the Chinese which it transpired was fully booked so instead went for the Vietnamese which was very good, but tonight we are stuck as its Vietnamese again or a buffet.The rooms are very good although getting to them can be a bit of a walk and going down instead of up in the elevator was a new experience. The breakfast is very poor and the selection minimal and asking staff 5 times for tea and coffee in a very empty breakfast room wore a little thin. The beach is very small however the constant drone of jet ski's and speed boats can get very irritating. The Hotel may well say this is beyond there control but when you want to relax its impossible to do. Getting a drink or food can also be a pain as there is no one around. The sun beds are also very uncomfortable. So in summing up its ok not great. I would'nt come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you cottageDubai_UAE for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you have found your stay to be disappointing for we serve thousands of satisfied customers. In your case, we seem to have failed and we are truly sorry we have let you down. Please feel welcome to let us know if you plan to visit us once again in Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really is something else. We booked a six night stay in a Horizon club room to take advantage of the afternoon tea and cocktail hour. We arrived late on the first evening and were met at the airport and taken straight to our room for check in which was seamless.
The next day we went to breakfast in the Horizon Club lounge and were greeted by the friendliest, happy, people we have ever met, they all showed a genuine interest in both of us and knew our names as soon as we got there. The service was outstanding for the whole six days.
We have stayed in several Shangri La Hotels around the world and the staff at this one went above and beyond the call of duty nearly every day, going out of their way to help us enjoy our stay.
The afternoon tea is great out on the balcony with a selection of sandwiches, canapés and cakes bought to you on a cake stand with coffee / tea.
Cocktail hour 6 - 8pm is the same, some great canapés cold and hot and a wide selection of alcoholic beverages. Special mention must go to Ibrahim, Princess, Theint, Cherry, Tuan, Raman and the Horizon Manager Kopila for their fantastic level of service.
We spent the days lounging around the pool being looked after by the excellent recreation team. Thank you to Thor and Fatima they truly go out of their way to make you feel valued and special, I am already missing having my sunglasses cleaned with a smile from Thor.
We ate in the Indonesian restaurant one night and the food was lovely. Other nights we went to the nearby souk (golf cart ride is available if you need it but it's not far). If you like Indian food a trip to Ushna is a must. The Meat Co do the best burgers I have ever eaten.
The disabled access is very good, all pools have hand rails with gently reclining steps, there are ramps at all entrances and as already mentioned if you have problems walking golf cars are available to take you round the hotel grounds.
Our flight was leaving early in the morning, we were given a late check out 6pm but were still able to use the Horizon lounge until 10.30 when we were being collected by taxi. The Horizon staff member on duty helped us down to reception and ensured that we left without any hiccups.
We will definitely be going back sooner rather than later.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only a short stay unfortunately (just an overnight) but I loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful when I checked in and out and the process was as painless as possible. The room was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. An amazing view of the mosque from the room. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in some wonderful hotel around the world, but without doubt this experience topped every other. The hotel was spotless and had a calm elegance about it. Service was amazing and the staff really cared about the guests and their experience. We stayed in an executive suite and were able to use the horizon club facilities, which were relaxed and impressive. Restaurants were good but expensive. Great 5 night break in a wonderful hotel, we will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 214 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.