We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious living Shangri-La Residences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer BAR with Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious living Shangri-La Residences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a Simulation GuestThe Shangri-La Residences (22-6-2008).
Luxurious living

with 5-star services

The Shangri-La Residences are set within the 8.5 hectare complex of the hotel. They are connected to all the facilities via the hotel's waterway abras (gondolas) and a club car.

The architecture is Arabian and the décor is modern, providing a pleasing sense of warmth and freedom throughout. All units are sea facing with either a terrace or a balcony, with views of the ocean or pools.

The accommodation ranges from studios to four-bedroom apartments. Residence dimensions:

Studios (46 to 78 sqm)
One-bedroom residence (66 to 102 sqm)
Two bedroom residence (112 to 123 sqm)
Three bedroom residence (176 to 195 sqm)
Four-bedroom residence (195 to 232 sqm)

The Residences are managed by the hotel so each guest will experience Shangri-La hospitality first-hand within this exclusive setting.

For enhanced comfort, the units comprise living rooms, kitchen and en-suite bathrooms for each bedroom.
Benefits and Services

Separate lobby
Housekeeping services
Use of the fitness centre and pools
Restaurant signing privileges
Private parking
Easy access to the Souk
Concierge services
Security surveillance
Room service
Abras station for ease of access around the complex

If you need to feel what the Luxurious really means Visit Shangri-La Residences

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    155
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
194
391
33
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent one night here after our 2 nights at Qasr al Sarab in the Liwa Desert. After a slightly disappointing stay at Qasr al Sarab (due to the service and food selection) we were pleasantly surprised with this Shangri La and really enjoyed our stay. We are a family of 5 (kids aged 8, 6, & 3) and stayed in the Executive Suite and it was fantastic. Very large and beautiful. This hotel has great service and we were pleased with everything from the teddy bears they gave the children to the pool to the restaurants. My favorite thing about it though is the view of the Grand Mosque.....absolutely beautiful! Definitely take the time to visit the mosque. If I go back to Abu Dhabi, I would choose this hotel again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I stay here for work at least 20 nights a year for the last 4 years. You might think that I would get bored or tired with the same hotel, but far from it. The service and facilities just keep getting better and better. The hotel has lots going on and is near a Souk with many restaurants if you want a change, however the choice of dining within the hotel is first rate. Staff could not be more obliging and everything is first class. I have stayed in many hotels in the Region and this one is simply the best
Thank you ShangriLa AD.
Andy Carmichael

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff at this hotel are excellent, we had a lovely warm welcome when we arrived and from then on the staff could not do enough for you. We ate at 3 of the restaurants, Bord Eau, although pricey the food was absolutely amazing, my husband went for a four course blind tasting menu which was a bit risky as you don't know what your going to get but they take you food dislikes etc into account, and he was not disappointed as all 4 courses were amazing. I had fois gras terrine to start and turbot with gnocchi for main which was also amazing. We also ate at Hoi An the Vietnamese restaurant which again was excellent and Pearls and clavier, which we found a little disappointing.
Fabulous views of the mosque which I would recommend a visit to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted a break in a flight from Europe to Australia and were looking for a resort style hotel. We were not disappointed. This is a six star resort but incredible value for money. Definitely recommend upgrading to Horizon Club - do it before or on arrival otherwise you will be switching rooms when you do it. Kopila Reis in the Horizon Club is a real profession and made our stay very enjoyable. As did Princess. Everywhere we went in the resort we found higly professional and friendly staff. The buffet in the Sofa Bld is great value but a bit noisy and they have a smoking section - so ask to sit on the other side of the restaurant until sanity prevails and smoking is banned. Another gripe is children in the pools. There are two pools - why not make one for children/familes and the other (a magnificent Infinity Pool looking across to the Grand Mosque) restricted to adaults? My wife used the Spa and was delighted. Recommend a transfer from the airport - you will feel better turning up in a Merc or BMW than in a taxi or shuttle bus!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Shangri-La in Abu Dhabi left nothing to complain about. Great rooms, great service and great breakfast. I had a big balcony facing the large white mosque across the water, a big and well designed bathroom and a good sized bed. The only con was that I had to shut off the aircon at night, as it seemed to blow lightly but directly on to the bed. All in all, the hotel offers an excellent service level well above average, fast wireless, its own beach and very observant and hospitable staff. Not cheap, but absolutely recommendable. The location is not central to Abu Dhabi. Except for a small souk by the hotel, the next shops are a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The check-in staff apologised several times for the slow check in as a huge number of people were checking out, however it took only about 5 mins which I thought was rather quick in comparison to a lot of hotels.
Our room was really nice, huge balcony and lovely big bathroom.
Pool area was good, attentive staff, nice cocktails. Only criticism was that the pool was a bit too chilly, you had to brace yourself to get in.
Nice pre-dinner drink in the bar followed by the Shang Palace, our favourite restaurant in Abu Dhabi.
Great night's sleep, absolutely silent. Breakfast in Sofra was very good.
Great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 214 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.