We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Al Raha Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Al Raha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Al Raha Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Raha Corniche, Abu Dhabi 38616, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Altogether, Al-Raha Hotel is far below average compared to other hotels in this category. We are a family with two adults and two kids (7, 5). However, we got a room with a double bed and an extra bed for one more person only. We reminded that we booked four persons. Four persons were also shown in the hotel computer when looking into it together with a hotel representative and on our voucher as well. However, we were referred to come back two hours later to find out "what can be done for us". This was after a ten hours travel and the kids were quite tired. After those two hours we called three times at the reception with no reaction. We decided to sleep - meanwhile it was 11.30 pm. -When complaining about this even to the management we got the explanation that in the UAE it is by law not possible to have more than three persons in one room. At the same time, we were offered to buy another extra bed for 116 AED per night - in the same room.
In addition, the "land view" rooms are next to the Abu Dhabi - Dubai highway. Consequently, it is quite noisy, especially during the night. Certainly, the location next to the highway was nowhere mentioned when booking this facility.
Most important point: we never experienced such a persistant customer-hostile orientation in the UAE. yet. Summary: never again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana A, Director of Sales at Al Raha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Jimmy,

It is our privilege to have you stay with us during your visit to the emirate of Abu Dhabi.

I am very sorry to learn about your disappointment on the way your reservation has been handled. Our kids policy state for 2 kids below 12 years of age should stay on the same parents room either in 2 queen size beds or with 2 extra beds in the Superior room which was booked for you. According to our international tour operators agreements or for direct bookings to the hotel the extra beds are chargeable we’re sorry you have not been properly informed prior to your arrival. To comment also on the land view rooms, probably its just a misunderstood where you book as Superior Room and all these rooms are actually facing the garden or city view, we have the same information published on our web site and to all our partners internationally.

Please be assured that all your comments and feedbacks regarding the check in waiting have been addressed to it will help us a lot if you could write a private message or just reply to our letter with your full details in order to investigate further and to take appropriate actions to prevent any re-occurrence in the future.

We have always placed our guest’s comfort and best interest on our top priority and we are committed to maintain an honest relationship with you as our valued partners. We are earnestly hoping that the above matter will not undermine our trademark of excellent hospitality in both our services and facilities, but instead, your trust and confidence will enable us to continue in serving you and your guests with unwavering dedication at all times.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

With my best regards
Diana Ancuta
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    135
    41
    28
    17
See reviews for
171
179
24
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having not been away for 5 years we (husband, 2 Children 4 & 2 ) went on a 10 night holiday to the Al Raha beach.hotel. We wanted to avoid the tourist season of the summer holidays and avoided all usual holiday destinations. We had a fantastic time. The facilities were ideal, the pools were amazing and the staff were SO attentive. They love kids, enabling us to lie by the pool whilst the pool staff entertained the kids in & out of the water. The kids club was just enough to keep them occupied for a couple of hours a day. Not being a prime family destination, the kids went to the club whenever they wanted (they were asking!)or when it suited. It was staffed as and when required. This allowed us to play squash, go to the gym or just relax by the pool or in the room without children.
The room & bathroom were huge. All of us got in the bath together :-)
The food was incredible. On a half board basis, we had a late breakfast and an evening meal and a few snacks in between; Fruit available round the hotel all day. Supermarket next door in the mall. The hotel restaurant was buffet style which suited the kids. An amazing selection of international cuisine with specialist theme nights. Seafood night was lobster, prawns, scallops etc all cooked to order. Sushi available every night, and the Friday Brunch was brilliant. kids were in heaven.
We had no need to leave the hotel the whole stay but we did venture out to the adjoining shopping mall and took advantage of the courtesy transport to various destinations.
the hotel was exceptionally clean, the staff very attentive and they never failed to serve.
babysitting service available allowing us to have dinner one night alone.
Even the heat was manageable (45 degrees) as air conditioning inside and ice cold flannels supplied round the pool. Finished the holiday with an afternoon in the spa and a 90 minute massage (Hot Stone & Shiatsu) for both myself and husband. The best treatment I have ever had.
This was the perfect holiday to indulge in family time, very private and attentive with a lovely focus on the kids making them feel special. Will definitely consider going back but ensure we get direct flights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy and London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a long weekend at this hotel and had fantastic service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The very large room was immaculate, with a balcony over looking the sea. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath (which could have fitted four people), huge fluffy bath sheets, vases full of orchids and numerous complementary toiletries. Bathrobes and slippers are also provided. We were tired when we arrived so ordered room service for lunch. This arrived very promptly, along with a table, white linen tablecloth, flower table display and silver service, the meal was very good. In the evening we had a buffet dinner which was outstanding. We arrived late and were a bit worried they might have run out of choices. This wasn't the case, they kept refilling anything that was running low constantly until the restaurant closed after 11pm. The food was very good, with enormous amount of choice to cater for all tastes. As in most Middle Eastern hotels, the cuisine tends to be International, but always very fresh, beautifully displayed and good enough to satisfy even a critical 'foody'. Having lived in France for over twenty years, I think even difficult French travellers would enjoy eating here. The same could be said about the varied breakfast buffet which was also very good, again as soon as they ran out of anything, it was replaced within minutes. We checked out at mid-day, left our cases with the concierge and spent the afternoon on the beach. Beach towels are provided and if you have checked out you can still use the shower facilities and changing rooms. The small beach is very clean and there is a roped off area in the water surveyed by a life guard. The sea bed gets deep very quickly off shore, but for small children there is a pool with slides adjacent to the beach, shaded by palm trees and there also is a swimming pool with beach bar. The hotel has been under going refurbishment and I understand the final phase is starting on the 1st of October 2012. At the moment wi-fi is available in the public areas, the rooms have cable internet, once the hotel refurbishment is completed wi-fi will be every where. The TV showed films in English with Arabic subtitles.There is a mall next door, which is very basic compared to Dubai standards. The guests appear to be a good mix of International and locals, it's a very friendly hotel. From the beach you can see the AlDar HQ - The world's first circular skyscraper. Whist staying at the hotel I also recommend visiting the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque Abu Dhabi, which is one of the few Mosques open to non-Muslims, it is a wonderful experience the Mosque is beautiful, similar to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My stay in Al Raha Beach Hotel was a disaster. As we checked in I informed the reception that it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we wished to be left alone. For the next 1 hour and 45 minutes the hotel staff called and came to our room no less than 9 times.
During the dinner we were told that the main area is full and therefore we were seated outside. I ended up having to walk around searching for some one to bring us drinks. At the end we walked to the cashier to pay as no one was there for service. The dinner was buffet style but many food trays were finished and no one there to refill.
In the morning breakfast was no different, even the Orange juice was finished.
Terrible Terrible service.
It is obvious that the staff have no idea what they are supposed to do and management are no where to be found, until it is too late and the customer is already complaining.
Stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. Service is very very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have lived in this hotel for two months and will transition to a hotel villa soon. Overall, it is an outstanding hotel, but many of the earlier negative reviews are correct. The front desk, housekeeping, room service, pool, maintenance, spa and valet/concierge are excellent! Also, the IT folks and gym attendants are extremely responsive and polite. The employees certainly take pride in their work.

Pros:

Beautiful hotel and great for groups

Pool and beach

Mall and restaurants adjacent to hotel

Parking or valet

Staff

Spacious, clean rooms and beautiful lobby area. Very professional.

Upstairs indoor spa, hotel wifi, beach view, bartenders, pool bar and liquor store

Cons:

The noise can be an issue whether it is construction in the early morning or children running the halls of the hotel.

The gym equipment is in need of upgrade and repair.

Road construction limits access right now

No wifi in pool area

English TV stations

Business center is expensive to use

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had such a great and memorable stay in this hotel. Very helpfull front desk staff, perfect housekeeping service in our room. Tasting and delicious food at Sevilla restaurant (we been here during the ramadam time so we could try typical dishes with local people, excelent), where we find always gently and profesional staff. Very kindly and nice baywatch staff on the beach, indoor and oudoor swimming pool. We also tried the aromatherapy massage in nice spa and it was really a magical touch. Highest standards of all services and products quality.
I definitely recommended this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel staff to include restaurant, bar, pool, gym, salon, spa, concierge, and security are wonderful. The are very polite and extremely helpful. Great facilities and good location. It maybe outside of downtown, but close to Yas Island and on the highway to Dubai. The hotel is connected to a mall. Though it is a small, it does have a vareity of stores to nclude a grocery store and food/coffee places. The hotel is also expanding with additional rooms and food choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Raha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Raha Beach Hotel

Address: Al Raha Corniche, Abu Dhabi 38616, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Raha Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy beach, this palatial hotel is located on the Al Raha corniche. The property offers 254 rooms and suites including the brand new wing furnished with the ultimate in luxury. There are also 24 exclusive villas which have a choice of 2,3 or 4 bedrooms, located in a stunning seafront location adjacent to the main hotel building. The hotel boasts state of the art facilities, including the Body & Soul Spa & Recreation Club complete with temperature controlled outdoor and indoor pools, steam rooms, saunas and Jacuzzis as well as a high tech gymnasium. If variety is the spice of life, dining choices abound from International dishes to exquisite twist of Mediterranean. Al Raha Beach Hotel is a member of the prestigious Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Al Raha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Raha Beach Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Raha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.