We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emirates Palace

Save Saved
You added Emirates Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Emirates Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AED 990 Promotional Rate
Ranked #6 of 116 hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I loved it! It was such an enjoyable stay. The walk on the beach was wonderful. The restaurants there were awesome and we had so much fun! The rooms were big and the corridors were so classic and beautiful. Our rooms looked over the garden and the beach could be seen as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,031
    188
    81
    32
    28
See reviews for
338
595
45
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

there is no doubts: it is a beautiful, large super-hotel, even it was nearly full you have never that feeling!service is excellent, friendly staff, they clean your room twice a day (in the evening only on request, but without discussions), fresh fruit basket every day. free wifi.nice pools and beach. good security. excellent cigar lounge with live music and a big choice of good conservated cigars.
food in restauramnts was excellent and fresh!
but: everything is overpriced!! breakfast buffet for two adults and one child 10 years min 125 euros!, restaurant on lunch min 120€, dinner min 160 €. one espresso 10€! no doubt at these prices we often took cheap city taxis (dont take their expensive limousines ) who brought us to nice restaurants, local markets and bakery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had an enjoyable week here. The rooms are spacious, plush but tasteful, with 52inch plasma screens, an array of fine furnishings and a generous terrace. Bathrooms are also roomy and luxurious. Butlers are on hand though we didnt particularly utilise ours aside from the odd bit of shoe polishing and DVD hire. Service levels are of the highest standard throughout the hotel. Staff are universally polished, courteous and well trained. Even the burly security guards are smiley! The ethos is to service every conceivable need and desire and once can imagine that The Palace encounters some very demanding customers indeed. Security was heavy during our visit due to VIPs in residence. The upper suites are permanently reserved for UAE Royals. The hotel is owned by the ruling family of Abu Dhabi and managed by Kempinski. They are doing a fine job in upholding standards, everything works well and efficiently. Breakfast is a vast buffet plus cooked stations, it was perfectly good though not exceptional. However the other restaurants that we sampled were excellent, for both food and service, though very expensive. (Hakkasan, Las Brisas and Sayad). I have reviewed the latter 2 seperately. The pool areas, beach and gardens are pleasant, there is a seperate pool for children with slides, inflatables, waterfalls etc. The hotel is welcoming to children, there is a play area for smaller ones, table tennis, bikes and a free kids club. My little boy was presented with an Emirates Palace teddy and received an invitation for a kids only tour behind the scenes and staff were very kind to him in all restaurants. One big annoyance however was that I was reprimanded by a pool attendant for making a noise with a foam buoyancy pipe! (those long foam things kids use for flotation aid). I was informed the noise of the foam pipe hitting the water (as I play whacked my one little 5 year old) may irritate guests sunbathing nearby! This was at the Kids pool (complete with slides, rubber rings etc!). I am all for high standards but this was rather laughable. The hotel also has a dress policy for the reception area which includes no shorts, short skirts or flip flops which some may find restrictive and unrelaxing (though I didnt see anyone admonished). The sheer vastness of the hotel also hinders relaxation somewhat as it is a km from wing to wing. We took care to ensure we had no need to nip back to the room for anything! The hotel is by all accounts the most expensive ever built ( $3billion), and was conceived as a project more for national prestige than profit. It is of shopping mall proportions, a vast monolith of gold and marble and we thought a tad souless due to the vast areas of pointless space. It is a major landmark and receives a lot of non resident visitors who come for afternoon tea or just a gawp and commendably the hotel is very accommodating of this. All in all, its a a bit of gold plated fun and we had a good time.

Room Tip: No bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in June for a special occasion it was my fathers 70th birthday, we booked 2 weeks and were delighted to find out that we got a free upgrade to half board, which we expected to be a buffet meal every night, but on arrival were advised we had the choice of about 7 restaurants. We could not believe our luck and the choice was spectacular and the food spectacular. Our favourite restaurants were Sayad which is the fish restaurant, I can recommend the tuna starter which is the best I have ever tasted!!! Also we loved Mezzaluna. To be honest they were all excellent it's just that these two we our favourites. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff were always happy and extremely helpful, special mentions go to Maribeth & Sibu who worked in Sayad restaurant, Gladz who greeted us for breakfast, our butlers Sunil & Lesther and the two guys on concierge Murod & Luqmann who were not only very funny but so helpful. We stayed in a Pearl room, it was kept immaculately clean and was beautiful as well huge!! the bathroom was gorgeous, i still miss it now!! On arrival we were greeted with flowers, cold drinks and cold towels and a gorgeous box of chocolates in us room. The grounds of the hotel are wonderful and whilst some reviews on here we read prior to going said the hotel was too big and not homely, we never once felt this, the staff for us made it feel homely and there is a golf buggy that takes you from wing to wing. The pool areas were gorgeous and we got little treats every day from mini ice creams to smoothies to fruit. On my fathers birthday they not only decorated the Room but also the butlers sang Happy Birthday and we got a lovely bottle of champagne. We have stayed at a few hotels in the Middle East but this is by far the best!!! Overall you would be mad not to at least experience this hotel once in your life and it truly is an experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent service.
Upon arrival -complementary coffee, flowers, even doll for baby.
Complementary drinks, ice cream, cold towels and etc while you are near the pool, very relaxing.
Excellent pools, wonderful seaside and everything for you relax.

BUT: Food is too expensive, but problem is not in the price, food in the bar near the pool is like in 3 star hotel. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were in Abu Dhabi on A long layover. This hotel was a great luxurious place to cool down and enjoy lunch between a city and desert tour. The film festival was in full swing and added to the experience. My son now wants to have his wedding here! Please note you can be turned away without collared shirts and long pants for men and neat attire for ladies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We blew into the Emirates Palace on a cold, leafy autumn day ~ leaving behind the darkening nights and from the moment our flight took off (You should definitely book Etihad when travelling to Abu Dhabi ~ the service is divine and the flight times are absolutely prime and you arrive feeling as good as new) to the moment we arrived home everything was absolutely perfect.

The hotel is a glittering icon of the new wealth of the UAE, and it means to impress and of course it does. It is very grand and as the country develops quickly, it is encouraging to see that none of the character or the culture has been lost. There are of course modern buildings growing everywhere but it seems to sit very comfortably with the old and the traditional.

If you like us have travelled to Dubai many times it is worth noting that Abu Dhabi is much more authentic with lots of local visitors as well as those from overseas. This really added to the enjoyment of our visit, we really enjoyed watching many families enjoying EID and having a lovely time. Therefore you absolutely have to bear in mind that you can not go to breakfast in a beach dress however covered you may be. You need to be fully dressed to eat anywhere or go out for dinner. So it is worth packing lots of long trousers and shoes gentlemen and ladies ~ dresses to the knee and no plunging necklines ~ bring lots of pashminas etc. They have very strict dress code policies in the restaurants and we saw many a person asked to leave because they came to dinner in flip flops (which is not out of place in many beach resorts of course) but it is worth knowing this before you get there...It is not the Maldives where dinner attire is bare feet and a beach cover up at a stretch!!!! We liked the formality and the regal evenings, and everything was so luxurious it would certainly take away something of the palatial atmosphere if they changed it too much.

The service is second to none in this hotel. They have completely nailed it on almost every level ~ I can not think of an exception. The staff are highly trained and are all so friendly and efficient. The butlers were available around the clock to help with everything from unpacking to booking restaurants or shuttle runs to the chemist.

We would absolutely return even just for the pool service and beach service. It was just heaven lying in the sunshine relaxing with so many smiling pool chaps on hand with everything from ice cold wet towels to sorbets of every flavour, fresh towels ~ they were exceptionally good and were there every minute of the day looking after you. The service in this hotel just has to be one of the best in the world. It can not easily be beaten I can assure you. We really enjoyed the rest and relaxation of simply being cared for around the clock. I would not hesitate to book this hotel if you are looking to recharge on a beautiful white beach with optimal service.

The suites are splendid ~ but not in the Burj sort of way where everything is always so gold and over the top (no mirrors over the bed here thank heavens!!) Although there is plenty of gold and marble everywhere, it is very muted in the bedroom and very tasteful and therefore very relaxing and inviting. Soft creams and colonial golds and the most comfortable bed too. Really a very restful and enjoyable experience. The housekeeping is exceptional (like most things) our housekeeper Sureesh would refresh the room every day so well that in fact it felt like the first day of arrival every day. It was quite wonderful ~ that you just felt so happy when you walked in after a long day and everything would be absolutely spotlessly clean and every last corner cleaned and maintained. It was cleaned to perfection twice a day and prepared in such a way that would make you sink onto the bed and sigh with contentment.

My children loved the waterfalls and lazy river and slides, I would really recommend this hotel to families. It was just perfect to have the quiet pool on one side of the hotel for people to relax and read. The families were having lots of fun and noise the other side ~ it was well planned and thought out so that everyone enjoys their day. We had a wonderful time! The camel rides were great fun too and of course the beach and water is perfect for young children. The sea is so warm and lovely shades of blue ~ we enjoyed seeing the fish swimming past, it is a lovely white safe sandy beach with great service again.

The restaurants were fantastic in the main, lit with candles and some with live music. Great food and evenings out ~ it was amazing to see the palace lit in the evenings and magical in places. We would recommend Sayad the seafood restaurant and the Italian one too was great.

If I could suggest anything ~ I would simply recommend a very relaxed beach restaurant in the evenings with no dress code so that guests could have a night off dressing up and come down in their flip flops relax on the beach with a beer and enjoy a lighter atmosphere. Maybe a guitarist of something similar and a very chilled beach vibe. Apart from that I can not fault anything ~ the hotel is magical ~ we will certainly be returning as soon as possible. As we sit here looking out at the golds and reds of a lovely English autumn evening ~ we can only remember wistfully the warm sunsets in Abu Dhabi with the chorus of evening bird song. We will be back soon for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emirates Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Palace

Address: West Corniche Road, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Emirates Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi
Emirates Palace Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emirates Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.