We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much needed refurbishment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Raha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Al Raha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Al Raha Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Raha Corniche, Abu Dhabi 38616, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“much needed refurbishment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel has aged and the cracks and service levels are now showing as clear as day light!

The Positives:

1) The Gulf View room is large and well-spaced out.

2) The Bathroom is large and well-spaced out

3) The Adult pool is nice

4) The hotel connects to a mall, 5 min walk but the walk is an indoor walk so no issues about the heat or the sun

5) The food quality for what was available during buffet breakfast was good

THE NEGATIVES

1) On arrival even after ensuring we stated on booking the room we required a non-smoking room, we were escorted on a long walk to our "SMOKING" room! (Room did get changed but only after we complained)

2) There was no arrival drinks or welcome towels (a normal 5 Star establishment does cater to such details)

3) The rooms have aged wardrobes were hard to move as the sliding base was worn down

4) The carpets had patchy stains on them

5) The Entertainment was an LCD however there was a sound control meter installed, which became hard to enjoy a movie

6) The toilet sink and the large tub were both clogged had to get maintenance to unclog the drain

7) There should be a shataf installed for people who don't prefer to use a bidet

8) The Bedside Master controls was malfunctioning

9) There was some sort of renovation going on so everyone was forced into a ballroom which was small and inadequate for the number of guests. They could have opened the second wing of the ballroom which was empty and no functions were on.

10) The entrance to the ballroom was through a corridor, which was a SMOKING area all over. So was not pleased we had to wait for our turn for breakfast with a smoke infested corridor. They should have made arrangements to provide smokers another area to pollute the air.

11) The children’s pool was filthy and damaged, the base of the children’s pool was a rubber material which was tearing away and small substance underneath the rubber material was floating in the kid’s pool.

12) There was a menu for selection of pillows however on calling housekeeping we were informed they did not have any!

13) The breakfast buffet was good quality however, they took forever to refill and with changes in the area of where it was being served it felt more a like a hospital canteen then a 5 Star buffet area!

14) The in-room dining options needs an overhaul!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the right wing of the hotel as the access to the spa and pool is from that area onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    133
    41
    28
    17
See reviews for
170
178
24
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend. Check-in was very fast in less than 5 minutes (already had the room requested). Since we booked through a travel agent, they asked for ID/passport of me and my husband. Reception asked me to deposit 500AED for consumables which is standard in most UAE hotels if you don't want to present a credit card. We were given discount vouchers for restaurant/bars in the hotel which is a plus. Anyway, if you want a cheaper option, you can dine outside the hotel as "Al Raha Mall" is just a few steps away.

Room is big with two queen size beds (which can accommodate up to four adults) and toilet is also spacious. We headed to the pool since my son is excited swimming. The hotel has a nice area for kid's playing and swimming. The hotel has a small clean private beach which is okay. They were some construction in the surrounding area, but didn't bother us. The only downside us, the pool and surrounding area is crowded and most people swimming are not hotel guests but outsiders mostly with kids screaming and running around. One must be wary wearing bikinis/two-piece since people around are conservative, not like hotel guests in Dubai & Fujairah hotels.

Much to our surprise, when we went back to our room after 2 hours in the pool/beach, our room was already turned down/cleaned and a fruit basket, chocolates, & refreshing mists await us. We had a good sleep, no noise at all can be heard from outside or the next rooms.

Buffet selection is great. My son is a picky-eater but he ended up full. We always go opt for buffet if we dine out in hotels because of my son, so there are lots of choices. Food and beverage prices are not that expensive compared to five-star hotels in Dubai.

Overall, we had a great weekend at this hotel.

Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

we had a lovely weekend stay in this hotel in may . we were travelling in a family of 4 and both my boys of 5 and 2, loved this 3 days break we had here. its got a very nice poolsiode and a lovely little beach area that my boys could walk around and have a lovely time. also the service was outstanding and they also had a little kiddieS covered play area that was lovely. to top it off that weeeknd they had organised a beach party for residents and guests which was very well organised and had plenty of events to keep the kids and us busy. a lovely getaway in this nice hotel. one of the biggest rooms i have stayed in .... the size and layout was fantastic.

Room Tip: we had chosen the standard rooms but were upgraded on arrival to the sea view rooms which were beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We wanted to take part in the family beach party given by the hotel on its private beach, so I wanted to check out the hotel online to see if we might want to make it a weekend. I was impressed by the pics in the gallery and the price was right so I booked. Boy am I glad I did! The entire hotel is beautiful inside and out. Our standard room was huge and so was the bathroom. It felt like a suite and we loved our private balcony that overlooked the beach and pool areas. Our room was on the end and although we had to walk a bit to get to our room, it was quiet and secluded.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room, the night scenery is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Aside from the screaming children running around the lobby, my initial impression was good. The hotel was very spacious and clean. But at $170 a night without breakfast, it should be!! We booked it because it was close to Yas Island and we were going to a late concert. HOWEVER, my feelings were not the same when I was awoken by a drill on the other side of my headboard at 7.52am. Even less impressed when I telephoned reception at 7.53am and was told they would ask security to confirm if this was the case-because I would lie?! At this I demanded to be moved and, to their credit, by the time we had thrown everything in our bags, a porter arrived to take us to the new room 5 minutes later. Was there any need to ring us 10 minutes after we had moved to the new room, clearly wanting to go back to bed having just been woken up and walked down the corridor in our pyjamas? I don't think so. When we checked out we complained again and were passed through three people who finally realised it was a serious complaint when I highlighted that construction pre-8am is illegal in the Middle East. We finally spoke to the front office manager who, while very polite and 'understanding', didn't really address the issue. He focused too much on the fact that the construction company had broken their contract with the hotel. Really, irrelevant to me because I had a contract with the hotel which, by its nature, should be a relaxing experience. Interesting too to read another complaint about the noise because he insisted that the room had been used all week and no other guests had complained. Furthermore, although it is not about the money, being told that compensation is not possible because we booked via a third party is ridiculous. It's 2012!!! Our 'compensation' consisted of him giving us his contact details and paying for our AED40 (approximately £7) cab fare to the Sheraton, where we checked in for 4 days. He also said that we would be welcome to a discount/ upgrade next time we stayed. As if?! It was an absolute dream to check in to the Sheraton which was quiet, in a great location, a fraction of the price, helpful and had a SUPERB breakfast. Al Raha Beach? It should be called Al Rip-off!

Room Tip: Don't stay!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I visited this hotel with my sister who lives in Abu Dhabi. We wanted somewhere to chill by the pool for the day. The pool area was very clean with a lovely infinity pool. My niece enjoyed the play area. It was a shame that the beach area was closed the day we visited as they were tidying it up and dredging the sand. We had lunch on the terrace and it was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and spent 3 glorious days at this hotel. Gulf views, massive sized room on the second floor. Facilities are top class as are the staff. Loved the pool and the views. Food is excellent and so is the service.

The Al Raha mall is right next door, with internal access. The hotel is handily placed for ease of access to Yas Island and downtown Abu Dhabi. Family friendly and I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Get a gulf room view. it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Raha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Raha Beach Hotel

Address: Al Raha Corniche, Abu Dhabi 38616, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#31 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Raha Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy beach, this palatial hotel is located on the Al Raha corniche. The property offers 254 rooms and suites including the brand new wing furnished with the ultimate in luxury. There are also 24 exclusive villas which have a choice of 2,3 or 4 bedrooms, located in a stunning seafront location adjacent to the main hotel building. The hotel boasts state of the art facilities, including the Body & Soul Spa & Recreation Club complete with temperature controlled outdoor and indoor pools, steam rooms, saunas and Jacuzzis as well as a high tech gymnasium. If variety is the spice of life, dining choices abound from International dishes to exquisite twist of Mediterranean. Al Raha Beach Hotel is a member of the prestigious Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Al Raha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Raha Beach Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Raha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.